Home > General > Doubling Down on Dedication…and Fiber…

Doubling Down on Dedication…and Fiber…

January 30, 2013

Wow – it’s been a hot minute since I’ve written a blog post!  I kind of noticed the same pattern when I lost my first big chunk of weight back in 2010.  Once I got my weight down a good bit, the time I had devoted to blogging became devoted more and more to living life to the fullest!  And that’s happened this time around, too, to some extent.  My goal since July has really been to blog about once a week, as opposed to a few times a week, so blogging hasn’t really made that big of a dent in  my time.  Meaning, I really have no excuse to have been MIA for the past month.

Rest assured, I’ve been keeping up with my healthy diet!  Exercise has been trickier in the winter, though I’m starting to break through with that, too.  Details on all that and more, but first…  a quick primer to bring you up to date on my last few weeks’ weigh-ins.  When I weighed in on December 31, 2012 – the last time I posted to the blog, I was at 221.8, and I was thrilled!  But my loss has continued, even if the pace has slowed a bit.  Here are my weights from my weekly Friday weigh-ins this year, with the loss from the week before, and my total loss from 315, my estimated highest weight:

1/4/13:     220.5 / -3.9wk / -94.5tot

1/11/13:    217.4 / -3.1wk / -97.6tot

1/18/13:    218.5 / +1.1wk / -96.6tot

1/25/13:    217.8 / -0.7wk / -97.3tot

So you can see I had a significant loss at the beginning of the month, and that’s been followed by what I would describe as a plateau.  My weight since mid-month has really hovered within the 217.5-218.5 range.  That’s not bad at all, if I were looking to maintain that weight, but I still have more losing to do!!!  So what explains that plateau?  A couple of different things, I think.

First, I made a couple of changes to my diet.  I got a great deal on KIND bars, and I began to eat them as an afternoon snack in place of my typical apple and cheese.  I also heard about a new breakfast biscuit called Belvita.  It’s delicious, and I guess it’s a good option if you’re on the go and just need to grab something to tide you over.  But at 230 calories a packet, it’s pretty high calorie compared to my normal single packet of plain oatmeal and an apple.  I was combining it with an apple or banana, and a Danactive yogurt…  Lots more calories.  So I cut the fruit, and it was more in line with my calorie expectations for myself (and probably a little lower in sugar, too).

View from the top of Stone Mountain.  In the distance you can see the Atlanta skyline!

View from the top of Stone Mountain. In the distance you can see the Atlanta skyline!

But I think something else happened – without those fruits in my diet – I was losing a good bit of fiber.  I ended up – get ready – constipated.  I’m nothing if not honest.  And quite frankly I’ve been struggling with it for the past couple of weeks.  I haven’t been irregular since childhood, so this was a shock to my system.  The lack of exercise probably contributed, as well.  So I took matters into my own hands this week.  I’ve hit exercise hard.  I started by climbing Atlanta’s Stone Mountain for the past two weekends in a row (the view at the top, on the left, is spectacular)!  It feels awesome to be able to do this spur of the moment.  A few years ago, I couldn’t have.  I would’ve ended up having to be rescued as I clung to a rogue mountaintop pine tree, whimpering softly (okay maybe not that bad – but it would’ve been hell).  This week, I’ve also doubled down on my efforts at also getting in two weekday jogs at Piedmont Park!  One was after work yesterday (as it’s now staying light just long enough to do that without almost certainly being mugged), and another was today.  There was horrific weather here today (tornadoes in other parts of northern Georgia), but once that threat passed, I decided that since I had taken the day off work today anyway and didn’t need to look cute for anything, I’d go for a run in the rain.  I felt bad-ass!  That’s how I’m gonna bust this plateau, baby!!!  I actually felt great, but I guess my face tells on me being a little cold and wet (see below right).  Between that and modifying my diet to make sure I’m adding back in lots of fiber-rich fruits and vegetables, you’ll be happy to know, the irregularity seems to be gone.  I know I’m happy.  :-)  And I’m hopeful that this week’s weigh-in may bring me back in line for a serious losing trend that will get me to 215 and 100 pounds lost soon!!!

A rainy run at Piedmont Park - sitting on the sidelines for a little rain isn't going to bust this plateau!

A rainy run at Piedmont Park – sitting on the sidelines for a little rain isn’t going to bust this plateau!

One other important development this month is that I had my annual physical.  My blood pressure has been normal since I started losing weight a couple of years ago, but last year, my cholesterol was borderline high (at 202), and my triglycerides were definitely high.  This year, my triglycerides were perfectly normal, and my cholesterol was a really healthy 158!  With HDL and LDL levels also being really good!!!  That was exciting to know.  And my insulin resistance that I was struggling with when I was over 300 is now completely resolved.  To the point we don’t even need to test my A1c levels again, according to my doctor!!!

So that’s a quick catch up from the past month.  I’m going to get back on board with weekly posts – I promise!  And this weekend, be on the lookout for a delish recipe for roasted butternut squash that I came up with this past week!  It’s a wonderful, easy source of fiber, and tastes like an absolute treat!

  1. January 31, 2013 at 8:29 PM

    I love butternut squash. Target sells a butternut squash lasagna by Archer Farms that I quite like. By the way, I think the rainy picture of you is pretty good.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 27 other followers

