Home > General > 100 Pounds – Such a Tease…

100 Pounds – Such a Tease…

February 2, 2013
Looking into the distance - pondering how CLOSE I am to that 100 pound mark! :-)

Looking into the distance – pondering how CLOSE I am to that 100 pound mark! :-)

Well yesterday was weekly weigh-in day, and I posted a loss, albeit a small one, from last week.  I weighed in at 217.4 pounds yesterday.  That’s down .4 pounds from last week, and still leaves me 2.4 elusive pounds shy of the century mark and losing 100 pounds!  I can taste that victory, and yes, it’s a measly couple of pounds, but the psychological significance of having lost 100 pounds is really huge.   I remember when I first started this journey a few years ago, I’d watch the people on the Today show, or read the success stories in the Atlanta Journal-Constitution who had lost 100 pounds, and for the first time, I thought, “They’re no different than me.  I can do this, too!”

And I almost have achieved that goal!  A. L. M. O. S. T…..  I was kind of disappointed this week because I did really well with exercise again for the first time in a long time, and I was good with my food.  My nutritionist reminded me yesterday when I told her rather disappointedly about my small loss that when you first begin exercise (which for all intents and purposes, this week was a restart), your muscles retain water, and the loss may not come immediately.  So busting through this plateau will take a little bit yet.

What’s keeping me going until I hit this huge milestone along my road to a final goal weight are the changes I’ve undergone.  Health, energy, and petty as it may seem, appearance.  I actually really like the way I look now!  I got a haircut this morning and snapped a photo with my phone today to see it from the side (see above).  A few years (or even a few months) ago, a side shot of my face/head would’ve been something that made me cringe and reflexively delete the photo.  But when I saw this one, I had to stop for a minute.  It didn’t even look like me!  I didn’t have a ridiculous double (or triple chin), there was no fat roll on the back of my head, and damn if I didn’t even see some of the muscles/tendons in my neck!  I actually thought I looked…well…kinda cute!  So that satisfaction – knowing I’ve changed my life for the better – that’s what’s going to propel me through until I’ve lost 100 pounds (hopefully very soon!), and then past that, to get below 200 pounds, and ultimately to reach a good final goal weight and maintain it with a healthy lifestyle that never stops.

  1. Jef
    February 2, 2013 at 7:56 PM | #1

    Chad, you’re going to get there. Since you’re exercising more, I wonder if adding some whey protein to your diet to help build muscle might help. The more muscle you have, the more body fat you burn.

  2. February 5, 2013 at 7:34 PM | #2

    As someone that has travelled on the same road, I can give you a little tip. Lighten up on the passion for a bit, take a break from totally stringent and nutritious eating and exercising. Rest, eat good but hearty for the colder weather, and dive into some high antioxidant tea. I like Rooibos or African Red Bush. It heals and improves an overworked metabolism. I find that mine revvs out of control sometimes, and if I just allow myself to relax and then return to the task, the pounds just fall away. Keep it up! You are a cutie!

Comments are closed.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

