Home > Exercise > Going to Battle!!!

Going to Battle!!!

January 16, 2010

Today I discovered a fantastic motivational tool for exercise – getting flat-out, downright, no messin’ around, totally good and ANGRY with your body!!!  Just take on all those years of eating high-fat, high-calorie, low nutritional value foods while ignoring exercise, by working out like a crazy person.  Make a playlist of aggressive, fast-paced, no holds barred music on your iPhone (I highly recommend that Alien Ant Farm’s cover of Michael Jackson’s “Smooth Criminal” be in there somewhere), and then grunt, groan, scream,and sweat your way through your strength training routine, followed immediately by your cardio (doing both on the same day has been a great choice for me – it makes the cardio not nearly as painful, and the strength training not nearly as soreness-provoking).  Man does it feel good to know that this hard work is a fight against the weight that’s holding you back from being as healthy, energetic, youthful, and vibrant as you could!  Exercising in this mindset isn’t just the drudgery of doing criss-cross abs (see past posts), it’s an all out battle for your health, appearance, and well-being.  Seeing the hard work of exercise as a necessary battle is something I can totally get into (I guess it’s my competitive nature coming out).  I’ve worked with cancer patients a good bit through the years, and I’ve seen this same mindset with them – you take a threat to your health, and you fight it head on without giving it a chance to take you down.  One guy, Ben Teller, has a great website – http://www.cuck-fancer.com – that you should check out, where he talks about making cancer his bitch.  I think that’s awesome.  And while I don’t at all intend to compare cancer with obesity in terms of the control you have of one versus the other, I do like the sentiment of intentionally fighting a threat to your health.

So look out obesity – I’m making you my bitch…

  1. January 18, 2010 at 6:54 AM

    Lol, great way to look at it. 🙂

    Whenever I get angry while working out.. I sometimes hurt myself. 🙂 Other times I punch harder (punching bag), lift more weight and just work out harder. Music helps too, and I guess the type of music you have. I usually listen to the radio at my home gym.

    Good luck with the weight loss, I’ll be sure to follow the blog.

    Cheers,

  2. January 18, 2010 at 7:09 PM

    Many of my more rewarding creative and self-building activities, especially working out, have been fueled by anger at various things, including frustration with my fatness. I’m all for using rage as fuel. 🙂 I listen to Rammstein and Disturbed during workouts.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
