Home > General > Measuring Success

Measuring Success

January 23, 2010

This morning was my weekly weigh-in, and I was happy with a two-pound loss, bringing my total loss to 33 pounds!  But, if I’m being completely honest, I kind of thought that I’d bring in an even bigger loss this week.  I stuck to my food plan perfectly, and my exercise was spot on.  I really was hoping for a four or five pound loss.  So when I got on the scales this morning, and I saw my healthy, but a little less than I was expecting, two pound loss, I decided to walk around for a few minutes, visit the restroom again, blow my nose (every little bit helps – right?) and get on the scale again.  Two pounds.  Maybe my muscles needed to warm up a little more, I thought – so a little more milling around the house, then back on the scales.  I made sure my feet were in the same place I usually put them.  Yep – still two pounds.  I resisted the urge to exhale deeply and hang my toes off the edge of the scale (well – maybe I did hang them off the edge just a little).  Went up a pound!  I can take a hint – get off the scales, and accept the two pound loss.  Don’t get me wrong; I’m very happy with any loss.  I just had in my mind that this week’s might be a little bigger.  Anyone know that feeling?

Yesterday gave me a couple of other ways to measure my success that were great, though.  First, I was sitting in my office when a co-worker walked in to say hello, followed by, “You’re losing weight, aren’t you?”  This was someone I don’t see that often and don’t really know that well, but she said she’d noticed a difference when I got on the elevator with her the day before.  And when you’re busting your butt trying to lose weight, nothing feels better than someone with no ulterior motives whatsoever who has no idea about what you’re doing telling you they can tell a difference.  Score!

Riding the high of my compliment, and having had to hike my slacks, that are quickly beginning to look like blousy clown pants, up throughout the day yesterday, I stopped on the way home to do some clothes shopping.  I didn’t want to blow half a paycheck or buy a whole new wardrobe at this point, but I thought I’d just try on a few pairs of jeans.  This was smart, if I do say so myself.  Incredible to try on jeans in the size you’ve been wanting to get back into, and realize, not only are you back into them with no gyrations and gymnastics that make criss-cross abs and my machinations on the scale this morning look like child’s play, but they’re – get this – too big!!!  So I had to go a size smaller, and I even threw in a shirt that was a size smaller than I was in two months ago – which fit perfectly!  If you know me, you know I hate clothes shopping.  Probably because it’s always hard to find things that fit properly and look good – but this was a good confidence booster, and reinforcement after some hard work.

So now I feel like I’m measuring my success in a few ways, not just by the numbers on the scale, and that’s a good feeling.  It’s the way I look, the way I feel, how my clothes fit, how I’m progressing with exercise, and the pounds I’ve lost that are all giving me positive reinforcement now.  Today, maybe I’ll replace those blousy dress-slacks…  I put my cell phone in my pocket yesterday and literally thought for a minute that its weight could bring those loose pants down!  Now that would make for a dynamite story that I do NOT want to tell!

  1. January 23, 2010 at 12:19 PM

    Congrats on the loss and I TOTALLY know what you mean about expecting a bigger number. Just wait till you see something pathetic like 0.7 (mine this week)…then it plays with your head thinking “did I even lose? That could be a water fluctuation…”
    One thing you might wanna do….weigh in the morning and maybe even Monday morning to see if it’s still around two pounds? Just as a test. It IS true about the water thing. I always think when I have a low loss, WHAT IF my number is higher but the day I pick to weigh is the day I’m retaining water. Oh the lies I tell myself to make this easier 🙂

    BIG congrats on the jeans…that’s great! You’re doing good keep up the great work!

    • Chad
      January 23, 2010 at 12:23 PM

      Thanks, Craig! I know exactly what you mean! I gained a pound the first week I started exercising – totally plays with your head. You’re doing great, too! Have a good weekend.

  2. January 23, 2010 at 1:23 PM

    That’s awesome on all counts I reckon. A good loss, unsolicited compliment (these are the best) and smaller clothes. You are rocking this!

    • Chad
      January 23, 2010 at 2:03 PM

      Thanks for the encouragement!

  3. January 23, 2010 at 1:34 PM

    That’s awesome, it sounds like me a week back. Even new clothes that I bought a month ago are needing to be replaced again soon. That’s so awesome losing weight, keep it up!

    • Chad
      January 23, 2010 at 2:06 PM

      Having to buy new clothes is definitely nice reinforcement of the numbers on the scale. Congrats to you, too!

  4. January 24, 2010 at 8:37 AM

    It’s amazing how much a simple unsolicited comment can truly mean. Among other things, motivation. Kudos to you.

  5. February 1, 2010 at 4:46 PM

    Very nice! I’m also getting a new wardrobe and I feel the same way about being cautious with what I buy as I feel I will outshrink them as well. So I’m buying smaller stuff that is really snug now and hopefully it won’t be too loose when I’m done with my weight loss. But I could be wrong.

  1. January 30, 2010 at 10:39 AM
Comments are closed.
