Home > Nutrition > The Red Light District

The Red Light District

January 26, 2010

There it was, in bright red neon as I rounded the curve – “HOT NOW.”  I could almost hear the electrified crackle of that sign beckoning as I sat in my car a block away.  There are a variety of vices that proudly parade themselves up and down Ponce, a main thoroughfare through a part of Midtown Atlanta that would now be called up and coming (when I was in college, it was actually kind of smarmy), but none is as widespread as the addiction so many of us have to those pillowy mouthfuls of pleasure known as Krispy Kreme doughnuts.  And as Krispy Kreme goes, the location on Ponce is the mothership.  It’s a meeting place for people of all races, ages, classes, and creeds, as they suck down those addictive little pastries that serve as a common culinary bond – which are almost irresistible when illuminated by that iconic red neon sign.

So there I sat, on my way home from work, finding myself seriously considering an illicit visit to this Atlanta institution.  Part of making true lifestyle changes as opposed to dieting for me is allowing myself to have things I really like, in moderation, and not cutting anything out of my diet completely.  But tonight, hungry, cold, tired, and not having had dinner yet, I knew after eating the one scrumptious doughnut I could have safely allowed myself, I would have been tempted to bring my nutritious day of food down in a blaze of glazed glory!

On “Skinny” drove.  Next time, baby.  Next time.

  1. January 27, 2010 at 9:42 AM

    Good for you! I was not this strong a few weeks ago. We were on a “shopping day” in Memphis and I saw that hot light…so I got some hot ones. OMG so good…I felt guilty of course, but we don’t get that stuff out here in the country…so I take my KK’s when I can…about twice a year! If they had one here I’d be hyooooge.

  2. January 27, 2010 at 12:41 PM

    The sweet siren song of the Krispy Kreme. Well done on resisting!

    • Chad
      January 27, 2010 at 1:23 PM

      So I’m curious…has Krispy Kreme made its way down to New Zealand?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
