Home > General > Defying Logic

Defying Logic

January 30, 2010

This morning was my weekly weigh-in, and I was a little hesitant to jump on the scales.  This week kept me busy at work (and this week unfortunately includes this weekend as I’m still working on a project at home today with a Monday deadline), and my schedule was thrown off for a few days.  Instead of brown-baggin’ it like I usually do, I ended up having lunch in the little cafe, and I use that term loosely, in my building.  The pre-packaged sandwiches there are somewhat akin to gas station fare or the ones you find in those little carousel automat machines in hospital corridors and basements of college libraries, but they got me through the day.  And then I got home too late and exhausted to jump on the treadmill on one of the days I was scheduled for it this week.  Finally, to top off a week that felt totally out of balance for me, I had dinner with a friend at a wine bar last night and had a glass of red wine called Layer Cake Primitivo.  Get out.  When the server brought us a splash of this featured wine and told us it was called layer cake, I couldn’t resist – it subbed for my dessert and made me feel like I was cheating.

Which brings me back to the scales this morning…  I was not looking forward to it.  But lo and behold, I got on, fully prepared to begin my old ritual of nose-blowing and hanging off toes to shave off a half pound.  And then I looked down – 4.5 pounds lost this week!  Say what?  I rubbed my eyes, convinced that glass of Layer Cake was more potent than I though, but there it was – 4.5 pounds down, for a total of 37.5 pounds lost now.  I stepped off and on the scale three more times just to verify, and there it was, in all its digitally displayed beauty – a great loss for the week.  I looked back over my food records, and I hadn’t done as badly as I thought.  Handling a busy week at work and still losing weight defies logic in my old fat guy mind – more evidence that I really am reconstructing thirty.

  1. January 30, 2010 at 10:53 AM

    AWESOME WEIGH IN!!!!!!!!!!! I love it when you’re all scared and get a big number. (esp if you’ve done bad…giggle!)
    One time I had had a horrible week full of sweets and fast food (after MONTHS of hardcore dieting and exercise and losing crap like .07 or 1.2)…and then BOOM–on that bad week I dropped 3.5 pounds. I was like HUH???? WHY???? I’ve decided our bodies are behind. What we exercise and diet is shown weeks later. At least for me 🙂

    • Chad
      January 30, 2010 at 11:35 AM

      Thanks, Craig! It is nice to get a big number after you think it may be small or non-existent!

  2. January 30, 2010 at 1:55 PM

    Fantastic result! It just goes to show sometimes our bodies are a bit weird!

  3. January 30, 2010 at 5:20 PM

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Glad you liked the tuna patty. I try to post new, delicious, cheap, and healthy meals each week.

    Have a great weekend 🙂

  4. February 1, 2010 at 9:46 PM

    Congrats man. The same thing happened to me after a battle with Hooters Chicken wings! Sometimes it helps to see you haven’t totally fallen off the wagon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
