Home > Exercise > On the Ball (Or Not…)

On the Ball (Or Not…)

January 31, 2010

Well tonight it finally happened.  I fell off the ball with exercise.  Literally.

But first, I should ‘fess up that I haven’t totally been on the ball as far as exercise is concerned for the past week, in more ways than one.  Last Sunday, I intended to do strength training, followed by cardio, a combination that I’ve come to enjoy.  Instead of working out 6-7 days a week, I double up cardio and strength days, knock it out at once, and the cardio ends up being much easier, without the lead calves that seem to plague me for the first 10 minutes on the treadmill when I start cold.  So last Sunday, I finished my strength training and jumped on the treadmill, only to feel like I was either going to throw up or pass out once I got started – neither of which seemed like a good idea, as I envisioned myself flying off the back of the treadmill and crashing through the second story window behind me.  I went for 4 minutes, and I realized this feeling wasn’t going away.

Not wanting to be discovered unconscious in the bushes under said second floor window, with a helluva strawberry from the treadmill belt, I stopped and rested for a few minutes, but I still wasn’t feeling great.  I had a snack, thinking my blood sugars might be a little whacky, and it did help some.  But I ended up not doing cardio that day, and then I got super busy at work last week, coming home exhausted and not having the energy to work out (or so I convinced myself).  So I ended up only getting in two days of cardio in the past week, instead of my prescribed four, though I did get two days of strength training in, which is good.  So – no biggie – “bygones,” as they used to say on Ally McBeal.  Next week I’ll get back on track.

Which brings me to earlier this evening…  I was doing my strength training routine, and I got to an exercise called the Superman.  So far as I can tell, the name for this exercise has less to do with being strong enough to leap tall buildings in a single bound, and more to do with looking like a bit of a jackass in exercise clothes stretched out like you think you can fly.  Well I can’t.

To do the Superman, you lie face down on a balance ball, and you put your feet against the baseboard of a wall.  Then you stretch your arms straight out in front of you, holding on to a dumbbell, and you  lift your torso up in the air and off the ball.  I’d increased my weights tonight, and I had just finished a set of 110 crunches (an increase for me), so my body was adjusting anyway as I began to do the first couple of reps of the Superman.  To further throw me off, I had the Jay-Z and Alicia Keys duet version of Empire State of Mind playing, and I was really starting to get into singing along – distracting my attention from being the best Superman I could be.

Then it happened – I started to wobble a little to the left on the balance ball.  I remember letting a little “whoa!” escape my lips as I lurched to the right to try and stay on the damn ball, followed by a jerk to the left, another yell, and THUD.  Superman lying face down in the floor.  This is why I exercise at home and not in a gym.  Worse things could happen, though.  The ball could have burst, like I feared in my first session with my trainer.  At least I fell off of it and not through it!   But it seemed like a fitting end to a week where my exercise was a little unsteady.  Once I stopped laughing, I picked myself up and assumed the Superman position again, I quit trying to rap like Jay-Z, and I finished my routine.

Next week I’m back on the ball with exercise.  Seriously.

  1. January 31, 2010 at 3:38 AM

    It’s happened to us all at one point or another!

  2. January 31, 2010 at 10:53 AM

    LOL That was so funny! Thanks for the laugh! (Sorry that it happened tho!) 🙂

  1. February 15, 2010 at 9:41 PM
Comments are closed.
