Home > Nutrition > Forgetting to Eat

Forgetting to Eat

February 1, 2010

Today I forgot to eat. Not all day (that would just be crazy talk) – but my crucial afternoon snack around 3 or 4 pm that keeps me from feeling like I need to eat like a Viking at dinner. If you stop by here often, you already know that I’ve been in crazy work mode for a week or so now. Racing out the door in the morning to get to work, working late, and then working at home nights and weekends to get a couple of projects finished. Well today was the deadline for both of them, and I literally worked all day flat-out, and truly forgot to eat.

I’ve always hated to hear people say they “forgot” to eat. This seemed like a completely foreign concept to me, who always had plans for my next meal not too far from my mind. I still plan for meals, but now it tends to be in a very utilitarian, food as fuel way, instead of the more reactionary, “that pissed me off/stressed me out/made me sad/made me happy, so I deserve french fries/pizza/mongolian beef/ice cream” way. Today I didn’t plan, I got busy, and I just didn’t get hungry, until very late. I think I got away with it today, as I wasn’t completely famished when I did leave work and get to dinner, but overall, I’ve learned that I really can’t go more than a few hours without a small meal or snack if I don’t want to end up eating too much or something bad later in the day.

The good news is, I feel like my life is once again my own, as the projects were completed and submitted today! And I didn’t even treat myself with something fattening, but with a healthy dinner and a night off from other chores.

This is unrelated, but thanks to my good friends Kathryn and Jeff for taking my mind off of grant-writing for the evening last night and having me over for a fantastic dinner. Kathryn is madly talented in the kitchen – think funny version of Martha Stewart minus 35 years. She rocked a totally healthy meal of roast pork, polenta, and swiss chard, with a lemon custard (made with silken tofu and soy milk) and blueberry sauce. And Jeff rocks the dishes – they’re a perfect match. If I had my wits about me (which may return now that my big deadlines have come and gone), I would have taken an iPhone picture of the meal and posted it here. Anyhow, thanks again for a great evening guys!

So what about you – have you ever “forgotten” to eat? Or do you think the whole concept is a load of bull?

  1. February 1, 2010 at 11:37 PM

    Unfortunately I have never forgotten to eat 😦

    But, if my job was busier I could forget the snack or two here and there…but never a full meal 🙂
    usually it’s on my mind too much! I try to remind myself why I SHOULDN’T snack tho 🙂

  2. February 1, 2010 at 11:51 PM

    oh and ps that meal sounds delish!

  3. February 2, 2010 at 1:43 AM

    I don’t forget to eat for more than an hour but only when I’m really busy!

  4. February 2, 2010 at 9:43 PM

    Today was the first day that I forgot to eat my daily piece of dark chocolate around 3 p.m.!

  5. February 2, 2010 at 10:04 PM

    I laugh whenever people tell me they forgot to eat. I think it’s hogwash! How the heck can you “forget”?? It’s always something I am looking forward to…is that weird?!

    • Chad
      February 2, 2010 at 10:20 PM

      I don’t just laugh – I roll my eyes and think they’re totally full of it. Then it happened to me the other day – which I’m convinced was a fluke.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
