Home > Exercise > Resuming Exercise

Resuming Exercise

February 4, 2010

As I’ve mentioned, last week wasn’t perfect exercise-wise for me.  My trainer’s exercise prescription for me includes four days a week of cardio and two to three days a week of strength training.  While I didn’t completely crash on the couch last week, I did miss two days of cardio.  No big deal, I naively thought.  I’ll get right back on schedule next week…

Well, I’m in the midst of next week now, and jumping back on the wagon has not been easy.  It’s less like jumping on a wagon, and more like trying to throw my lame @$$ onto a bullet train traveling full-speed ahead through the Japanese countryside.  I could really kick myself, because getting back up to my regular schedule with exercise feels like starting from scratch.  Tonight on the treadmill, I did my prescribed time (42 minutes in this fifth week since starting my exercise program), but instead of getting that endorphin high after a few minutes, my mind started effin’ with me.  I thought, “This is crap. Total crap.”  Around minute seven, I truly was considering stopping, thinking I could fulfill the remainder of my forty-two minutes dancing to my iPod playlist.  Mind you, my name is Chad, and I dance like a Chad, which hardly burns calories.  (Think college boy over bite shuffle.)

Thankfully, the angel on my other shoulder reminded me that if I could just stick with it a few more minutes, the endorphins would kick in, and it wouldn’t feel like complete torture.  And they did, kind of, but not to the extent I remembered having been almost euphoric over the past couple of weeks.  I finished my 42 minutes, but I didn’t get the same great feelings I had been getting before.  Thus, I’m convinced that exercise is much easier if you keep up a consistent schedule and don’t let it get thrown off.  Now that’s my motivation to keep hauling my fat butt on the treadmill – because I don’t want to have to jump back on this bullet train again.

  1. February 5, 2010 at 7:16 AM

    You ran for 42 minutes? I wish I could do that. At the moment I’m hitting 15-20 minutes, up from 1 minute a year ago! 🙂

    Nice job, keep it up!

    • Chad
      February 5, 2010 at 7:31 AM

      I walk; I don’t run yet. I don’t know how long I’d be able to run at this point!

  2. February 5, 2010 at 7:22 AM

    Chad, it seems like one thing that I have learned about exercise is that it is easier when you have momentum. In other words, I find that if I stop for a few days, it is hard to get restarted. Every day I wait becomes increasingly harder.

  3. February 5, 2010 at 11:55 AM

    Consistency definitely makes it easier. It’s actually scary how quickly it can become hard after even a few days off!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
