Home > Exercise > Scales and Treadmills

Scales and Treadmills

February 6, 2010

This week I liked stepping on one, but not the other.  And you may be surprised which is which.

First things first, this morning was my weekly weigh-in, and it fell flat – literally.  I did not lose, and I did not gain, any weight this week.  I’m happy about not gaining, but not losing…  Come on.  I think my nutrition was fine (we’ll see what the nutritionist says), so that leaves me to look to exercise as the source for weirdness at my weigh-ins.  I missed a couple of cardio days last week, and my off days last week were toward the end of the week, with my off days this week towards the beginning, making for almost a whole week between cardio workouts.  I know when I first started exercising, it actually led to a small gain, so I wonder if that happened again.  If so, all the more reason to stay consistent with an exercise routine.  At any rate, stepping on the scale was underwhelming.

The treadmill on the other hand…  Last night brought back the endorphin high to the point of my almost not giving a rat’s tookus about whether I lost weight or not this week!  In middle and high school, I was the kid who hated, hated, hated phys ed.  Well – I guess middle school wasn’t really so bad (though square dancing can be a bruise to the 13-year-old male ego), but high school P.E. really did suck.  My high school phys ed class consisted of 4 days a week, at 7:30 in the morning, on the track – with the assignment being to run 2 miles in half an hour.  Friday’s were in the weight room, which wasn’t so bad, but those 4 days on the track ruined the whole damn thing.  So I walked my two miles (with very short bursts of running) every morning and hated every minute of it.

Back to the here and now, I’ve been walking on the treadmill for five weeks, gradually increasing my time and speed.  I knew my endurance had improved a good bit, but I wasn’t really sure by how much.  Fellow blogger Jay commented here a few days ago, wondering if I were running for my 42 minutes on the treadmill.  I wasn’t, but that got me wondering, could I???  So last night, kind of suspecting my loss wasn’t going to be there on the scales this week, and feeling bored with walking for 42 minutes yet again, I decided to give my routine a jolt and see how much of it I could jog.

After a brief warm-up, I started out being able to jog about five minutes straight!  I was pleasantly surprised – thinking I’d be lucky to jog for 2 minutes before being torpedoed off the back of the treadmill.  For the rest of my workout, I alternated between a fast walk and a relatively light jog – probably jogging about 15 minutes total.  So what, you marathoners say?  For me that was huge – a great personal exercise accomplishment!  And the 42 minutes went by so much more quickly than if I’d walked the whole thing.  I finished feeling like I’d won a race – even if I were only competing against myself.

  1. February 6, 2010 at 2:04 PM

    You’d better be careful. You’ll end up addicted to running and start running marathons like me.

  2. February 6, 2010 at 7:00 PM

    That’s great! I wish I could run like everyone else! I can jog about five minutes then I’m so winded it’s ridiculous.
    I hate you didn’t lose…but glad you didn’t gain, either. Maybe next week you’ll have a big loss to make up for it. (fingers crossed)

  3. February 7, 2010 at 1:58 AM

    Great job with the endorphins and jog time! I have found watching TV allows me to jog longer, forget actually that I am jogging. It’s how I did 60 min straight last week, for the first time. Lots of TV refocussing going on. 5.5 mph the whole time. Not fast, but maintainable for me it seems. My other treadmill routine is 50 cals @ 4 mph (walk), then 25 cals @ 5.5mph (jog), then 25 cals @ 7.5 mph (run) and repeat. For an hour. It is a nice fat burn + heart rate max mix, certainly gets me sweating, maybe a controlled way to mix up the walk/jog/run routines. It would probably be easy to double the times after a while. We’ll see. Cheers!

  4. February 7, 2010 at 3:36 AM

    That’s awesome, glad you tried something new. 🙂

    It wasn’t until I started losing weight did running become easier.. weird huh? Now I can run 15-20 minutes without a problem. I find that so awesome. I mean not even two months ago I couldn’t run more then 10 minutes without having to stop. Maybe another 20 pounds lost will mean 30 minute runs?

    Keep it up!

  1. February 17, 2010 at 12:38 AM
Comments are closed.
