Home > Nutrition > Blueberry Pancake Binge Caused by Food TV and Unrequited Love

Blueberry Pancake Binge Caused by Food TV and Unrequited Love

February 7, 2010

Last night, I ate dinner too early, which left me hungry a little later in the evening.  So as I started going over the healthy options for a final light snack in my head, I was also flipping through the channels to find something interesting on television – with no success.   I made the terrible mistake (for someone trying to eat healthily) of stopping on the food network…  Bobby Flay was having a “throw-down” with the owner of the Clinton Street Baking Co. in NYC whose specialty is, you guessed it, blueberry pancakes.  Well – my split-second self-talk thought process went something like this:

“Hey – remember being in New York back in October with the old law school crowd for Kate’s wedding, and how the day before the wedding we were all going to meet for breakfast at the Clinton Street Baking Co.?    Yeah – you’d been looking forward to that breakfast and wanted to try the legendary  blueberry pancakes, remember?  But you, having idiotically fallen for someone who couldn’t really have given two $—$ about you, decided you should take it easy at the hotel instead of having breakfast with the gang so you could spend the morning text messaging?  Yep – that was friggin’ stupid – and you missed a damn good blueberry pancake because of it.  [sigh]  Well – you’ve got blueberries in the fridge now – since they’re good brain food and all (Lord knows you need it) – so you could… That’s right – make a great, nutritional powerhouse food like blueberries into something akin to candy by whipping up a stack of blueberry pancakes right now!”

Funny how the mind of a recovering food addict can put together such seemingly disparate things: true  hunger, blueberries in the fridge, and my own stupidity from months ago – and decide that I deserve, no need, a short stack of blueberry pancakes with Log Cabin syrup.  The scary thing is, this addictive eating BS used to be the mainstay of my relationship with food.  Now it’s a rare occurrence.  I wrote recently about how one part of my staying motivated in getting healthy is learning to cut myself some slack, which I did.  And I enjoyed every last bite.

p.s.  The Clinton Street Baking Co.’s pancakes looked incredible – mine didn’t hold a candle – and I fully intend to try them the next time I’m in New York.  And said object of affection is no longer in the picture; one of the first things I took on as part of Reconstructing 30.

  1. February 7, 2010 at 10:03 PM

    I like the new digs!

    • February 7, 2010 at 10:16 PM

      Thanks, Andrew! It’s a work in progress, but I like it!

  2. February 7, 2010 at 10:34 PM

    If you enjoyed it and you know what it was and why you did it then you are already 10 steps ahead of where you used to be.

  3. February 8, 2010 at 5:31 AM

    Lol, I used to be the same way when I saw a Taco Bell commercial on TV. Even with TiVO, if I saw a SPLIT second of a Taco Bell commercial I was doomed to fast food that night.

    TiVO tried to help me, but it failed! 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
