Home > General > Closing in on My College Weight

Closing in on My College Weight

February 10, 2010

I realized last night that I’m within 10-15 pounds of reaching the weight I was when I graduated college in 2002, which feels really great.  I wasn’t thin when I graduated college, by any stretch of the imagination.  In fact, I don’t know if I’ve ever been thin.  According to my parents, I wore “slim” clothes as a little kid, but I’ve yet to see truly convincing photographic evidence of this mythical slim version of me.  I was born prematurely, so I think I was underweight for all of 24 hours, until the incubator warmed my newborn butt up enough to be hungry.  And from second grade on, I had the pleasure of wearing “husky” jeans, instead of slim.

At first, wearing husky jeans sounded kind of cool – like maybe they mean that you’re the kid who would tower over the others and could body slam some little pipsqueak to the ground before they had half a chance to mess with your @$$ in a heated game of duck, duck, goose.  It didn’t help that I wasn’t really athletic or confrontational, though.  I was a sedentary peacemaker, so instead of being the intimidating husky kid on the playground who would become the beefy lummox of a football player in high school, I was the cute chubby kid, who became the lovable fat guy in high school.

And then came college.  Instead of gaining the freshmen ten, I, with a penchant for being different, lost them.  Walking around a college campus and being busier with school  was actually a big improvement in my lifestyle, and while I graduated college overweight, it was a weight where I actually felt and looked pretty good.  Now that I think about it, I’m not quite sure exactly how I pulled that off.  I’m an alumni adviser to a student group at my college, and I was just there for a meeting this afternoon.  While I was sipping on water and finishing my afternoon snack of an apple and cashews, they were scarfing down chocolate peanut butter Valentine’s Day hearts, Krispy Kreme doughnuts, and sodas of all different flavors (except diet), but not a single one of them has a weight problem!

So here I am – eating healthily and exercising at thirty, and finally closing back in on my college weight.  A weight I used to maintain just by walking around campus to burn off the excess calories of midnight pizza and beer.  Aging really can be a frikkin’ twerp, can’t it?

It’s all good, though, ’cause I’m not just stopping at my college weight this time.  I’m actually getting healthy.  And I’m on my way back to my slim roots, whether or not they ever really existed outside of my parents’ eyes.

  1. Sylvia
    February 11, 2010 at 1:37 PM

    Chad: funny in a cool way to read that blog. What really helped me ‘get off my butt and tackle my increasing dress size issue’ was Jillian Michael’s book “Master your Metabolism”. nothing crazy, just healthy food and excercise and realising that we all have metabolism quirks that sometimes work against us.
    GOOD LUCK with it.
    sylvi

  2. February 11, 2010 at 4:08 PM

    I’m lighter than when I started college never mind finished it.

    Boy.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
