Home > Exercise > My Changing Relationship with Exercise

My Changing Relationship with Exercise

February 11, 2010

Running, by Petr Kratochvil, Image in the Public Domain

If you’re a regular reader of this blog, you know that I’ve written before on how exercise is my biggest challenge on this weight loss journey.  After two months of changing my eating habits, I decided it was time to add exercise into the mix this past January.  My first session with a trainer was on January 2, and I’ve been working out according to her instructions since.  This Saturday will mark visit number two to the trainer, and I’m actually kind of excited.  This excitement, in and of itself, is monumental.

When I started with the trainer six weeks ago, I hated exercise.  Loathed it.  Truly.  In early January, I would have rather had double root canals than walk on my treadmill for 45 minutes.  At least with the root canals, I’d get to sit down and have some happy medicine.  Six weeks later, I still don’t love exercise, but I am starting to enjoy it.  Cardio has its own built in happiness medicine in the form of endorphins, I’ve learned.  I’ve worked my way up to 300 crunches during my strength training sessions (despite my initial reaction of “Holy Crap – you’ve gotta be frikkin’ kidding me?!?!” when the trainer suggested I target this number), and I’m now doing 45 minutes on the treadmill at a time, with a significant portion of that 45 minutes spent jogging (jogging slowly, but jogging all the same, dammit).  And while that first morning after I was so sore I couldn’t move, I now barely notice the soreness at all.

Which is why I’m looking forward to Saturday.  Maybe I’m crazy (though some would argue my craziness is less a matter of “if,” and more a matter of “to what degree”), but I miss being sore.  I felt like I was actually accomplishing something when I was sore.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m starting to see definition in my formerly flabby arms and legs.  The other night I felt something tight in my upper arm and for a split second wondered if something was wrong – only to realize it was my bicep, making its presence known after years of getting a free pass to lounge on the beach and sip pina coladas from a coconut shell.  So I know I’m getting results, but I miss the soreness!  I really am looking forward to seeing what my trainer has devised for me this time around.  It can’t be any worse than criss-cross abs – which I’m still sure is one poorly timed sneeze away from causing my legs to snap and somehow get stuck behind my shoulder blades.

Check back here this weekend for a full report!

  1. February 12, 2010 at 11:22 AM

    Isn’t it great?

  2. February 13, 2010 at 9:33 AM

    I think it’s great that you are starting to like exercise! I myself love it a lot and look forward to it every morning. It just makes you feel awesome!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
