Home > General > Daily Weigh-Ins: An Unhealthy Obsession

Daily Weigh-Ins: An Unhealthy Obsession

February 13, 2010

This morning was my weekly weigh-in, and I lost half a pound from last Saturday’s weight, putting me at 38 pounds lost since I began this endeavor on October 31, 2009!  That’s a great loss (it’s a toddler, for goodness sake!), and I’m glad that I did move the scale down this week instead of moving it up, or not moving it at all.  But I have this pesky habit of weighing myself each and every morning, so I know that just a few days ago, I was 2 pounds lighter than I was today, and I was 1 pound heavier this morning than I was just yesterday!

If I hadn’t weighed at all from last Saturday today, I would have been pleased with my half pound loss – not popping the cork on a bottle of champagne, but pleased nonetheless.  But since I weigh every freakin’ morning like a slave to the scale, I know that I nearly had a better loss, but for (at least in part) my snow day snacking yesterday.

So this week, I have a resolution to not step on the scales again until next Saturday.  Trust me, keeping my eager toes of the scale each morning will be a feat.  I’m part of the instant gratification generation, and I eagerly jump on the scale everyday, thinking I may see some loss, any loss, to reinforce my progress.  In the beginning, I did see a loss most mornings, but with my weight loss slowing down to a more sustainable 1-2 pounds a week, I think I need to quit being a weigh-in junkie.

Can I break my addiction over the course of the next week?  Come back and see.  Maybe I can at least shift my eagerness from jumping on the scales to jumping on the treadmill instead – we’ll see…

What about you?  Do you weigh in everyday, once a week, or on some other schedule?  Click on comments, and leave your thoughts!

p.s.  If you were expecting me to recount my experience with the personal trainer today, you’ll have to wait one more week.  With the icy highway system in Atlanta today being somewhat akin to a Tilt-a-Whirl, we had to reschedule for next weekend.

  1. February 14, 2010 at 12:43 AM

    I weigh in every morning and post my results on my blog if I blog that day. 🙂

    I just like doing it because I can track my progress compared to what I did for that day. If I had a snack day and eat more then I should of, I usually see the negative effect the next day and I document it.

    It keeps me in check really. If I did it weekly I might not care as much and would probably slack, not losing as much weight.

    Maybe it’s just me.

  2. February 14, 2010 at 8:55 AM

    I also weigh myself every day and the same thing happens to me where if I eat more one day it shows up as a gain the next day! It’s really frustrating!

  3. February 14, 2010 at 11:24 AM

    I weigh in every day and post it on physicsdiet.com. That gives me a trend weight which I use as my actual weight. This is normally a few pounds higher than my scale weight but it smoothes out those annoying scale fluctuations.

    • February 16, 2010 at 9:13 PM

      I’m giving physicsdiet.com a shot! It seems like a really good idea.

  4. March 1, 2010 at 2:51 PM

    For the few months I was tracking it, I weighed myself a few times a day and recorded the lowest number. I was totally obsessive. Recently for my fitness timeline I was grabbing weigh ins by month, and they told the same story as doing it multiple times a day. Way less work and obsessing over undigested food, obviously 🙂

  1. February 15, 2010 at 9:29 PM
Comments are closed.
