Home > General > Week Without Weighing – Day 2 (Sort Of…)

Week Without Weighing – Day 2 (Sort Of…)

February 15, 2010

I mentioned this weekend that I have what has become  an unhealthy obsession with getting on the scales everyday.  I made a resolution not to step on the scales again until my next Saturday weekly weigh in.  I am pleased to inform you that I have failed.  Miserably.  (What can I say?  Screw Resolutions.)

Yesterday morning, I woke up, and the scales were callin’ my name.  I was truly drawn to them like a mosquito to a flame, an ambulance chaser to a ten car pile up, the star of the bachelor to the love of his life, and the love of his life, and the love of his life…  You get the picture.  I tried to resist, but I just couldn’t.  I had to jump on!  And my weight was the same as Saturday, which believe it or not, made me happy.  I was afraid my weight might have gone up, so maintaining was a welcome thing!  But I realized in that moment, that I couldn’t weigh just once a week.  I’m too much for the instant feedback.

So I took my blogger friend Andrew’s advice (check out his amazing 100+ pound loss over at Andrew is Getting Fit) and I opened a free account at PhysicsDiet.com.  I’m not endorsing the site – but the one function I am using is to track my daily weight there, and they then chart it as a rolling average, so that you get an idea of the trends in your weight over time and not just the daily readings.  I’m only on my second day, so I don’t know how well I’ll like it just yet, but I’m hoping it well help me continue to indulge my insatiable desire to check my progress each day, while keeping in check my momentary doubts when it comes to minor day-to-day fluctuations.  I’ll let you know if I’m successful with that.  And on the upside, after an intense treadmill session last night and watching my food pretty carefully over the weekend, I was down 3.5 pounds from Saturday this morning!

Coming Soon on Reconstructing 30:  The guy who avoids public exercise at all costs (I did nearly maim myself on (and off of) a balance ball), actually visits the Gym!

  1. February 17, 2010 at 12:17 AM

    Let us know how you like it. If it’s easy to use, and doesn’t require too much to get into it I may check it out.

    Oh and don’t be afraid of the scale. Embrace it, and make it apart of you. 🙂

    Be nice it to and maybe it’ll be nice to you. 🙂

    • February 17, 2010 at 12:40 AM

      Embrace the scale! I like it – sounds like a good mantra! 🙂

  2. February 17, 2010 at 5:34 PM

    I love my scale! I weight myself several times a day just for the hell of it. I keep track of my morning waking weight and use trending similar to physicsdiet.com for my own tracking.
    I also weigh myself before and after runs to estimate perspiration rate which helps me estimate fluid intake. Sure, it’s disheartening to see the number stay the same or even go up from one day to the next but when I look at the trend line I know that regardless of my daily fluctuation I’m still heading to the right diection.

  3. February 19, 2010 at 6:35 PM

    Somehow I’ve not been getting your blog updates…which is sad! I gotta figure out how to resubscribe.
    Anyway keep us posted on your weigh-ins. I might try this if you like it…the daily tracking!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
