Home > General > Breaking the Forty Pounds Lost Mark!

Breaking the Forty Pounds Lost Mark!

February 21, 2010

41.5 Pounds Lost!

Saturday morning’s weekly weigh-in was fantastic; I’m down 3.5 pounds in the past week, and down 41.5 pounds from where I started on October 31, 2009!  In three plus months, I have shed the weight of a small child, a large dog, or enough butter to carve a bust of Paula Deen’s head (whichever image works best for you – and I think they actually did carve a bust of Paula Deen out of butter once!).  I’m getting excited about my progress, though I still have a ways to go.

This blog is factoring heavily into my success, both by providing me with personal accountability, and also through the amazing encouragement and support of those of you who read and comment here regularly.  I didn’t know what to expect when I started blogging, and I’ve been pleasantly surprised.  So…I no longer feel a need to shroud myself in anonymity, and I’ve finally decided to post some pictures here, and just be up front with the numbers themselves.  Being open about them takes away their power.  The photo above of me in blue is today – I’m at 259 pounds, down 41.5 pounds from my weight of 300.5 on October 31, 2009 when I officially began Reconstructing 30 (the day after my actual thirtieth birthday).  The photo below of me in orange is actually a couple of years ago at Thanksgiving (2007).  I probably weighed around 306 then, so it’s very close to the weight I was in October when I began this effort to transform my health and life in earnest.

Before the Reconstruction Began

Weighing over 300 pounds is a huge blow to the ego.  Nobody sets out to get that heavy – not in this world.  Unless you’re a 6’8″ giant who can actually be fit at that weight, it’s uncomfortable, unhealthy, embarrassing, and dangerous.  And I think getting back down in the 250’s has finally made me feel like I’m not a part of that “elite” club anymore.  Thank God.  I have energy again.  I have confidence again.  I laugh because I’m enjoying life and all the craziness it entails, and I don’t crack jokes just to deflect attention.

At my appointment with my primary care physician yesterday – a follow-up to my physical six months ago – I no longer had to consider weight loss surgery as an option, I was able to come off of an inhaler that I’d been on to help with my breathing, and my lower back pain has all but disappeared.  I like to have fun, and to add a little levity to this blog, but this is serious stuff!  I’m reclaiming my life.

If I can reclaim my life and my health, anyone can.  I hated exercise, and I thought proper nutrition was an unattainable goal that only a few health nuts actually succeeded in achieving.   But my lifestyle has changed drastically in the past few months.  Actually, scratch that passive voice – I have changed my lifestyle in the past few months.  So to welcome myself back to the 250’s, for the first time in at least eight years, I celebrated not with food, like I would have six months ago, but with a session with my personal trainer, Anna, to make sure my fitness routine is keeping me challenged and on my way to my goals of reaching 250, then getting below 200, and ultimately settling somewhere around 170.  I’ll recap my visit to the personal trainer more tomorrow (I’m writing this late, late Saturday night), and I think you’ll find it entertaining – I simultaneously enjoyed it and felt ridiculous, and I also laughed out loud more than once!  But for tonight, I’m just grateful.  Grateful to be on this journey and to have taken my life back.  And grateful that you’re all along for the ride.

  1. February 21, 2010 at 11:28 AM

    Awesome loss! Big time congrats to you–you are doing so so great, Chad! Keep it up!!

    • February 21, 2010 at 11:58 PM

      Thanks, Craig!

  2. February 21, 2010 at 1:24 PM

    Chad, this is a wonderful post! You are really inspiring. I like how you are emphasizing the fact it’s not just something that is happening to you, but that YOU are making it happen! It’s great to see pics of you also!

    • February 21, 2010 at 11:59 PM

      Thanks; I appreciate it, Carla!

  3. Jay
    February 21, 2010 at 11:48 PM

    Well nice to meet you Chad! 🙂

    And wow 40 pounds lighter you look fit!

    Keep it up!

    • February 22, 2010 at 12:00 AM

      Thanks, Jay! I’m definitely more fit now than I was 40 pounds ago!

  4. February 22, 2010 at 2:28 AM

    Chad you rock! I especially like how you’ve focused on all the positive results of the weightloss!

  5. February 22, 2010 at 3:13 PM

    Great progress Chad! Congrats on the 40lbs mark! I know what it feels like to cross milestones like that! Looking great! The difference is striking.

  6. Dina
    February 22, 2010 at 3:37 PM

    You’re a good looking guy! Keep up the good work.

  7. February 23, 2010 at 9:15 AM

    Wow dude…thats awesome! And what a difference between the pics? DDAAMMNN!

  8. Julia
    February 23, 2010 at 2:51 PM

    Congratulations Chad!

    You look much younger in your current photo than the one taken several years ago at Thanksgiving.

    The more you weigh to begin with the harder it is for others to see a aesthetic difference after you lose 20 or even 40 lbs, but in your case its already showing.

    I think your strategy of having several tiered goals is a good one; that way you can celebrate (in a non-caloric fashion) more successes along the way!

  9. Andrew
    March 2, 2010 at 12:41 PM

    Chad,
    I am so happy for you–it’s great to hear that you feel more energetic and confident. You should be so proud of what you’ve accomplished so far. You’re a huge inspiration to everyone who reads this blog. Keep up the great work!

    • March 2, 2010 at 12:47 PM

      Thanks for the encouragement, Andrew!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
