Home > General > Top 10 Weight Loss Surprises

Top 10 Weight Loss Surprises

February 27, 2010

When I began this journey, I was serious about losing weight.  I’d never lost more than about 30 pounds in my past efforts though.  Now, through making healthy lifestyle changes, I’m knocking on the door of fifty pounds lost, though I still have even more to go.  Losing that much weight has provided me with some surprises.  Here are the top ten surprises in my weight loss journey so far:

#1 – It is possible not to crave fried/fast/junk food.

#2 – When you do crave fried/fast/junk food, the allure of Krispy Kreme can be resisted.

#3 – Good strength training can make body parts sore that you didn’t know were capable of experiencing pain.

#4 – You can actually come to like the soreness mentioned in #3.

#5 – Not everyone in the gym is a poseur.  (Though they are certainly there, too).

#6 – I have bones and muscles underneath this fat-suit!  (Feeling your abs, knees, biceps, and hip bones for the first time in years is great!  Speaking of which, my blogger friend David made me laugh out loud with his post today that reminded me of this particular surprise, and he’s had an amazing transformation in the last six months!).

#7 – Even though you may weigh what you did 8 years ago, your body may be shaped differently.  (Who said all these surprises were good?  What do I look like, Glenn Gladass?)

#8 – With a little effort, eating out can be a part of a healthy diet.  (This wasn’t possible for me when I was “dieting” in the past, and ended up leading to my past failures on a number of occasions).

#9 – Security guards in bookstores are capable of going all hand-to-hand combat on a shoplifter’s @$$ and may carry tazers.  (Okay, so this is only tangentially related to my weight loss journey, but a surprise nonetheless.  Read the post in the link.)

#10 – There are lots of great people who will read a blog and provide endless support in this journey, some of whom you already knew, but most of whom you didn’t.  Thanks to you all.  See the blogs listed on the right hand side of this page to learn more about these amazing people.

  1. February 28, 2010 at 12:31 AM

    Excellent list! Thanks for the link! 1: It’s interesting how cravings change, for sure! In the health journey, the body transforms for the better in so many ways. 4: It’s true– I love soreness! Soreness=progress! Truly wish I was sore more often. 9: tazing (“don’t taze me, bro”) and mall cops (who aspires to that?) always bring a smile to my face. Haven’t been tazed by one yet, obviously. 10: This blogging circle is freakin awesome! It’s made me realize the value of blogging all over again. In our case it’s great because we’re all trying to better ourselves. It’s fantastic!

  2. February 28, 2010 at 5:48 AM

    50 pounds lost is awesome, congratulations!

  3. March 1, 2010 at 7:55 AM

    I love your posts. You are an inspiration to all of us trying to overhaul our lives. I am going to have to take your word for it that it’s possible not to crave bad food. In getting sober, my disease comes out sideways sometimes – whether it be food, shopping, or whatever. I am an addict and will change my addictions to whatever is convenient. I wish I would get addicted to exercise but, alas, I just hate it too much. But you might be motivating me to try it. (You and that blasted reunion!) Have a good day! s

    • March 2, 2010 at 10:30 AM

      Thanks, Shelby!

  4. March 1, 2010 at 2:08 PM

    It is funny how I can lose my taste for fried food as easily as I can gain them. I learned that one again this winter for a brief time.

  5. March 1, 2010 at 4:42 PM

    I have also discovered #1 and #2! I think that was the biggest surprise for me. I also love #10, I couldn’t agree more.

  1. March 9, 2010 at 11:35 PM
Comments are closed.
