Home > Nutrition > Nutrition From the Ground Up

Nutrition From the Ground Up

March 1, 2010

Today marks the beginning of the American Dietetic Association’s National Nutrition Month®, and the theme this year is “Nutrition From the Ground Up.”  In honor of their efforts to raise awareness about the importance of nutrition and simply eating right, I’m going to devote my posts on these Mondays in March to the topic of good nutrition.  Yep – I’ve always been a little bit of an advocate, so I’m all for jumping on the bandwagon to raise awareness here.
I'm Blogging National Nutrition Month
I’ve been very focused on exercise in this blog lately, as it’s the new thing in my life.  We guys are like that, I guess.  Think about college, guys – the new foreign exchange student (exercise) would walk into class, and all the sudden that’s where your attention focused, right?  The others in the class (nutrition) just didn’t hold your attention after that, because you were figuring this new one out.  But the bottom line is that food is the fuel for the body, and I need to give nutrition topics a little more regular attention in this blog.  I’ve been continuing to follow good nutritional habits in my daily life; I just haven’t been blogging about them.

For my first National Nutrition Month® Monday in March post, I’ll talk about what exactly the theme of “Nutrition From the Ground Up” means to me.  The concept brings a couple of important things to mind for me.  First, is what I’ve already mentioned about food as fuel.  When I set out to reconstruct my life at thirty, the foundation of that construction project was the fuel for my body – food.  Seeing my awesome nutritionist was the first step I took to change my life, to reconstruct thirty from the ground up.  My nutritionist helped me from that very first visit to start conceptualizing food as fuel for my body and as something that needed to be healthful and eaten throughout the day.  None of us would pour sludge into our high-performance cars’ gas tanks, so why would we keep fueling our very own finely tuned machines that carry us through life with cheezy poofs and milkshakes?  Food as fuel and the true foundation of a healthy lifestyle, is an important concept to grasp.

The idea of nutrition from the ground up has another meaning that quickly comes to mind for me, as well, and that’s the belief I’ve truly come to adopt over the last four months that we must start battling the obesity epidemic in this country by focusing on our children!  So much has changed with childhood just in the time since I was a kid.  I think I was part of the last cohort of kids who were able to fairly freely roam the neighborhood in the afternoon with friends, playing outside with all the neighborhood parents keeping an eye out for us; now social media and video games seem to prevail.  And school lunches, which are the only balanced meals some kids get in a day, went from fairly healthy when I was in grade school, to increasingly fast-food-like as I worked my way up through high school.  We can do better for the next generation.  We must do better for the next generation.  We owe it to them to teach them proper nutrition while they’re still learning the habits that will form the bases of their adult lifestyles.  I don’t yet have kids, but I know that when I do, I want to give them every advantage towards having a healthy lifestyle.   I don’t want to pass on my own screwed up relationship with food – my own bad habits and choices.  I want to give them the opportunity to build good nutritional habits from the ground up!

So over the next few Mondays in March, I’ll refocus my blogging efforts on nutrition.  In the meantime, check out the American Dietetic Association’s National Nutrition Month® website by clicking here.  Likewise, for more info on the First Lady’s wonderful campaign to focus attention on childhood obesity, check out this prior post here at Reconstructing Thirty.

  1. March 2, 2010 at 5:10 PM

    This is a great issue to focus on! What a great post.

    The other thing that nutrition from the ground up makes me think of is eating foods as close to nature as possible.

  2. March 3, 2010 at 12:22 AM

    Thanks for pointing out NNM. I will explore that site. Looks good. And, “food as fuel”: totally! Education about good eating habits is so important. Can’t believe I pounded so much crap for so long.

    • March 3, 2010 at 11:10 AM

      Food as fuel is one of those concepts that I knew was true, but until it really clicked in my head somehow, I just kept eating as if it wasn’t. Denial maybe?

  3. Rachel
    March 4, 2010 at 4:44 PM

    WOW! So impressed with this post! Thanks for putting people in touch with the ADA website. It’s so rewarding for me as your nutritionist to watch your transformation with both your eating and your attitude towards food.

    • March 4, 2010 at 5:03 PM

      Thanks, Rachel!

  1. March 8, 2010 at 11:12 PM
  2. March 15, 2010 at 9:06 PM
Comments are closed.
