Home > General > Mid-Week Madness

Mid-Week Madness

March 2, 2010

I’m about half-way through my week, and I’m back on track with my exercise routine, but my great six pound weight loss from last week is quickly being erased!  Last week, I went from 259.0 to 253.0 pounds, but as of this morning, I was at 257.0 again!  Ugh!!!  This is yet another reason to stick with an exercise routine, and not (intentionally or unintentionally) give yourself too much time off.  I did the first session on my own of the new strength training routine that my trainer set me up with, and I was satisfyingly sore the next day.  (Funny how exercise can turn a normal person into a fitness masochist).  I’ve kicked the strength training up to another level, and while it feels great, I think my weight is showing it (or my scales are jerking me around big time!).

When I jumped back on the treadmill, my endurance had suffered dramatically from having taken a week off.  I was down from 48 minutes to 30 minutes on Sunday, and when I got on tonight, I just couldn’t bring myself to do it for more than 5 minutes.  I think I need some variety in my cardio routine.  So I jumped on the Wii Fit, and I burned over 300 calories that way, which was a nice change.  If it will ever stop snowing in Atlanta this winter (no, that’s not crazy talk, today was our fourth measurable snowfall of the winter…..in the South……….in MARCH!!!), I want to try biking, too.  The treadmill is just getting a little tired for me.

So that’s where I am this week, half-way between my official Saturday weigh-ins.  I’m hoping that as my body readjusts to exercise, my weight will come back in line.  Overall, I’m still on a downward trend.  I started using PhysicsDiet.com a couple of weeks ago at some of my fellow bloggers’ recommendations, and it helps keep you focused on the big picture, too.  If you like to weigh everyday, but you need some help keeping the fluctuations in perspective, you might want to check it out, too.  How’s your week going?  Hopefully the scales are being kind to you!

  1. March 2, 2010 at 9:45 PM

    Good luck…just keep moving and the scale will too. At least that’s what I tell myself. Someone hasn’t told my scale yet 🙂

    What are your fav things to do on the Wii Fit? Esp to burn the most cals? I like the hula hoop as well as the obstacle course!

    • March 2, 2010 at 10:08 PM

      I like the hula hoop, too, and the biking, and the step class. I want to try the boxing, but I’m usually too lazy to get the nunchuks out!

      Any yeah – my body hasn’t yet learned the 3500 calories = a pound thing. I can gain a pound on much less than 3500 excess calories! Sometimes our bodies and scales don’t learn as quickly as we do. LOL

  2. March 3, 2010 at 10:48 AM

    I can’t stress it enough that water fluctuation can play mind games on you! You have to look at the trend over time and the loss will be more steady and apparent. Even weekly weigh ins can be off by several pounds.

    I also know what you mean about getting back on cardio. When I got injured a couple of weeks back it was a lot tougher to get back on running after the break.

    Keep at it Chad, you’re doing great!

    • March 3, 2010 at 11:08 AM

      Thanks, Greg. This morning I was down two pounds from yesterday, so I hope my muscles are just readjusting to exercise!

  3. March 3, 2010 at 11:19 AM

    I reckon if you drink more water you’ll see more of a consistent loss as the water fluctuations will be erased.

    • March 3, 2010 at 12:08 PM

      Good advice, Andrew. So far I haven’t been terribly intentional about my water intake.

  4. March 3, 2010 at 12:43 PM

    I was apparently able to gain about 8 pounds in less than a week, then lose about 9. Waterweight can definitely eff with the mindset.

    Great job w/ getting back into it though, I’m sure your next weigh in will treat you well.

  5. March 3, 2010 at 3:01 PM

    Biking is awesome. Wind in face. Safety first, if you’re just getting started with it – all kinds of things to collide with out there. 🙂

  6. March 3, 2010 at 4:10 PM

    I know what you mean about the treadmill. I walk outside when I can. I went out on Sunday and there was still snow on the ground. Made it tough going, but I’m tough. Calories burn was probably higher.

    It has been a good week.,

  7. March 3, 2010 at 5:49 PM

    You will lose some of that gain quickly and even though you felt like your endurance had suffered from your week off – I bet in a few days you will be right back on top of your game!

    So glad to have found your blog! Best of luck to you.

  8. March 3, 2010 at 8:38 PM

    Thanks for the encouragement, everyone! I think getting off the treadmill and finding other options for cardio is going to be key for me. My “week off” was partially burnout with being on the treadmill, I think!

  9. March 3, 2010 at 9:55 PM

    I find sometimes I really need to take a week off – for me especially with weight training. I just seem to get exhausted. Then usually it only takes a few days to get back into it and get even stronger than before!

  10. Meredith
    March 4, 2010 at 6:29 PM

    HI Chad! I just found out about your blog today by reading the comments of the NYT Well article about constant snacking. I think this blog is super cool, and plan to visit regularly now.
    Congrats on hitting the 40-pound loss-mark. I began dieting last year and walking for fitness, and it’s netted me a 30-pound loss (so far). My favorite thing about this weight loss is body confidence – not just in terms of appearance, but also in terms of capability. It feels so good!

    • March 4, 2010 at 10:47 PM

      Thanks, Meredith! Glad you’re here. Congrats on your weight loss! It really is great to be able to do things you weren’t able to do before.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
