Home > General > Weekend: Weigh-In, Warriors, and Getting Cozy with Strangers

Weekend: Weigh-In, Warriors, and Getting Cozy with Strangers

March 7, 2010

The big headline from the last week should really be that I’m back on the wagon with exercise.  As I wrote a few days ago, I’ve had to change up my cardio routine to keep from losing my mind on the treadmill day in and day out, and it’s going well!  I did fall one day short of my four days of cardio goal, but I got in my strength training as I should, and I’m enjoying the new routine my trainer worked out for me a couple of weeks ago.  The only semi-problem with all this: I gained a pound as of my official weigh-in on Saturday.  I was up from 253 pounds last week to 254 pounds this Saturday.  I’m sure it was because of the exercise after taking a week off.  In fact, I had weighed 253 on Friday, and then did strength training on Friday night, which usually bumps my weight up a little the next day.  This morning (Sunday), I was 252, so I’m confident that my body’s gotten used to the exercise again and is back on track with weight loss.

Which leads me to my progress on the Weekend Warriors Challenge from Brandon over at So Long, Fat Ass! My goals were to stick to my regular eating schedule (breakfast, lunch, afternoon snack, dinner, and after dinner treat) and do cardio both days this weekend.  I did fairly well with nutrition yesterday, though I did miss my afternoon snack.  My friends and I spent yesterday afternoon at Atlantic Station here in Atlanta and had lunch at Rosa Mexicano followed by a trip through Dialog in the Dark, an exhibit where you’re immersed in total darkness with a cane and a blind guide to take your group through venues set up like a park, a grocery store, a city street, a boat (including walking a gangplank to get aboard), and a cafe.  You have to use your other senses to experience the world around you, and it really is enlightening.  Oh…and you get cozy with strangers.  Real cozy.  You all think you’re reaching for a tangerine in the grocery store portion of the exhibit, and SURPRISE!!!  You get an arm, rear end, or something worse.  Kind of humbling really, to realize how totally discombobulating it is to be without your sense of sight.  In the cafe you get to sit down at a booth (in total darkness) and chat with your blind guide while enjoying a soda you bought in the cafe, and it really does give you a totally new respect for how gracefully they can navigate the world, whereas most of us would end up in deep trouble very quickly without our sight.

Bottom line, between a wonderful Mexico City Street Salad at Rosa Mexicano (an amazing fruit salad with mango, pineapple, jicama, bell peppers, cucumber, toasted pumpkin seeds, and chopped roasted chicken, in a honey lime dressing), and my diet soda at the Dialog in the Dark cafe, I just didn’t get hungry again until dinner, so I’m giving myself a free pass on missing my afternoon snack yesterday.  Everything else was spot on, nutritionally.  Exercise, on the other hand…  I’m concerned about right now.  During my Friday night strength training, I strained my lower back.  I’ve had lower back problems from time to time for about twelve years, and this is mild compared to some episodes I’ve had, but I’m afraid to do too much until it gets better.  So I ended up giving myself yesterday off despite the Weekend Warriors Challenge.  I hated to do it, but I don’t want to sideline myself for the long haul by pushing a little too hard.  My back’s starting to feel a little better, so I’m going to try cardio early this afternoon, and if I feel good, I may try to do a second session tonight to make up for yesterday.  Strength training is on hold for the moment, though.

So that’s been my weekend – all in all, pretty good!  Check out the other participant’s in Brandon’s Weekend Warriors Challenge:

  1. March 7, 2010 at 2:55 PM

    That blind thing sounds SO fun!! Did you love it? Was it expensive? I need to make another ATL trip I haven’t been in like over a year!
    Congrats on your WW progress and I hope your back is doing better. My knees are hurting so bad!

    • March 7, 2010 at 9:14 PM

      Dialog in the Dark was fun; I definitely recommend checking it out. It was a little pricey (nearly $30 a piece with all the ticketing fees), but I thought it was unique enough to be worth it. Apparently Atlanta is the U.S. debut, and so far the only venue in the states.

  2. March 8, 2010 at 10:27 AM

    Great job, sometimes your heatlh has to come first. I had knee surgery a few years ago but I can still tell that there is a point that if I push to hard it’s going to give out on me and I just take it a little easier.

  3. March 8, 2010 at 3:35 PM

    That sounds like an amazing experience, one that I’m sure you’ll never forger.

    I hope your back is feeling better now, that’s certainly nothing to play around with.

    Great first weekend!

  4. March 8, 2010 at 4:27 PM

    Nice job. What an exciting weekend. It doesn’t look like the grass is growing under your feet!

  5. March 8, 2010 at 6:12 PM

    Hi Chad, you did great on the weekend!

    I agree with you about taking it easy with the back problem. When I hurt my shoulder a few weeks ago I made sure to take off a good week and a half, even though it was feeling better after a few days. The worst thing for our progress right now would be to get a serious injury!

    • March 8, 2010 at 11:22 PM

      UPDATE:

      1) FOOD – I did well with this. Stayed on plan all weekend, though I didn’t get my afternoon snack on Saturday. I got too busy, and didn’t overeat later as a result, so I’m giving myself a pass on this one.
      2) EXERCISE – I ended up not exercising this weekend due to my back injury. Thankfully, I’m getting better, and I got back to cardio today at the gym! So threw off my weekend warrior plans, but I needed to take the time off to heal.

      Thanks for the challenge, Brandon!

  1. March 17, 2010 at 11:00 PM
Comments are closed.
