Home > General > Sometimes I Miss My Fat…

Sometimes I Miss My Fat…

March 9, 2010

Okay, well not all of my fat, but strategically placed bits here and there.  As I wrote about in my post on the Top 10 Weight Loss Surprises, it’s kind of nice to be able to feel things like hip bones and quadriceps again, and to see your biceps pop when you bend your elbow.  In fact, in what came perilously close to the mirror flexing commonly engaged in by the native gym rats that have been much lampooned here at Reconstructing 30, I caught myself flexing my arms in the mirror as I brushed my teeth a couple of days ago.  The dog, who was sitting at my feet, sighed deeply, rolled her eyes, and threw up a little in her mouth.  I’m not proud of it.  I was just truly fascinated by the reconstruction of my body that is taking place.   Hey, at least it wasn’t in public, like the real gym rats!

Anyhow, losing fat and exposing the fit body underneath that’s ready to get out is liberating, exhilarating, and just all around freakin’ awesome.  But… (there’s that pesky “but” again)  I do miss one little pad of fat that my body decided to dissolve, and I can’t for the life of me figure out why.   It’s that little smaller than a pincushion portion of adipose tissue that had previously protected my tailbone.  I’m no anatomist, but I’m guessing this is analogous to the little flap of chicken fat that you snip off the @$$ of a roaster before you grease it up and pop it in the oven.  Anyhow, I didn’t realize how much I liked this particular bit of my fat behind.

I noticed it’s absence for the first time a couple of weeks ago when I was working out with my trainer.  I was sitting on a mat, balancing on my rear end with my legs off the ground and my back off the mat as I did some twisting exercise with a medicine ball, and it hurt like hell.  I realized I was balancing right on my coccyx, with none of my formerly plush cushioning between me and the floor.  And ever since then, I’ve noticed its absence whenever I’m sitting on a hard chair, on the floor playing with the dog, or even in a nicely padded chair if I stay in one position for a while.  Don’t get me wrong, I don’t really miss any of the fat I’ve lost at all – except maybe for this one little piece of chicken @$$ fat…  [sigh.]

  1. March 10, 2010 at 12:43 AM

    LOL.

    My favorite “flex” is how I can now see my…ummm…trying to think of the name of these bones on your chest around your shoulders? Collar bones? Perhaps? When I first noticed them I was like damn! And my arms have veins…I have TINY arms. Wish my stomach would catch up! lol

  2. March 10, 2010 at 4:32 PM

    Sometimes I wish we could pick and choose where we lose fat! There I some places I wish would stay nice and plump (I won’t mention them here)!!! 🙂

  3. March 10, 2010 at 6:52 PM

    It is great to be able to see you body emerge from its own “packing material”

  4. March 10, 2010 at 10:22 PM

    I TOTALLY know what you mean!!! My arse hurts a lot beacuse of that. I am glad I am not insane. Sometimes if I am on my side exercising on the floor my hip bones hurt too.

    And I am cold ALL the time. But the muscle definition is AWESOME!

  5. March 11, 2010 at 10:13 AM

    My chicken @$$ fat is gone too…I noticed this when I started doing situps. Boo.

  6. March 11, 2010 at 10:22 AM

    OMG, this post had me cracking up something fierce!!!

  7. Meredith
    March 11, 2010 at 6:00 PM

    There are parts of my fat that my husband misses…but I don’t miss them one bit! I wonder if building up your glutes would help with the coccyx cushioning?

    • March 11, 2010 at 6:10 PM

      I hadn’t thought about that, Meredith! Two different kinds of squats are part of current strength training regimen, but the trainer has me going squat-less until my back gets better. I’ll let you guys know if it helps!

  8. March 11, 2010 at 6:18 PM

    Being of the skinny variety, I know all too well the implications of having a bony backside. I’ve broken it on 2 different occasions, thanks to my inability to carry out any type of coordinated task after a drink or 2. I’m hoping to do better in sobriety but we’ll just have to wait and see. Congrats on all of your progress!!!!

  9. Jay
    March 13, 2010 at 12:09 AM

    There are some negatives to every positive I guess.

    Maybe get some of those old man butt bad. :p

    Or just grow some muscle there. :p

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
