Home > General > Weighing In After My Night on the Town

Weighing In After My Night on the Town

March 13, 2010

French fries are automatically healthier when you call them pommes frites, right?  Well…that’s what I’m telling myself.  This past week was one of Atlanta’s many restaurant weeks – this one focusing on the gastronomic delights of Buckhead.  Buckhead has been called the Beverly Hills of the South, and it has some of the best shopping and dining in the city.  It’s also a great place to do some window shopping for a plastic surgeon, but that’s just one of the things that makes it all the more, shall we say, special…  (Since I lived in Buckhead for a few years, I feel like I’m entitled to say this.  I’d move back in a heartbeat, but it does have some quirks that can make you laugh).  Anyway, for Buckhead Restaurant Week, a friend and I decided to take advantage of the $25 three course prix fixe menu being offered at The Palm, and then we followed it up with a drink and a view of the skyline 73 stories above Atlanta at the Sun Dial.  I tried to have a day where this would all fit fairly well into my healthy eating plan, but any way you dice it, this was a splurge evening.  And that’s fine.  Part of a healthy lifestyle is learning to incorporate a night out like this into your diet.  The trick is keeping the splurge time-limited and not letting it become the weekend o’ food.  I’m doing pretty well with that, so this weekend should go okay.

All that said, I was a little concerned about this morning’s weigh-in, but I did pretty well with diet and exercise this week, so I still posted a 2.5 pound loss this week!  I was down from 254.0 pounds last week to 251.5 this morning.  I’m now sitting at 49 pounds lost, and I’m about to reach my first really big goal of 50 pounds.  Not to mention, the blazer I wore yesterday was one my parents gave me on my 15th birthday, to wear to my birthday lunch at the Sun Dial of all places.  At 15 years old, I’ll admit the blazer is a little aged.  But it’s a classic jacket that hasn’t gone out of style, and better yet – it FIT!!!!!  So I wore it again yesterday, for the first time in a very long time.  That felt fantastic!

This weekend, I’m going to be cooking my first dinner as part of my new cookbook review series, so be sure to come back next week and see how it went.  For today, I’ll be trying to eat a little lightly after last night’s steak with pommes frites and key lime pie at The Palm, what about you?  What’s on tap for your healthy lifestyle today?  Let’s inspire one another!

  1. March 13, 2010 at 5:38 PM

    Nice loss for the week! I had part of a bag of onion rings last night from The Hat. I feel dirty.

    • March 13, 2010 at 10:07 PM

      LOL, David!

  2. March 14, 2010 at 2:19 PM

    Chad, that’s a great loss for the week, and being able to lose while enjoying a nice meal out is even better!

    Love the french in your post too! 🙂

    • March 14, 2010 at 7:44 PM

      LOL – You’ve now seen just about the extent of my French vocabulary! That, and when I try to croissant properly!

  3. March 14, 2010 at 9:28 PM

    Chad, I think you got the idea about eating out now. as long as you can make up for it somewhere else it is OK to splurge every now and again. And even if you can’t make up for it it’s still OK as long as it’s not a regular thing as that is what got us into the situation in the first place.

    That is funny about the 15 year old blazer. I’m wearing t-shirts that I got as freebies in my freshman year at college as they’re the ones that fit. They’re at a solid 13+ years but I’ll wear them until I’m ready to invest more in some new ones.

    • March 14, 2010 at 9:48 PM

      This Friday night out at The Palm was definitely a splurge. I do think eating out can be built into a routine weekly diet in a healthful way, not including splurge items. It’s harder to do than cooking at home, but it is a necessity for some folks’ schedules.

  4. March 14, 2010 at 11:59 PM

    What was on tap today was a nice ol’ nap at 6pm. I just woke up. It was GREAT.

    You should try making some of my recipes (if you have the ingredients lying around) and do a review of them too! I want people to try them out but unfortunately, they aren’t in a cool book 😦

    But good job on fitting back into the blazer! I’m sure that was a priceless feeling.

    Keep up the good work and thanks for stopping by my blog.

    • March 15, 2010 at 12:03 AM

      I’ll have to give some of your recipes a try, too, Jess! Any specialties in particular that you’d recommend?

  5. March 16, 2010 at 2:19 AM

    Hm, well some of my recipes call for Asian ingredients but I don’t know if you have them. I like the cream cheese alfredo. Kimmi made my chicken and broccoli and she said she loved it (and so did her non-veggie eating hubby). But, I don’t know. I obviously think my food tastes good but to each her own, right?

  6. March 16, 2010 at 10:34 PM

    I’m so behind on blogs…congrats on the loss and blazer!!

    • March 16, 2010 at 10:38 PM

      Thanks, Craig! Hope you had a great time on your vacation!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
