Home > Nutrition > FIFTY FREAKIN' POUNDS!!!!! (And Calorie Counts on Menus…)

FIFTY FREAKIN' POUNDS!!!!! (And Calorie Counts on Menus…)

March 16, 2010

It almost didn’t matter that today sucked in so many ways.  Why did the crazy crap that happened throughout the majority of my day not phase me?  Because as of this morning, I’ve officially lost FIFTY FREAKIN’ POUNDS!!!!!!!!  I was at 249.5 pounds today – having started at 300.5 (and with a highest weight of 306), so I’ve now lost 51 pounds since beginning my journey on October 31, 2009!  Someone could have handed me a rabid fox with an anger problem and a taste for flesh today, and I would have been all, whatevah’ – did I mention I lost FIFTY POUNDS!?!?!?!?!?!  Needless to say, I’ve been flyin’ high.  I even got an unsolicited compliment from a colleague at work today.  Icing.

Tonight, I went out to dinner at Ruby Tuesday, of all places.  I haven’t been there in years, and my memories of Ruby Tuesday are loaded potato skins as a child with stained glass 1970’s lights illuminating their high-calorie, fattening goodness.  At first, I didn’t see anything particularly healthy on their menu, so I broke out the iPhone and saw that they have some choices considered “Smart Eating Choices.”  I asked my server if they had a separate menu with these items, and she actually brought me out a booklet with the nutritional information for the entire menu!  This really impressed me, as so many restaurants refuse to provide any nutritional information, or they only provide it for specific healthier menu options.  By no means was everything on their menu low-cal, low-fat, or otherwise healthy, but at least they’re allowing diners to make informed choices.

They did have a number of fairly low-cal options, including the Chicken Bella that I ordered.  It was a chicken breast with artichoke hearts, mushrooms, and a Parmesan cream sauce for 417 calories.  This included the cream sauce, which I ordered on the side and used less than a teaspoon of total, so I should have come in even less than 417.  The sodium was fairly high, but I’m hoping most of that was from the cream sauce I used sparingly, so I think I came out of the meal okay.  In addition, Ruby Tuesday has a great salad bar with a wonderful selection of vegetables, different beans and other proteins, and a couple of light dressings, so there are definitely healthy options here.   Anyhow, kudos to them – they make dining out very easy, the food was actually really good, and they build trust with their customers be being up front with us.

This whole experience reminded me of the (once highly contested) ordinance in New York City to post calorie counts on menus/menu boards of qualified restaurants (qualified meaning chain restaurants with more than 15 locations and fairly standardized portions).  Even though at least one study has shown that these calorie postings don’t change habits, I strongly believe consumers have the right to information about the nutritional value of what they’re purchasing, at least in larger restaurant chains who can easily afford the expenses associated with these efforts.  NYC’s Department of Health and Mental Hygiene is refreshingly progressive on many public health issues though (despite the anachronistic inclusion of the term “Mental Hygiene” in the agency’s name), and these same efforts wouldn’t fly in some places.  What do you think?  Should restaurants be required to post nutritional information on their menus?

  1. March 16, 2010 at 10:52 PM

    Chad, this is such great news. You’re doing so good, as demonstrated by your Ruby Tuesday choices. Keep it up!!

  2. March 16, 2010 at 10:58 PM

    Um….did you say 50 pounds? HOLY CRAP that is awesome. I bet you were fitting in your booth better or eating closer to the table than before too. What an awesome vistory!!

    And look at you, not even cocky. Not rewarding yourself with a high-calorie meal (like I probably would have) but using your tools at every meal. Bravo, my friend.

    • March 16, 2010 at 11:01 PM

      Thanks, guys! I appreciate it!

  3. March 16, 2010 at 11:05 PM

    Congratulations Chad for reaching such an AWESOME milestone!!! and MAN do I ever remember the taste of those tater skins…Good on you for making great choices!

    Regarding the calorie counts, I would support them. Food companies are required to put nutritional information on packaging, why shouldn’t restaurants have to provide the same information? I’m usually a fan of less regulation, but I do think this would be a beneficial rule to have.

  4. March 16, 2010 at 11:26 PM

    Awesome Job. 50 lbs is great! But not only was it FIFTY FREAKIN’ POUBS but FIFTY ONE!!!!

  5. March 16, 2010 at 11:50 PM

    50 lbs rocks! Woo-hoo!

    I live in NYC and whole-heartedly support the calorie postings and wish it was even more widespread. The day it was implemented, you should have seen how much slower the Starbucks line moved. (“480 calories in THAT?? Uh, um, I’ll have the oatmeal…”)

  6. March 16, 2010 at 11:51 PM

    Congrats on the 50! That is very very cool.

    I love how they’re posting calorie counts. Comes in very handy for my calorie counting self when I order. Normal people seem to ignore it though.

    Mmm potato skins. I would get them instead of an entre at Claim Jumper when I was younger. Like a year ago or so. ha

  7. March 17, 2010 at 12:41 AM

    This is awesome, Chad! What a milestone! I’m so glad I found your blog (or you pointed it out to me…). Your voice is great. “Rabid fox with an anger problem and a taste for flesh” Hilarious!

    You lost 50 pounds!!!!

    I also love how you post lots of interesting info. Good reads. You put a lot of work into this lifestyle, and it sure shows in so many ways.

    • March 17, 2010 at 12:53 AM

      Thanks, beej!

  8. March 17, 2010 at 2:20 AM

    Chad, you rock! Plain and simple.

  9. March 17, 2010 at 8:20 PM

    Awesome Chad! All your hard work is paying off big time.

    I also agree that we should have access to nutritional information. We need to know what we’re eating. I used to eat these delicious Tim Hortons muffins all the time, until I found out they had 400 calories each!!! Now I only eat them as an occasional treat, or I share one with a friend.

  10. March 18, 2010 at 1:58 PM

    Congratulations on the 50 pounds. I am very proud of your work.

    The world is changing around those of us that are choosing to live healthily. I am not sure that we have the rights to nutritional information, but when they know what is important to us, they will provide. I have found many chains being compliant with nutritional information.

    The world is getting better.

  11. Meredith
    March 18, 2010 at 6:28 PM

    Chad, that is EXCELLENT!!! 50 pounds is, like, a 6-year-old worth of weight. You lost a whole kid! Congratulations.
    I’m not ready to say that consumers have a *right* to be advised of the nutritional content of menu choices at restaurants, but I personally would appreciate it. And if I knew about restaurants that provided it, I would probably patronize them more often. Depending on the tastiness of their food, of course.

  1. April 17, 2010 at 10:16 AM
Comments are closed.
