Home > Exercise > I Want a Back Transplant

I Want a Back Transplant

March 17, 2010

Uggghhhhhh!!!!  Not a long post tonight – just a little venting of my frustration with my body.  I did my strength training routine this evening, which has been heavily modified since my back injury a couple of weeks ago, and I finally started to add back some of the verboten exercises (like squats), while others (mainly arm work that involves lifting a 20 pound kettlebell) are still off limits per my trainer’s advice. Everything felt fine, until I got through the second set of everything, and the same muscle in my right lower-back started to knot up and ache that caused me so much of a problem over the past two weeks.  I started my third set of exercises, but I decided to stop short of finishing thanks to the increasing spasms in my back.

This is one of those things where I’m so eager to get back to normal, and my back was finally feeling almost perfect again, but my out-of-shape genetically weak back seems to be conspiring to work against me.  And when my back starts hurting, I don’t screw around.  My dad had to have extensive back surgery in his mid thirties (only a few years older than me), and my mom has degenerative disc disease, so I have a real fear that I could mess myself up beyond all repair if I push too hard.  I used to blame my back pain on my weight, but the more weight I lose, the more I think my back may always be a limiting factor for me when it comes to physical activity and exercise, and dammit, I don’t take kindly to being limited.

Oh well, the crap with my back tonight made me so ill I even came into the kitchen and ended up eating a late night snack (some white cheddar popcorn – not too bad, but 160 calories I didn’t need this late at night).  Typical stress/frustration eating that I used to do much more often.  Aargghhhh…..   I guess nobody said this diet and exercise thing would always be easy.

  1. Cathy
    March 18, 2010 at 4:47 AM

    Arg! That really sucks! I HATE injuries! The motivation is there but the body won’t comply. Hope things get better soon.

  2. March 18, 2010 at 5:56 AM

    Back problems are the worst. I cannot believe how much lifting incorrectly one time could affect my life. It took days to be able to get out of bed easily and without pain again.

    I hope your back gets better soon.

  3. March 18, 2010 at 9:28 AM

    get better.

    Sometimes, especially if you are with a trainer, they can find different types of workout that won’t affect your back.

  4. March 18, 2010 at 10:24 AM

    Oh man. That sucks! Yeah, you seriously don’t want to mess with that. Hope it gets better, Chad.

    And beat yourself up too much over the popcorn!

  5. March 18, 2010 at 1:25 PM

    This is delicate going. I had injured my back moving a big metal-framed couch when I was 21 and overweight. My doctor told me to start jogging, believe it or not. As it turned out it did strengthen my back.

    You may need to back off on the weight that you lift. Remember that it is the diet that will take the fat off and the exercise is in a supporting role.

    Be nice to yourself,

  6. March 18, 2010 at 5:00 PM

    Bugger! I hope it recovers soon.

  7. Meredith
    March 18, 2010 at 6:33 PM

    Yeesh, that’s frustrating. Especially since there’s nothing you can do about it but wait. Wait and apply liberal amounts of Tiger Balm. Swimming might be a good alternative exercise, if your gym has a pool.

    • March 18, 2010 at 9:40 PM

      Thanks for the encouragement everyone! I’m hoping this goes away quickly. I’m still good to do cardio – just having to modify my strength training some.

  8. Jay
    March 18, 2010 at 11:44 PM

    Whenever I have a injury… I like to push things too.. and see what I can do. But the second I start feeling pain.. I stop what I’m doing and try something else.

    It’s good you stopped.. you need to rest up and heal.

    Hopefully as the more weight you lose the less likely you’ll have serious back problems.

    I hope you don’t.

    good luck,

  9. Twice the Man
    March 19, 2010 at 11:24 AM

    Keep at it wisely and you will recover soon

  10. March 19, 2010 at 3:15 PM

    What a real bummer. I really feel for you and can relate to some of what you’re feeling. (bicep injury last Oct) I’m glad you’re listening to your body though and not pushing more than you know you should. I really hope the paid subsides and you can get back to ‘normal’.

  11. March 21, 2010 at 8:58 PM

    I’ve had a number of back issues over the years, ever since high school. One thing I will say though, this year I’ve been doing a lot of Circuit Training and there is a fair amount of core work in it. I can honestly say I haven’t had any back issues this year which is a huge record (knock on wood).

    I suggest trying out some circuits with a good core mix when you get to 100%. I personally use some Biggest Loser DVD’s and Jillian Michaels DVDs but there are tons of options out there. Until then just take it easy and only do what you can.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
