Home > General > Weekly Weigh In – Breaking Records

Weekly Weigh In – Breaking Records

March 20, 2010

This morning I stepped on the scales, proud of the fact I’d broken fifty pounds lost and was sitting below 250 pounds for the first time since I can remember. I was hoping I may have dropped another half pound or so since I broke 250 on Wednesday, but that wasn’t the case – I was still at 249.5 pounds. Which is totally okay, two pounds down from last Saturday, and 51 pounds total lost know!

But in my quest to shave as much weight as possible off of my “official” Saturday numbers that I record and report to my nutritionist, I decided I’d walk around a bit, get moving, and come back to the scale to see if I couldn’t drop a little more before I broke down and ate breakfast. Senseless, I know, but how my aching to become skinny self operates sometimes. So I got dressed, went downstairs, milled around for a while, played with the dog, then came back up to the scales. And…

up half a pound to 250!!! So I then proceeded to step on and off the scale a few times, until I – get this – heard a loud pop and cracked the plastic housing on the scales!!!!! So instead of breaking through the record weight loss I’ve already achieved, the only thing I managed to break was the scale! Fifty pounds ago, this would have mortified me. Something akin to being afraid the exercise ball was going to burst on my first visit to my trainer. But knowing that the damn thing held my weight just fine when I was over 300, I knew for sure it wasn’t my weight, but likely my ridiculousness in stepping on and off the scales like I was in a step aerobics class. Guess someone was trying to teach me something with that one. Only thing about it that has me concerned is that the new scales I buy might weigh me higher than these (the HORROR!). We’ll see what happens!

So I had a healthy breakfast and healthy lunch, and I’ve given myself the rest of the day “off” from being too particular about my food intake today or recording it in my journal. I haven’t consciously taken a day off like that since the holidays, so I figure I’m due. I have a banquet to attend tonight for work, and I also had some Keebler grasshopper cookies in the pantry that I’ve been strictly limiting my portions on, but I wanted a few of this afternoon (meaning like 8 or 9 instead of my allotted four, which would have fit as my 150 calorie treat for the day, but would have precluded dessert at tonight’s banquet) so I let myself have them, and I’m going to enjoy tonight’s banquet, and I’m not going to feel the least bit guilty as I get back on my plan tomorrow.

Oh – and it’s beautiful here in Atlanta!!! Finally! It’s been a long, snowy winter, but today it’s in the seventies and spectacular outside. So I’m planning to get outside for some cardio, followed by a session on the Wii Fit, so I should get almost a double cardio workout today.

Hope your weekend is going well, too. What’s on the docket for you this weekend?

  1. March 20, 2010 at 3:53 PM

    Hi Chad! I hate to admit, I’ve tried that before – and I always weigh more so I stopped doing it! No matter what, I always weigh the least right when I get up. Even if I haven’t eaten anything, I still weigh more an hour later. Weird!

    This weekend I am feeling down so I think I’ll go outside and get some fresh air to cheer me up! Enjoy your weekend!

  2. March 20, 2010 at 4:35 PM

    I totally would have done the same thing! Congratulations on breaking 50 pounds lost. You should be so proud of yourself!

  3. March 20, 2010 at 5:18 PM

    Chad! 50 pounds…so great. I’m sorry but i LOL’d about your scales. I was picturing it and the image was so funny! Such a great story. This needs to go in the journal that Jeremy is working on! 🙂
    Think of how funny it will be after the next 50 pounds! 🙂

    I just did a 4 mile cardio walk (with a tad bit of jogging–very little!) in the park. The weather is just amazing here today, but storms are coming tonight. Wah waaaaaaaah. Enjoyed it today, though!!!

    Have fun @ your banquet!

  4. March 20, 2010 at 7:22 PM

    That would have been horrifying if it would have happened the first time you stood on it.

    Great job again on the 50+ pounds lost — awesome!

  5. March 20, 2010 at 9:46 PM

    Man, your story made me laugh so much! Gotta get a new scale, then, huh? Glad you’re taking a day off–I should soon. 🙂

  6. March 21, 2010 at 11:07 AM

    Hope you never cross that 250 mark ever again and that below 240 comes to you for Spring

  7. March 21, 2010 at 11:29 AM

    Excuse me for laughing but I think that is hilarious. Did you jump on the scale to make the numbers go down?

    Getting feisty is good, that’s passion. You’re a happening guy Chad

  8. March 21, 2010 at 12:10 PM

    That’s a great excuse to get a fancy scale!

  9. March 21, 2010 at 3:03 PM

    LOL. Chad, I laughed at the scale cracking. That’s a sign saying STOP STEPPING ON ME 50 TIMES IN A ROW. I AIN’T LYING!

    Thanks for the positive encouragement on my post. I forget sometimes that my body needs a break from losing weight too. It needs to build muscle. Maybe we’re building muscle 🙂

    As for food photography, what I really recommend is getting a DSLR, unless you’re REALLY good at using point and shoots. A DSLR just gives you more control with lighting. I also don’t shoot in jpg and post-process in Photoshop/Lightroom. If you get a chance to take pictures of your food during the day, bring it outside. Outside lighting is the best (I think most natural).

    Another good tip is to plate your food. You didn’t spend ALL that time making your chicken noodle to have it look like a blob 🙂 Be proud of your food and present it. Make it look like $100 dollar meal.

  10. Jay
    March 21, 2010 at 6:23 PM

    Nice job on your 51 pounds lost! I’m only at 43 pounds since I started my blog. :p

    I just want to lose around 30 more pounds and then I can maintain. 🙂

    That’ll be at least 3 months at the rate I’m going.

  11. March 21, 2010 at 8:55 PM

    Congrats on losing 50, that’s awesome. You gotta stop doing squats on the scale man 😉

    lol … J/K … The scale isn’t my friend either. I haven’t broke one in a while but the only scale I weigh in on now days is a Dr’s scale that can weigh in up to 450 pounds, not that I need that much room any more.

  12. March 22, 2010 at 4:57 PM

    I weigh myself several times a day in hopes of seeing smaller and smaller numbers then I get all bummed out when the number keeps on climbing.

    But I can guarantee that an hour of running will make me lose 2lbs of sweat so I see my biggest losses and smallest numbers right after my runs.

    I bought a brand new scale at the beginning of my transformation because I didn’t want to go through the “oh this new scale might show that I weigh more” in the middle of the progress.

  13. Erin
    March 23, 2010 at 4:00 PM

    I’ve done this before! I always weigh first thing in the morning, after a potty run and a hot shower, of course! I can have one slice of toast and the scale gets higher every time I step on! (I may or may not know that from experience…)

  1. March 27, 2010 at 3:45 PM
Comments are closed.
