Home > Nutrition > Nutrition Monday: Review of Jamie Oliver's Food Revolution

Nutrition Monday: Review of Jamie Oliver's Food Revolution

March 22, 2010

One rather unexpected, yet extremely positive, side effect of my efforts to reconstruct my life, and particularly my health, at thirty, has been a passion that I’m developing for promoting healthier eating and living, particularly among the nation’s youth.  As a nation, we’ve got to stop ignoring food as a major contributor to our health outcomes, and realize that we really are what we eat!  Trash in, trash out.  It seems that a groundswell is building to begin seriously taking on these problems in a meaningful way.  Just a few weeks ago, we learned that First Lady Michelle Obama was making childhood obesity a keystone platform of her tenure.  This week, we received what is truly a National Nutrition Month® gift from celebrity chef Jamie Oliver and Ryan Seacrest Productions – the ABC series Food Revolution.

I truly want you to watch this show.  Truly.  ABC has put the first episode on Hulu, and I’ve embedded a link to the hulu video below (this video totally belongs to ABC, Ryan Seacrest Productions, Hulu, etc., and is totally here at their mercy.  I’m just embedding the Hulu version here pursuant to what Hulu allows in terms of sharing because I think this show is incredible, and I want you to watch it on ABC, visit the show’s various websites, and support this amazing program so it sticks around!).

Jamie’s passion, compassion, and genuine concern is so evident in this program.  He doesn’t think obese people are ignorant, stupid, or dumb.  He truly understands that we have to change our culture to change our collective eating habits, and our individual lives.  He’s beginning in Huntington, West Virginia, where he’s taking on families, restaurants, and perhaps most importantly (and entertainingly), a school cafeteria, where he uncovers the bureaucratic struggles that go into transforming school lunches in the United States, and the need to update our nutritional standards and norms. You can also sign a petition that Jamie is pulling together as part of his efforts to take these issues to the President and First Lady for support by clicking on this link.

Kudos to Jamie, who is the star of the show, but also to producer Ryan Seacrest and Ryan Seacrest Productions, for having the courage to take on these issues.  In the random ramblings category, Ryan Seacrest grew up only a few miles from me in the northern suburbs of Atlanta, and the local press has shown more than a few pictures of him as an overweight teenager.  I guess that’s part of why I personally have always found him pretty easy to relate to, and I’m very proud to see a formerly overweight kid from my part of the world doing well career-wise and making efforts to address our growing crisis of obesity.  There was a sneak peek of the first episode last night (but it was interrupted by an ABC News Special Report on the passage of the Health Care Reform Bill here in the east), and it slides into its regular Friday evening time slot on ABC later this week.  Hope you enjoy!

  1. March 22, 2010 at 10:31 PM

    I found your blog through twitter and I really like what you are doing! Props to getting healthy..its honestly never too late. I’m so passionate about this show as well, its amazing to see what an impact its had already! Anyways i just wanted to say your blog seems awesome, feel free to check out mine as well! and good luck on your quest 🙂

    Sarah

    • March 22, 2010 at 11:03 PM

      Thanks, Sarah! I just checked your blog out – looks great! Thanks for stopping by here, too.

  2. March 23, 2010 at 5:06 AM

    Chad, thanks for the great recommendation. My TiVo is all set to record it. It sounds like a great show.

  3. March 23, 2010 at 10:21 AM

    Man, you’re the THIRD person to recommend this! I’m guessing I really have to watch it, huh? I guess it’ll be added to my TiVo!

  4. March 23, 2010 at 2:24 PM

    I just left Cynthia’s blog It All Changes where she talked about this too! I’ve got to see it.

  5. Erin
    March 23, 2010 at 3:58 PM

    Thanks for posting this, Chad! I have heard about it through various people, but I don’t watch much TV. I catch most of “my shows” on Hulu. I’m excited to view this, and Jamie’s pretty easy on the eyes, so that’s even better! Totally kidding! 🙂

  6. March 23, 2010 at 5:21 PM

    I get a message saying that I’m not in the US so it won’t let me watch it!!! 😦

    • March 23, 2010 at 5:27 PM

      Oh no – sorry, Carla!!! I had heard that Hulu is kind of strict with some of their programs – I guess this is one of them! I wonder if it’s airing in Canada on television?

  7. March 24, 2010 at 5:49 AM

    I think it’s great that you’re even focused on educating others and that this weight loss process isn’t just about ourselves but to help others too.

    I took a class “Art as a Social Action” and part of the class was focused on slow foods, particularly cooking our own meals and growing our own produce and limiting our waste. It was a really great class and I wish they would’ve had that when I was in HIGH SCHOOL and not college.

    By the way, how’d you like law school? I started the first semester, decided to defer, so here I am, heading back in August.

  8. March 24, 2010 at 9:03 AM

    I’m with Carla 😦 but I’m sure I can find the video somewhere else online if I look. I remember watching the show he had in Britain when he tackled British school cafeterias, and it was pretty good and totally scary what is acceptable to feed children, so I’m sure this one will be at least as good. I like his approach to healthy eating, and that it must start with children and families if it is to catch on.
    Thanks for posting this!

    • March 24, 2010 at 10:36 AM

      Try CTV’s website! I believe they’re the Canadian home of the show.

  9. Meredith
    March 24, 2010 at 4:09 PM

    We stream television at home, so I had not heard of this show. Thanks for the review post; I will definitely check it out on Hulu. It sounds interesting and educational, and – who knows? – maybe even a little scandalous, considering school cafeteria meals.

  10. May 6, 2010 at 1:42 PM

    Jamie just seems like a good egg. And he showed up in my dream last night …
    http://eyechai.wordpress.com/2010/05/05/i-dream-of-jamie-hill/

  1. March 29, 2010 at 10:33 PM
Comments are closed.
