Home > General > Karma: I Hate You…

Karma: I Hate You…

March 25, 2010

Soooo…..  I’ve been kind of sick this week.  It’s not something I’ll be blogging about in detail (trust me – I’ll spare you), except to say, remember the post where I wrote about being kicked out of the ER for laughing at my dad’s rather humorous problem?  Well apparently it’s freakin’ genetic.  And painful as hell.  Crap.

I’ve been recovering, and I’m finally feeling almost up to snuff again after a few days laying low, but the doc has me off of exercise, both cardio and strength training, until I’m pain free.  I’m hopeful that will be this weekend, but I just have to wait and see.  Anyhow, right after my two consecutive back injuries greatly reduced my strength training routine, this really isn’t what I wanted to hear.  But I’ve been a good little patient, and I’ve avoided the Wii Fit, the treadmill, and the weights.  I never would have guessed a few months ago when I added exercise and a personal trainer into my lifestyle change that I’d get mad if I weren’t able to use them!   And reading about all of my fellow bloggers participating in various challenges this week is making it worse – I’m dying to sweat my @$$ off with some cardio along with you guys!!!

In other karma news, I wrote last weekend about my scale that cracked in protest as I stepped on and off repeatedly in a futile attempt to foot it into submission and shave a fraction of a pound off my weight.  Well, I bought new scales to replace the others, and they weigh me 7.5 pounds higher than my old ones!!!  Which puts me firmly back in the 250’s!!!  Crap, again.  Of course that doesn’t negate the fifty plus pounds I’ve lost, and I’ll get used to the new numbers, but man was that an unwelcome surprise when my toes clutched the new scale!

In good news, my nutrition has been spot on this week!  I’ll be surprised if I don’t post a loss on Saturday (adjusted for the new evil scales, of course).  I also cooked another fantastic recipe from Ellie Krieger’s The Food You Crave tonight – a cornmeal crusted roasted ratatouille tart to go with my leftover meatloaf from last night.  I reviewed this cookbook yesterday, and it really is amazing!  I highly recommend it if you’re looking for good, clean, healthy food.

How are you all doing as we approach the weekend?  I know some of you are doing Jess‘ plank challenge, and others are doing the C25K – hope they’re both coming along well!

  1. March 25, 2010 at 9:18 PM

    I hope you feel better soon and can get back in action!!!

  2. March 25, 2010 at 9:39 PM

    Hey Chad…I hope you’re feeling better. You’ve got me intrigued and kinda worried at what’s wrong with you. You’re in my thoughts and I hope you’re back to sweating with us soon 🙂

    Jess and her planks are evil, so you picked a great week to be sick. Just kidding Jess…I love you!
    C25K is going great–day 3 is tomorrow! (crosses fingers)

    This cookbook you talk about sounds so good. I might have to check it out. By the way: I’m on my new goal of 250 miles (which is 150 added to the 100 i did in Perfect Ten)…so when I hit it, ya know what my reward is? ATLANTA TRIP!! booyah! Hope to get to meet you! (that sounded kinda stalkery, sorraaay.)

    • March 25, 2010 at 9:54 PM

      Thanks for the well wishes, guys. I’m almost back to normal! Nothing to be worried about – I’ll live! Good luck with the challenges and your 250 miles, Craig! Atlanta’s a great reward! My next mini-reward will be when I go below 250 on my new scales, which will be about the same as low 240’s on my old ones. I’m going to spring for a massage at a resort just outside the city! Can’t wait!

  3. March 26, 2010 at 12:44 AM

    Yeah, Chad, I really hope you feel better soon. But great job with the eating!

  4. Jay
    March 26, 2010 at 11:36 AM

    You just keep breaking down don’t you? I hope you feel better soon though. 🙂

    This weekend is some time off I think. I have been to the gym all week, and now I just want to rest a day or two. I may head to the mall, do some yard work, clean a car or two but overall I want to take it easy. You should too.

    Talk later,

    • March 26, 2010 at 12:03 PM

      Thanks, Jay! March hasn’t been a banner month for me health-wise. Looking forward to April! Have a good weekend.

  5. March 26, 2010 at 12:55 PM

    That’ll teach you to laugh at your old man! Get well soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
