Home > General > Weekly Weigh In: Back in the Groove!

Weekly Weigh In: Back in the Groove!

March 27, 2010

Today was my weekly weigh in, and after last week, there was no pleading with the scale to shave off an extra ounce or two.  Just one step on the scale, and one step off.  (Okay, TWO, but you gotta double-check once, right???)  Since I had to replace my scales, the weights are a little different, so it’s hard to know exactly what I lost this week, but it’s right at 1 pound, I believe.  When my scales broke last Saturday, I had weighed in at 249.5 pounds.  The new scales weigh me about 7.5 pounds heavier than the old ones as best I can figure  (BAHHHHH…).  This morning I was at 256.0 on the new scales, so about 248.5 on the old ones, or one pound down, for a total loss of 52 pounds now!!!  I’m very happy to continue losing, even if I have to readjust to the readings on the new scale.  From here on out, I’ll just report the new scale numbers, along with my total weight lost.

Not only do I have my new scales, but I’m back in the groove with exercise, too.  My pain is gone, and I went for a 2.5 mile walk in the park with a friend this morning.  It was a fairly leisurely walk, but it felt so great to get outside and MOVE on a beautiful spring day after being restricted by the doc for the past week!  This afternoon I’m planning to burn some more serious calories, either on the treadmill or with some Wii Fit boxing.  I’m even contemplating signing up for a 5K…  It’s on April 24 – that should be long enough to go from moderately active on the treadmill to completing a 5K race, right?  Let me know what you think.  I’ve e-mailed my trainer, too, and I’ll follow her advice, but it seems doable (unless I’m totally naive)!

Thanks to all of you for your support with my recent health issues!  From my first back injury, to my exercise prohibition this past week, you’ve kept me inspired and upbeat, so thank you!  And I hope you’ll be on the lookout next week for my third healthy cookbook review, of Devin Alexander’s I Can’t Believe It’s Not Fattening! The first two healthy cookbook reviews of Rocco Dispirito’s Now Eat This! and Ellie Krieger’s The Food You Crave have been very well-received and I’ve enjoyed writing (and researching!) them, so I’m thinking of selecting a few more healthy cookbooks to review when this first series is complete.  I have a couple in mind, but I’d love to have your suggestions, too!  Let me know in the comments if there’s a healthy cookbook you think I should review.

Have a great weekend!

  1. March 27, 2010 at 3:39 PM

    Congrats on the loss but more importantly, on getting back into the groove! yeeeah!

    I’m doing my first 5K on April 17th! I have no delusions of running it, my goal is to do as much jogging as possible. 🙂

    When is the deadline to sign up? You could see how your body is doing in a few weeks and make the decision so you wouldn’t be wasting any money if you aren’t feeling up to it just yet.

  2. March 27, 2010 at 3:54 PM

    That’s awesome that you are back in action!!! And congrats on the loss this week.

  3. March 27, 2010 at 6:58 PM

    New here and excited to have found you 🙂
    Great job on the weigh tloss you are doing fantastic! Darn scales wish they could be the same it has to be a little frustrating.
    The 5k…DO IT! You will find it is alot easier than you think and it makes you feel oh so good 🙂

    • March 27, 2010 at 9:15 PM

      Thanks, Shannon! Glad you stopped by; I’ll have to check out your blog, too.

  4. Kat
    March 28, 2010 at 3:48 AM

    Congratulations on your weight loss. You are doing great. I love feeling in the groove…:-) I started training for the c25k and need to schedule a race now. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

  5. March 28, 2010 at 9:20 AM

    You might be inspiring me to get in shape. My treadmill keeps giving me dirty looks these days.

  6. March 28, 2010 at 9:24 AM

    Are you thinking about the Earth run at Piedmont? I could do that, although I’m sure I wouldn’t be able to keep up with you!

  7. Erin
    March 29, 2010 at 11:12 AM

    April 24th? Definitely doable! Go Chad!

  8. Julia
    April 7, 2010 at 12:05 PM

    Having a set goal, such as completing a 5K is a very useful way to keep motivated.

    In my case race-walking actually takes more mental focus than jogging. Just remember that although you are a young man, don’t overdo it and risk an injury.

    Be conservative, but consistent in your physical training for the 5K. Just today, I have reached one of my goals my BMI is just under 30! I’m no longer obese (just extremenly overweight). I know they say that exercise makes some people hungry and they over eat – but I find exercise a necessary component, because its not just about the weight, but about being in better health as well.

    Stick with it!

    • April 7, 2010 at 1:09 PM

      Congratulations, Julia, on reaching your goal of <30 BMI!!!!!! That's amazing! I just was looking at a map of the 5K route and had a moment of panic – that's a lot farther than 3 miles feels like on my treadmill, but I'll do it – no turning back now!

  1. March 28, 2010 at 12:59 PM
Comments are closed.
