Home > Exercise > My First 5K! (Or…How I Gave Myself a Sleepless Night)

My First 5K! (Or…How I Gave Myself a Sleepless Night)

March 28, 2010

As I mentioned yesterday, I went for a walk with a friend to get out and enjoy the beautiful spring day, catch up with her, and get myself back in the exercise mindset after a difficult week.  While we were on the walk, she mentioned a 5K race that was coming up in a couple of weeks, and she wondered if I’d like to do it.  It’s on April 17, and seeing that date, not even a month away, made me think pretty hard about that one.

I’ve been thinking it would be great to sign up for a short race for quite a while now, and her suggestion sent me into action.  April 17 seemed a little too soon since I’m just getting back in my exercise groove after a few health issues, so I did a search for 5K’s in my area, and I actually found one a week later (on April 24) that supports a cause I’m really passionate about, providing clean water in the developing world, so I signed up!  Here’s a video about the Water for the World Run:

Water for the World Run 2010 from Don Felice on Vimeo.

I know it’s only a week more to prepare, but there’s something about having a month that feels better to me than just having a few weeks.  I want to be able to run a fairly significant portion of the race, and I’m not sure I could do that by April 17 without pushing myself really hard, possibly too hard, leading up to it.  After signing up for the race last night, I had a very fitful, restless night’s sleep.  I dreamed much more than usual, and I’m pretty sure a few of the dreams involved running like hell to a) avoid being trampled by the people shooting out of the starting gate like little rockets in the video, and b) to not make a fool of myself by crawling across the finish line as cars were blowing their horns waiting for the road to be reopened to traffic.

I also want the race to be a real motivator for me, and I think doing it for charity will keep me a lot more motivated than just doing it for myself.  I’ve set a goal to raise $500 in support of the charities support by the run, and every little bit helps!  Just think if everyone who could give five dollars did, we’d raise a ton more money towards bringing clean water to developing countries than if we only depended on those who could give larger amounts.  And contaminated water is the #1 cause of death in the developing world, so it’s a problem that needs our attention desperately!  Personally, it will also keep me much more motivated to stick to my training program and finish this race knowing that you’re all behind me, financially if you’re able, and in moral support and cheerleading.  If you are interested in donating, you can click here to visit my fund raising page for the race.

Have a fantastic Palm Sunday!

  1. March 28, 2010 at 1:28 PM

    Good stuff! I’ll encourage you if you encourage me! We can do this! All I wanna do is not finish last and be able to jog some (hopefully a good bit) of it!

    • March 28, 2010 at 1:34 PM

      You got it! We can absolutely do this! A 5K is not a long race, we’ve done it on our treadmills plenty of times. I’m convinced it’s mainly a mind game for me as the kid who hated running and P.E. not being totally comfortable/confident with the idea of doing one of these in public. But I know I can! And yea – I don’t want to finish last either.

  2. March 28, 2010 at 2:41 PM

    YAY! Your race is 2 weeks after mine and a month before my 10K so I’ll be on your butt about training and keeping it up! You can TOTALLY do it. And running “most of it”. Pft, you’ll be able to run all of it. I know it. You can do it!

    And I think that cause is great. There’s so many gross diseases people get from contaminated water.

    By the way, I watched Food Rev. It’s amazing. Jamie has so much heart, it’s unbelievable.

  3. March 28, 2010 at 4:18 PM

    Good luck on the training, you can do it! Now I have to get off my butt and find one near me like I’ve been waxing on about for a while now. Keep us updated on how your train for it so I can pick up some pointers 😉

  4. March 28, 2010 at 9:31 PM

    You can do it! Do not worry a month is plenty of time and it sounds like you kinda do it anyway in working out. Now you will just be a little more official 🙂
    Have faith and believe in yourself! I believe in YOU! And I know I am not the only one 😉

    • March 28, 2010 at 10:09 PM

      Thanks for all the encouragement everyone! Jess, your’s is right around the corner – we can be each other’s trainers!

  5. March 29, 2010 at 10:34 AM

    I can’t believe you think that 5K is a short race. UGH! Good luck anyway, though. I admire you reaching for it!

  6. March 29, 2010 at 10:50 AM

    Chad – Keep up the great work. You got this 5k! I’m suppose to have one on May 8th (i think that’s the date). I hope I’ll be able to do it. I have a month to work my ankle up to it.

  7. March 29, 2010 at 12:35 PM

    Great call Chad. You’ll have a blast!

  8. March 29, 2010 at 12:46 PM

    Good for you for taking on an aggressive short term challenge! That will be a good one. In cross country in high school we would run that distance for races, and we would train by running longer. I could never run the whole thing even back then, but I could today if I jogged it. I imagine the adult ones would be less aggressive. I laughed when you said they would reopen street traffic before your finished — haha! One of these days I’ll take on an event. Happy training! 🙂

  9. March 29, 2010 at 3:26 PM

    You absolutely can do this! Every time I do a 5K I’m so glad because it really focuses my running/training efforts.

  10. March 29, 2010 at 5:17 PM

    You’ll enjoy it! There will be a whole lot of people faster than you and a whole lot of people slower than you. Just enjoy the ride, you only get to race your first 5K once! Good luck with your charity event!

  11. March 29, 2010 at 9:26 PM

    Hey Chad that’s really great that you are going to do a 5K! Good luck! I myself am too scared to try anything like that…so let us know how it goes!

  12. Kat
    March 30, 2010 at 1:33 AM

    This is great. I know you can do it. Have you thought about signing up at dailymile.com? Many of us are over there and I love the support.
    Good luck! I am looking forward to cheering you on.

  13. April 1, 2010 at 8:29 PM

    Awesome goal – 5k’s are FUN! I’ve been on my own reconstruction journey, and have lost 33 lbs so far and gained fitness. Your blog keeps me motivated! Keep it up – you should be proud of your accomplishments!

    • April 1, 2010 at 11:27 PM

      Wow – 33 pounds is great!!! Congrats, Christa!!! Keep up the great work, and glad you enjoy my blog!

  1. April 3, 2010 at 12:09 PM
  2. April 8, 2010 at 10:29 PM
  3. April 21, 2010 at 10:25 PM
Comments are closed.
