Home > Nutrition > Nutrition Monday: A Call to Action

Nutrition Monday: A Call to Action

March 29, 2010


I'm Blogging National Nutrition Month

In honor of National Nutrition Month®, I’ve been devoting my Mondays in March to blogging on different nutrition topics.  For me, nutrition was the starting point of my reconstruction, and it remains the keystone of my efforts, joined in recent months by exercise.  These Nutrition Mondays have helped me personally refocus on nutrition, and I’ve enjoyed them so much that I’ve decided to make them a permanent (until I change my mind!) part of this blog!  So get ready for many more Nutrition Mondays to come.  There’s plenty for us to talk about, and if you have suggestions for a Nutrition Monday topic, send them my way!

This week, as 2010’s National Nutrition Month® comes to a close, I want to focus on a few policy and advocacy efforts where we can all make a difference as we attempt to change nutrition in this country!  I’m totally drinking Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution kool-aid (though I don’t think that stuff’s part of the Food Revolution…).  Here are three ways you can be a part of the change:

1)  Mainly as an update, I blogged a while back on calorie counts on menus and the NYC statute that requires them of chain restaurants.  At the time, I didn’t realize that the Health Care Reform legislation that just passed the House and Senate and was signed by President Obama includes a very similar provision.  So get ready, calorie counts are coming to chain restaurants across the United States, though it could take a few years!  Also, the Food and Drug Administration is charged with coming up with the regulations that will govern this initiative, so as they begin that, be sure to make your voice heard on aspects that you feel strongly about (can we say readable font sizes?).

2)  The Child Nutrition Act is the federal legislation that sets standards for and funds the nation’s school lunch programs, and it has to be reauthorized every five years.  Guess what?  It’s up for re-authorization this year.   You can learn more about the process by reading this New York Times article, and you can learn specific ways to advocate with your members of Congress by visiting the website of the Healthy Schools Campaign.  It is so important to give the next generation the best foundation in nutrition possible, so take some time to learn more about this important Act.

3)  I was serious earlier when I mentioned that I am totally hooked on Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution!  Not just the television program, but the whole concept that we have to change our culture when it come to food.  Jamie is planning to lobby the government in D.C. himself, and he’s got a petition that you can sign on-line to add some support to his pleas.  Click here to read and sign Jamie’s petition.

That’s all for this week’s Nutrition Monday – have a great week!

  1. March 29, 2010 at 10:50 PM

    When is he going to be in DC? If he’s there when I move back, I’m going to see if he needs help. I totally support the idea that we have nutrition classes for our youth, and I think a lot of healthy living has to start from us and the older generation. Kids learn a lot of habits (eating ones) from their parents. Granted my parents are both really thin, but they spoiled me rotten when it came to not portion controlling anything. So not only do we have to educate children, we have to educate parents. I love Jamie’s show. I always watch it at the gym and for some reason, it always motivates me to run longer.

    • March 29, 2010 at 11:21 PM

      I’m not sure exactly when he’s going. I read somewhere that he’s going to deliver the petition to the Obamas – so I’m assuming there will be some event and publicity around it. Maybe it will be on his website. It’s really great if you haven’t checked it out yet – http://www.jamieoliver.com

  2. March 29, 2010 at 11:37 PM

    You may be hooked on Jamie Oliver’s stuff, but I’m still loving your blog. Totally Awesome. Seriously!

    I’m off to sign his petition!

    • March 29, 2010 at 11:39 PM

      Thanks, beej!

  3. March 30, 2010 at 12:07 AM

    I’m going to have to say that you always have some quality information. A lot of blogs, including mine, are random and jump from thing to thing but this one always has something to take away.

    • March 30, 2010 at 12:17 AM

      Thanks, Seth! I appreciate it!

  4. Kat
    March 30, 2010 at 1:30 AM

    Great post Chad! I have been meaning to sign the petition, even tweeted about it. But just signed it after reading your post. Looking forward to more Nutrition Monday posts. I am really working on getting more consistent with my nutrition right now.

  5. March 30, 2010 at 10:36 AM

    I love this! You pointed out the things that I have the biggest issues with. School lunch being #1 by far. It blows me away to hear what my kids tell me about their lunch. The grease and the fried stuff and the just fattening, fattening items they serve.
    An overhaul is much needed!
    I wonder how many people will be ordering the 1500 calorie items at restaurants once they realize exactly what they are eating. Hmm…
    You have to give kudos to places like Applebees who are ahead of that game!
    great post 🙂

  6. March 30, 2010 at 12:29 PM

    Chad,

    I am thinking that we are all moving in the right direction for health and feeling good. I believe that the nutritional information available is great. I flew United to LA this weekend and was surprised that there was not nutritional information on the food that I WAS BUYING!

    I chose the chicken thai wrap which was nearly tasty, but I have no idea how many calories were in that sucker.

  7. Erin
    March 30, 2010 at 4:18 PM

    Chad, thanks for lighting the fire under my butt with Jamie Oliver – as I think I mentioned, I’d briefly heard of it but I wasn’t too familiar with him. Now, I’m hooked. I’m telling everyone I know to go sign the petition, watch the show. I’ve sent the Hulu links out to everyone I know. People finally are starting to understand why I send a sack lunch to school with my son every day!!!

  8. March 30, 2010 at 7:45 PM

    Wonderful post! I still haven’t seen that show but I must! What a great thing to sign the petition – I’m off to do it right now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
