Home > General > A Surprising Gain…

A Surprising Gain…

March 30, 2010

Just a short post tonight, but something I had to share.  I had a doctor’s appointment today, and I had a surprising gain…in height!!!  I’ve been 5’10” for years, and today, I was 5’11”  (well – 5’10” and three/quarters – but the nurse said 5’11” dammit)!!!  It really doesn’t surprise me.

When I was over 300 pounds, I was literally weighted down, and I know I kind of slouched and probably had compressed my poor, aching spine with all that fat.  I even mentioned to my mom the other day that I felt taller recently when I’d reach for something on a high shelf, or when I was sitting at my desk at work or in my car.  So I don’t know if there’s scientific evidence for this or not, but I think as I’m losing weight I’m gaining height!  I’ll take that trade!  Good night, all.

NEXT: The Healthy Cookbook Reviews Continue with my review of Devin Alexander’s I Can’t Believe It’s Not Fattening!

  1. March 30, 2010 at 10:44 PM

    Sounds great to me! Wish I could grow I can’t reach anything!!

  2. March 30, 2010 at 10:45 PM

    Awww….for the longest time I thought I was 5’10″…and I recently found out I’m only 5’9.5″

    Way to rub it in! Booo!!!!!

    Seriously though, thats pretty awesome! Stand tall!

    • March 30, 2010 at 11:13 PM

      5’9.5″ counts as 5’10” Heck my dad has shrunk to 5’7″ and still claims he’s 5’11”!!! 🙂 (Sorry, Dad…)

  3. March 31, 2010 at 3:23 AM

    What the eff. I want to grow an inch! Not fair. That’s awesome though! See all that stress you took away from your spine? It straightened out an entire INCH. That’s amazing.

    High five!

  4. March 31, 2010 at 7:43 AM

    Rounding it up is SO legal…

  5. March 31, 2010 at 10:28 AM

    That’s great Chad–you immediately decreased your BMI. Ha!!

  6. March 31, 2010 at 11:17 AM

    Dang! That’s what I need! maybe I’ll check later tonight if i’ve grown..my wife did ask me yesterday why I seemed taller.

  7. March 31, 2010 at 11:40 AM

    I say rounding up is a requirement. Although at 5, 2″ there’s only so much rounding up I can do.

  8. Erin
    March 31, 2010 at 12:16 PM

    Your spine can most certainly compress due to excess weight, stress, and misalignment. I work for a chiropractor on the side, and when I first started seeking treatment, I was 5’5 1/2″. Now that my spine is well adjusted and I’m healthier, I’m standing at 5’7″!!! “Stand tall and don’t slouch,” I guess mother really did know best! 🙂

    • March 31, 2010 at 12:56 PM

      Oh wow! I may hit 6′ tall yet! (Though a little necessary rounding may be required).

  9. Jay
    March 31, 2010 at 2:31 PM

    Every time I go to my mom’s house she says I’m getting taller… my brother says the same thing.

    I think it’s just I’m getting skinnier so it just looks that way.. but it could be something else.

    I dunno.

  10. March 31, 2010 at 4:03 PM

    That’s great! I’m 5’9.5″ if I slouch but if I stand up really straight I can count 5’10”!

  11. March 31, 2010 at 6:07 PM

    THAT IS UNREAL!! The same thing happened to me not long ago. Honestly, I thought that the nurse had made a mistake, so I just kinda blew it off.

    I will have to go back and check that. Interesting…. I have NEVER thought about this before… I mean, the possibility of not being so “compressed” when you weigh less.

    Thanks-

    Enjoy the blog!!

    WeighDownSouth.com

  12. March 31, 2010 at 7:24 PM

    That is so fabulous. Imagine all the good that you are doing for your body! I have lost 10 lbs, and I feel taller. I think it’s easier for me to stand up straight when I am not bloated and exhausted all the time!!!

  13. April 2, 2010 at 10:29 PM

    Well, WOW! you totally had me fooled by the title. What pleasant surprise! Tall(er) and strong. You go boy!

  14. Cathy
    April 3, 2010 at 7:41 AM

    Wow, that is so cool! I never knew you could get taller by loosing weight! 😀 Good for you! Oh, can I get you to get something off the top shelf for me? ;P

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
