Home > Nutrition > Reviewing Devin Alexander's I Can't Believe It's Not Fattening!

Reviewing Devin Alexander's I Can't Believe It's Not Fattening!

April 1, 2010

A few weeks ago, I started a little experiment.  I’ve always loved cookbooks, but some healthy cookbooks leave a little to be desired.  And I also have gotten so out of the habit of cooking at home, even though I love to cook, that I really needed some motivation to get back into cooking on weeknights.  So I decided to choose four healthy cookbooks (above), commit to cook one night a week at home using these books, and then review the books here so you can learn from my experience and decide whether or not to spend your hard-earned clams on any of these books.  So far, I’ve reviewed Rocco Dispirito’s Now Eat This! (miss…) and Ellie Krieger’s The Food You Crave (hit!).  This week, Devin Alexander’s I Can’t Believe It’s Not Fattening! was my dinner-time project.

I had no idea who Devin Alexander is.  I’m not a fan of The Biggest Loser, but apparently she was a nutritional consultant on that show.  She also lost a lot of weight herself and has maintained her loss for many years.  That’s a good sign, I think.

I Can’t Believe It’s Not Fattening! is the type of book you’d expect if Paula Deen wrote a healthy cookbook.  The recipes rely on a number of substitutions for low-fat, no-fat, and light products, as well as using some processed/pre-packaged items as short cuts, and as such I would consider them less clean and unprocessed (which is the beauty of Ellie Krieger’s The Food You Crave) than recipes made from scratch, but quicker and easier to prepare in many cases, and still damn good!  This is the book I’ll probably pull out when I want something quick, easy, and with just a few ingredients.

For dinner last night, I made Devin’s Buffalo Shrimp and Mexican Mac and Cheese.  The Buffalo Shrimp were super-simple to prepare, and they were mad good!  If you like buffalo wings, but you don’t want to blow the calories, this really is a great substitute.  The Mexican Mac and Cheese was also great!  It certainly wasn’t my Grandmother’s recipe that calls for gobs of freshly grated sharp cheddar with whole milk and butter (yummmmm…..), but it definitely is a good understudy for the night when you want mac and cheese but not the extra poundage on the scale.  Both recipes were quick, had minimal ingredients, and were really good!  They served four, and I easily halved the recipes cooking for one, so that I had one serving for dinner last night, and another for dinner tonight.

So if you like quick cooking that utilizes partially store bought ingredients as time-savers on a busy night, but you want to keep your nutrition in check, you might want to check out Devin Alexander’s I Can’t Believe It’s Not Fattening! (Just click on the picture of the cover in the slide show above).   I’ll be cooking from it more in the future (most of her desserts are well within my calorie range, including a few brownie recipes that don’t call for black beans!), and both recipes I made last night will be showing up in my kitchen again, too.

  1. April 2, 2010 at 1:21 AM

    The shrimp sounds really good. I have been craving that for a couple weeks now. The book does sound a little shady by title but I’ll take your word for it!

  2. April 2, 2010 at 2:46 AM

    Buffalo shrimp? HOLY. Need to try. I still need to make buffalo wings (aka buffalo chicken breast). That’s awesome that you’re cooking though! I think it’s phenomenal. You’re cooking your way to health. And the more I cook, the more I realize I can basically eat countless numbers of things. The possibilities are endless!

    High five to not being a fan of TBL. I don’t like that sort of thing. I don’t think weight loss should be a competition. It should be supportive, and I hate that people get voted off the show. But, it motivates a lot of people so whatever works, right?

  3. April 2, 2010 at 9:58 AM

    Can I jump on the “I want Buffalo Shrimp” bandwagon? That it really does sound kinda awesome. And WooT for non black bean brownies! 😛

  4. Erin
    April 2, 2010 at 12:58 PM

    Buffalo shrimp? I’m in!!!

    • April 2, 2010 at 1:17 PM

      And the best thing about the buffalo shrimp? Super simple! When I think of buffalo wings – I think of going out. Way too involved to do at home. These took all of 10-15 minutes!

      Also, Devin Alexander (@chefdevin) sent me this tweet last night with a recipe for brownies that sound like they’re head and shoulders over that Black Bean mess (though I haven’t tried these yet):

      “@reconstruct30 Thanks 4 review! I’d like to invite u 2 try my Chocolate Chocolate Brownie Cups!: http://tinyurl.com/ylqvq5p

  5. April 2, 2010 at 5:46 PM

    I like shrimp. This was the wrong article for me to be reading right now.

    I am so hungry. I really am going to go eat now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
