Home > General > Weekly Weigh In, and Blaming Breakfast on the Dog

Weekly Weigh In, and Blaming Breakfast on the Dog

April 3, 2010

The Culprit

Yep – that’s her on the left.  The culprit for my not so healthy breakfast.  Back to that in a few, but first, this is a pretty important weekend.  It’s Easter weekend (and I’m not one of the bloggers giving up chocolate bunnies; more power to you guys, but if I don’t eat at least an ear, that little bastard will taunt me well into next week and I’ll end up taking down him and three of his friends on sale at the drugstore).  It’s also the weekend that marks five months of my reconstruction that started on my thirtieth birthday, and it marks almost three months of this blog!  If you’re new to the blog, you might want to start here, here, here, here, and here.

First things first, Saturdays are my weekly weigh in days, and this morning I weighed in at 254.2 (damn new scales.  I so liked being below 250!).  All in all, that’s a 53.8 pound loss since I began this journey, and 1.8 pounds down from last week!  As I type this, I realize that one huge piece of this reconstruction is taking away the power these numbers have had over me for most of my life.  The first time I divulged my weight on this blog, I really wasn’t feeling it.  I thought about deleting that post many times, but I thought it was important to take away the power I was giving those numbers, so I did share them.  Now I’ll share my weight and my journey with any poor person who asks.  That in and of itself has helped tremendously.

Last night, I watched Jamie Oliver’s Food Revolution (a show and concept I absolutely love), and there was a teenager named Brittany who shared about her struggle with obesity so openly and courageously.  I was in awe.  She’s 16 or 17 years old, and she’s dealing with this challenge incredibly.  It’s taken me thirty years to get comfortable talking about my weight!  I always kind of hoped people wouldn’t notice.  Denial is a strong force, people.  Anyhow, I hope she does amazingly, and watch Food Revolution if you haven’t already!  It’s on hulu.

So, food was good this past week, and I’m back in the saddle with exercise after my being sidelined for various health issues.  Once I got cleared, I just started thinking, Holy Crap!!!!  My 5K’s in 4 weeks (three now), and I’ve gotta get in shape for it!!!  If you missed my post on my first 5K, I’ve decided to run (walk/jog/run) not just for a personal goal, but also to raise money for clean water in the developing world.  I’ve set a goal to raise $500 for clean water efforts, and I’ve just broken $100 raised, thanks in no small part to some of the readers of this blog!  So if you’re so inclined, you can click here to keep my butt motivated and to do something good for those who need it!  Yesterday was a run in the park to start getting ready, and it was in-freakin-credible.  Amazing Atlanta spring day, blue skies, ducks on the pond, cherry blossoms blooming, and me huffing and puffing my way around.  Fantastic!  I was drunk on endorphins, thinking I was the world’s next big marathon runner, when I remembered those cherry blossoms are also little terroristic pollen bombs.  I wheezed and coughed and generally snorted like a rodeo bull all afternoon, but it really was a great day!

Did I mention I didn’t take the dog with me yesterday?  She’s small, and she can hold me back a bit if I’m trying to jog part of my route.  I wanted to work hard yesterday, so she stayed home.  Which apparently pissed her off.  Because this morning I woke up to her sitting on my chest looking me dead in the eye and telepathically saying – “get me outta this boring house you frikkin’ imbecile!”  On Saturday mornings, I used to pile her into the car (she loves car rides), and then I’d go grab a fast food breakfast.  Either a Chick-Fil-A chicken biscuit, or a couple of donuts from the donut shop (or kolaches when I used to live in Houston – yum).  It was our little Saturday morning ritual, and we both loved it.

So this morning, when said dog was threatening a revolt if she didn’t go for a trip, I thought, what the heck, I haven’t even been to Chick-Fil-A since October – we’ll make a chicken biscuit run.  And that’s what we did.  I blame the dog.  Totally.  Her powers of persuasion are really unparalleled.  Sure, she probably would have been just as happy had the car ride been to the park, where we could have walked a leisurely mile or two.  But that just wouldn’t have satisfied our little ritual.  Um, yeah…

I’ve said before that lots of irrationality goes into being obese.  Nowadays, I keep that irrationality in check 95%+ of the time, but this morning, I wanted that [480 calorie!] chicken biscuit, and I had it.  And I took the little dog along for the ride.  Oh well, I’ll fit it into my meal plan for the day.  Maybe I’ll cut my afternoon snack back a little.  I usually have a piece of fruit and 1/4 cup of nuts (about 230 calories), so maybe I’ll cut the nuts and reduce the impact of the chicken biscuit.  But man, it sure was good, and it hit the spot.  So I likely now won’t have a Chick-Fil-A craving for another few months, and that’s a good thing.  (Though as a side note, I happen to think Chick-Fil-A is one of the healthier of the fast food chains.  They have plenty of healthy options where I could fit them into my routine if I wanted to more regularly, it just wouldn’t be the classic fried chicken sandwich or chicken biscuit.)

Well – Happy Easter to you all!  Enjoy a beautiful, spring weekend!

  1. April 3, 2010 at 12:24 PM

    There’s nothing better than Chik Fila! Now you got me craving one big time. Too bad we don’t have a CF here! 🙂

    Congrats on the loss and the running…you’re doing great!

  2. Jay
    April 4, 2010 at 1:54 AM

    I used to work at Chick-Fil-A.. and yeah they have tasty foods.. but everyday eating there is how I gained around 40 pounds in six months or so. But I had ranch on everything.. and I didn’t know how bad ranch was at the time.

    Regardless.. Chick-fil-a isn’t that bad.. you probably should have stayed away from the chicken biscuit though. Next time try the chargrilled chicken sandwich. It’s pretty good. Stay away from pretty much everything else though. 🙂

    • April 4, 2010 at 2:14 AM

      I really appreciate their healthy options like fruit, wheat buns, etc. Definitely the best of the fast food joints IMO. But yeah – the biscuit didn’t do me any favors today!

  3. Kat
    April 4, 2010 at 4:27 AM

    I worked in Atlanta for a month in 2002 and had never been to a chick fil a before. I became a fan of those chicken biscuits. I think you gotta let yourself enjoy something every now and then – it is all about balance and clearly you are doing that. Congratulations on your weight loss this week. And your dog is very cute.

  4. April 5, 2010 at 8:46 AM

    The biscuit may not have done you any favors, but overall it wasn’t THAT bad, and you can definitely tweak your meals a bit to fit it in.

    Do they have the spicy chicken biscuit down there too? I haven’t had that one, but I’m sure its awesome.

    Congrats on your losses so far! You’ll be back back below 250 in no time.

  5. Erin
    April 5, 2010 at 2:57 PM

    Never been to Chik Fil A, and there isn’t one in Nebraska that’s open to the public (there is one in a large employer’s cafeteria). It’s probably a good thing we don’t, but I’d like to try it ONCE in my life! 🙂

    • April 5, 2010 at 3:53 PM

      Steve – I don’t know if the spicy Chick-Fil-A’s are available here, yet. I haven’t been visiting them enough to keep up!

      And Erin, you should definitely try a classic Chick-Fil-A sandwich!!! Atlanta is their HQ and hometown, so they’re everywhere here and have been around at least as long as I have. I can’t really imagine life without CFA available! Just be careful, if you try it and like it, and there’s not one around, it can lead to an obsession forming! 🙂

  6. Meredith
    April 5, 2010 at 3:17 PM

    You guys are way off base. It’s the Chik-Fil-A fries that take all fast food awards! As bad as they are.
    I think we have to let ourselves ‘cheat’ every once in awhile, just to remember that the treats are really not worth the weight. But they are worth the wait.

  7. April 5, 2010 at 3:36 PM

    Your dog is sooooo cute!!! I imagine if he looked at me a certain way, I would do whatever he wanted too! 🙂
    Well, I also think it’s okay to have an old favorite once in a while, as long as those treats are few and far between. Seems like you’ve got it under control so that’s good!

    • April 5, 2010 at 11:18 PM

      Thanks, Carla. The dog is very aware of her cuteness and uses it to her advantage often! No – in all honesty – she’s a rescue who spent 3 months in the pound before I adopted her two years ago, and while she’s got plenty of personality, she’s also the sweetest dog I think I’ve ever met. Totally has me wrapped around her little paw.

  1. April 12, 2010 at 9:54 PM
Comments are closed.
