Home > General > Having Fun with Seven Things

Having Fun with Seven Things

April 6, 2010

A little while back my buddy Jess over at Half of Jess gave me a blog award called the Beautiful Blogger Award.  I think I can safely say I’ve never been called beautiful (ruggedly handsome maybe) 😉 but not beautiful.  However, I’ll take any award I can get!

This award comes with a few conditions, in that I’m supposed to:

1.   Thank and link to the person that presented me the award.
2.   Pass this award on to 15 fantastic bloggers.
3.   Contact said bloggers and let them know they’ve won.
4.   State 7 things about myself.

Number one – check.  Number four – the fun part, and the reason I’m finally getting around to this – see the next paragraph.  Numbers two and three – well, they’re hard.  I read way more than 15 blogs – and if I take the time to subscribe to and read a blog, I think it’s fantastic.  So I really am not going to try to choose.  Just check out anyone listed in my Health and Wellness Blogs over to the right, and you’ll have a good read.  I think they’re all pretty amazing.

So back to the 7 things about myself.  I love reading these about other people, and I always feel like mine are probably terribly boring, but who knows?  Maybe you’ll learn something about me that’s fun, funny, or shocking!  Here they are:

#1)  I’m a native Atlantan, and I’ve lived in Atlanta almost all of my thirty years.  The only exception was a three year period after I finished law school when I moved to Houston, Texas for my first job.  I decided to come back to Atlanta, so I guess it goes without saying which city I like best, but if you haven’t ever checked Houston out, it’s a great weekend trip!  The area I worked and lived in right around Rice Village, the Texas Medical Center, and the Museum District is truly awesome, and I miss it lots.  Aside from the wretchedly hot and humid weather, it’s actually a great place to live.

#2)  I’m an only child.  I probably was spoiled, but I ended up pretty well-adjusted nonetheless.  My close friends, like most onlies I know, have become my siblings, and surprisingly (or not) a few of them are onlies, too.

#3)  I despise mayonnaise.  I mean I loathe the stuff.  If I order a sandwich without mayonnaise and it comes out with even a hint of that nastiness on it, I’ll send it back in a heartbeat.  I just can’t touch the stuff.  All that said, in an ultimate act of being irrational, I will eat coleslaw made with mayonnaise, so long as it’s sweet and isn’t sloppy wet.

#4)  I’ve taken an alternate career path in that I don’t practice law, and I’ve focused on ethics and healthy policy – an area I’m truly passionate about and love (which becomes evident in this blog from time to time).  I have, however, finally decided to take the bar exam, even though I’ve never needed it for my job, and I’m a little worried that the work/bar study schedule that will soon be upon me is going to be a bit challenging to my new lifestyle.  Food should be okay (if I can avoid stress binges), but I think I may have to shift exercise to the mornings to make sure I get it in.

#5)  Although it’s my avocation more than my vocation, I’ve considered myself a writer since I was a little kid.  I’ve written everything from fiction to political essays to poetry through the years, but I really love the format and flexibility that blogging provides to a writer who needs an outlet.  Such a great way to write what you love, and find an audience doing it! And I’m thoroughly enjoying writing about how a normal guy who weighed over 300 pounds is getting his life in order and getting healthy at thirty.  Who knows – maybe this will all lead to a book someday?  Hmmm…..  Publishers?  Agents?  Church Bulletin Editors?

#6)  I love flying.  As in travel by air.  My dad worked for the airlines when I was a kid, and we got to fly to lots of places for free as a family when I was little.  It was incredible, and this was back in the day before frequent flyer programs when employees flying standby more often than not ended up in first class!  It rocked.  Anyway, I love the whole experience (even in coach with a fee to check bags and no pillows or blankets) to this day.  I love people watching in airports, I love flying itself, and I love the intricate planning and choreography that goes into keeping an airline running.  (Nerdy, I know.)

#7)  Although I do not dance –  At all.  Whatsoever.  Under normal circumstances.  –  I am the proud creator of an original dance called the Duck Boot dance.  It has its origins in a reference my civil procedure professor made to duck boots once, and I began to demonstrate said duck boots in the hallway to a classmate who didn’t know what they were after class.  This caught on among my friends, and the Duck Boot dance had its sole public performance on the hearth of a fireplace at a little pub here in Atlanta.  Thankfully, this was before camera phones really caught on…

Thanks again for the award, Jess!  Those are my seven things.  Share something fun and interesting about yourself in the comments, too!

  1. April 6, 2010 at 10:48 PM

    I’d love to read some of your fiction stuff!!!! I love to write, too 🙂

    And ATL is my fav city. Coming your way soon!!

    • April 6, 2010 at 11:10 PM

      My fiction has long ago been burned. This was middle school garbage – I tried to write a murder-mystery. It was a disaster! I’m much more comfortable in the non-fiction world!

  2. April 7, 2010 at 12:32 AM

    I cannot stand mayonnaise on anything unless it is hot. There is something completely disgusting about cold mayo.

  3. April 7, 2010 at 4:22 AM

    You’re welcome Chad! I’m glad I got to learn things about you! Uh, now that camera phones HAVE caught on, I want the Duck Boot Dance captured and uploaded somewhere! *chants DUCK BOOT DUCK BOOT*

    I think it’s great that law school led you to some other aspect, but ack to studying for the bar! I’m sure you’ll do great but any tips for me later on would be awesome!

    And, I’ve been to Atlanta. I didn’t get to go inside the aquarium though, but I’d like to visit again and eat some tasty Atlanta grub. I’ve heard good things! Apparently there’s super tasty Vietnamese food in Atlanta.

  4. April 7, 2010 at 6:35 AM

    The duck boot dance sounds really cool. I’m not a dancer – I have no coordination at all. Each day I feel like I’m walking on new feet.

    I like your blog. I also like to write but I haven’t written anything formal in years. Blogging is the writing that I do now a days.

  5. April 7, 2010 at 11:01 AM

    1. I’ve never been to Atlanta, or Houston, but I’ve heard they are pretty awesome. Would love to visit sometime.
    2. I’m kinda jealous of only children, because I am far from it (I have 8 siblings). Yeah, I love my siblings, but I often how different things would have been if it was just me.
    3. This is just blasphemous. Next to ketchup, mayonnaise is the best thing to ever happen to the human species.
    4. I hear the bar exam can be daunting, so good luck! I was once on track to do law school, but well, yeah…
    5. I think you’re a great writer and will buy whatever you book you eventually come out with…but I want a signed copy. Kthx.
    6. I love people watching in airports too. I’ve only been in a plane 4 times though, and on one of those occasions I jumped out of it at 10500 feet. 🙂
    7. I expect a vlog showing this dance to follow soon. Kthx

    🙂

  6. Erin
    April 7, 2010 at 12:52 PM

    Ooh, I wanna see a vlog of this duck boot dance!!!!!!

  7. April 7, 2010 at 7:57 PM

    I think you’ve created a monster – now we will never be content until we see that duck boot dance on video!!!

    I have been to Houston twice, and I love the heat and humidity!

    My husband is an only child too, and only children are some of the most well adjusted people I’ve ever met!!!

  8. April 7, 2010 at 10:44 PM

    Great post, Chad. I really enjoy how well you write. Cool that you’re into the lucrative law stuff. That’s one of those envied careers. I’m an only child as well. Native to southern California. Terribly spoiled. Everything you said about mayo is true for me about eggs. They can be an ingredient, but I better not be able to taste them. I also don’t dance, unless playing an instrument, I like to move around. Flying scares the crap out of me, which is too bad because vie been with a travel agent for 10 years. Haha

    • April 7, 2010 at 11:08 PM

      Another only! I think we’re pretty neat people.

  9. April 8, 2010 at 4:56 PM

    I am also a write in that I love the sounds and meanings of words. I normally have two dictionaries lying about my place when I need them….and it happens often.

  10. April 20, 2010 at 1:16 PM

    Love posts like these.

    Too bad I like Mayo. Not as much anymore–I really do avoid it. But I think it’s tasty (but not by itself–yuck!). Of course, you could be disgusting like my dad and eat peanut butter Miracle Whip sandwiches. Yikes!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
