Home > General > Weekly Weigh In – Buffet be Damned!!!

Weekly Weigh In – Buffet be Damned!!!

April 10, 2010

This morning marked my first weekly weigh in since the mind-blowing Easter buffet that left me full for two days after.  I was a little concerned that it might have thrown off my weight loss efforts for the week, but I guess my stepped up training efforts for my 5K saved me, because I had dropped 2.4 pounds!!!  This Saturday, I was down to 251.8 (on my new scales – which weigh about 7.5 pounds heavier than the old ones) for a total loss since I began of 56.2 pounds!  I’m feeling really good about where I am with both nutrition and exercise recently, so things are going really well.

I did go for a session with my trainer this morning, and in a total 180 from my exercise mindset of three months ago, I decided to get up early so I could go for a run/walk in the park before I went to her office for the strength training session.  I was running late, so I only got in a mile and a half, but it felt great to get out this morning and do that.  And I got to test out my new toy, a Nike + SportBand, along with a new pair of Nike + running shoes!  If you’re not familiar with Nike +, it’s a system Nike and Apple have developed that consists of a sensor you place in your shoe, and it links up wirelessly to either a SportBand (a little digital watch/bracelet you can buy from Nike) or certain types of iPods and iPhones to record your runs – distance, pace, calories burned, and time.  I have an iPhone 3G, and the Nike + system only works with the iPhone 3GS, plus, I don’t always like to carry my iPhone with me on a run, so I decided to go with the sport band.

Anyway, it worked great!  I went farther than I would have estimated, and I burned more calories than I thought, too!  You can also upload your runs to a Nike + website, set goals, challenge friends, and track your progress over time.  I’ll play around with it over the next few weeks, and if what I can record on the web turns out to be anything more interesting than “I ran 3 miles in 42 minutes and burned 400 calories” blah, blah, blah – I may share some of it here – but I won’t bore you with the straight up stats.

My session with Anna, my trainer, who’s absolutely fantastic and a great resource if you’re local to Atlanta, went really well.  We re-tooled my strength training session to account for my recent back injury and other health issues, and I’m feeling a lot better about that going forward.  I also asked her about the mentholated trachea that I sometimes get when running, and she assured me that it’s pretty normal, especially if you’re breathing through your mouth.  She encouraged me to try to breathe mainly through my nose, as it’s more efficient and less irritating of the airway.  So I’m going to give that a shot, and hope that it helps.  There are varying opinions out there on this from what I’ve read, and I’m no expert on any of this stuff, so if you have issues with breathing, certainly check out your own personal situation with your own trainer, physician, etc.

On another note, I did cook from the final cookbook I’m reviewing in this first series, Cook This, Not That! by the same authors of the popular Eat This, Not That! series.  I made their recipe for lasagna, and I’ll be sharing my thoughts on the book in a post in the next couple of days, so stay tuned.  I also will be announcing some new healthy cookbooks (and magazines!) that I’ll be reviewing in the near future, too, so stay tuned!

If you’re new to the blog, be sure to subscribe to my RSS feed, and also follow me on twitter by clicking the button on the right of the page.  Hope you all have a healthy, relaxing, and fun weekend!

  1. April 10, 2010 at 2:44 PM

    Aw yeah! Nice job on the loss! It IS the result of you cranking up the exercise and working your butt off! Proud of you.

    I’m glad you guys are restructuring the strength training for your back. It’s helpful to strength train but not if it’s going to cause pain and discomfort (and increase risk of injuries).

    The Nike + sounds pretty nifty. I’ve been seeing a lot of people talk about it. Maybe I should check it out.

    Keep it up, sport! I’m totally stoked for your 5K race. It’s soon, no?!

  2. April 10, 2010 at 3:36 PM

    GREAT JOB on the loss man!!! Tree-men-douussss!!! 🙂

    You’re gonna do so well at that 5k!

  3. s
    April 10, 2010 at 8:32 PM

    Congrats on the loss! no buffet can hold you down.

    I’ve been curious as to how the Nike + knows your stride and everything. Hit me up on Twitter if you know anymore about it. Thanks.

  4. April 10, 2010 at 8:32 PM

    That was me on the last comment.

    • April 10, 2010 at 8:49 PM

      Seth – Nike claims that Nike + is accurate for many folks right out of the box. You also have the option to calibrate – you walk or run a distance you already know (like laps around a track) that’s at least a quarter mile. Then when you upload that run to the website, you can select the option to calibrate and input the actual distance so that the sensor can recalibrate to your actual stride. I haven’t had a chance to calibrate yet, but I do think it was pretty accurate on my run this am.

  5. April 10, 2010 at 10:16 PM

    I have Nike+ and love it. It’s an excellent tool. I found it be inaccurate before I calibrated, but now it’s right on the money.

    Oh, and GREAT LOSS!!! You’re rockin’ it, man!

  6. April 11, 2010 at 3:04 AM

    I love my Nike +, right now I am only walking and it’s doing pretty well. When I loose a little more weight I should be able to pickup some running.

    The best thing for me getting the Nike+ was actually buying new shoes. I didn’t know the difference a good pair of shoes made. Nike also have options for all feet sizes and I was amazed to have found a pair of shoes that fit me perfectly.

    You can also hookup Nike+ to http://www.dailymile.com/ I believe. I’ve not tried it myself, but might check it out later this week.

  7. April 11, 2010 at 11:54 PM

    Thanks for commenting on my blog! Nice to find yours! Nice job on the loss! I LOVE my Nike +!! You should find me on the nike website. I have the same screenname – eatsleepgetfit. Look forward to reading more of your blog!!!

    Dana

  8. Meg
    April 12, 2010 at 12:59 AM

    Congrats on the loss! You must really be kicking butt if you had a slip up and still lost over 2lbs!

    That Nike + sounds awesome. I’ll have to look into it.

    I have a somewhat similar problem when running outdoors with mucus in my windpipe…Mine, however, I know for sure is due to asthma and irritation. Basically, the air isn’t heating and moistening enough before it reaches my lungs so I guess the mucus makes up for the dryness–it happens to me when I breathe through my nose too. Eventually I resorted to running on a treadmill indoors, which has helped a lot.

  9. April 20, 2010 at 1:24 PM

    Wow, wat to blow through that buffet! Kick butt, Chad! The Nike+ tool sounds great…I should be able to clip it to my Vibrams, right?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
