Home > Exercise > Exercise: Meeting Goals – Making Progress!

Exercise: Meeting Goals – Making Progress!

April 15, 2010

Two or three months ago, I had an appointment with my nutritionist, Rachel.  I had just started my exercise routine, and I was forcing myself to do it, but I was far from feeling into it.  I remember Rachel saying that she really hoped one day I would have goals for myself with exercise just like I did with nutrition and my weight.  I smiled and nodded, and thought to myself – yeah right.  I’m doing good to haul my fat @$$ onto the treadmill for 20 minutes.  My goal with exercise is just to get it in the number of days a week I target!

Fast forward to present.  I’m training for my first 5K in a week (that scream you just heard was me $#!+ing a brick).  I’m back into strength training after a back injury that sidelined me for a few weeks, AND I haven’t whined and complained about doing criss-cross abs in ages!!!  (In fact, for the curious, I’m increasing the reps of criss-cross abs I do by five, and working toward adding a third set of the dastardly things).  And tonight, I hit a goal that I’ve been secretly harboring for myself for quite a while now – I ran half of my thirty minutes on the treadmill!  Not all at once – I’m doing interval training.  But tonight was the first time I did 3 minutes running, 3 minutes walking for a full half hour!  Sticking to my schedule, that means next week I’ll be running for more than half of my half hour!!!

That probably sounds like a small goal to seasoned runners who haven’t known what it’s like to be out of shape and non-athletic.  But to me it’s amazing.  I’m so incredibly proud of myself.  Not in a bragging or self-righteous way, but in an incredibly grateful way.  I’m so grateful that all of this finally seems to be clicking with me.  I care about myself, my body, and my health in a way I never have before.  I- and my own well-being –  matter more than my work, my degrees, what others think…  I’ve finally realized that without taking care of myself, NONE of that other stuff matters.

The kid who put Phys. Ed. off until his senior year of high school and never could finish the two miles we had to run each morning in the time allotted is becoming a runner.  And finally values himself – even if he’s not the fastest around.  Hell yeah.

  1. April 16, 2010 at 12:37 AM

    “I’ve finally realized that without taking care of myself, NONE of that other stuff matters”

    dude…definitely. that sentence says it all.

  2. April 16, 2010 at 6:33 AM

    You rock Chad! A 5K – I’m impressed. Right now I just walk my dog in the neighborhood. You inspire me.

  3. April 16, 2010 at 10:37 AM

    I think it’s a great idea to have fitness goals as well as weight goals – although that’s something I still have to work on myself 🙂

    And that’s awesome that you’ve got a 5K next weekend, I’m sure you’re going to do great. I’m still working on finding my first 5K. There’s one here at the start of July, but I’m hoping to find one sooner than that.

  4. April 16, 2010 at 12:16 PM

    I really like your attitude about the whole thing. It is about so much more than just what you see in the mirror. A friend of mine just did her first 5k this past weekend. What a great accomplishment that will be for you! Good Luck!

  5. April 16, 2010 at 12:18 PM

    “I’ve finally realized that without taking care of myself, NONE of that other stuff matters”

    this is a beautiful statement! You can’t be the best at anything if you aren’t your best self

  6. April 16, 2010 at 2:09 PM

    Fitness goals are a great idea. A lot of guys think that they need to be super athletic or beat themselves to death at the gym to lose weight. Actually, you do not need to anything beyond a reasonable amount of exercise to lose weight.
    Strength training is a great idea and burning calories in cardio is also a great idea.

    For the first time in my life, I am convinced that the weight loss is in the calorie mathematics.

  7. Meg
    April 16, 2010 at 3:01 PM

    Congrats! That’s great. I definitely know what it’s like to be out of shape and running, so I understand completely the feeling you get when you accomplish what you’re doing. Good luck with the 5k!

  8. mac
    April 16, 2010 at 3:38 PM

    I’m a seasoned runner. I know what it’s like to be out of shape too. Others don’t judge the size of your goals because they are your goals! if they aren’t small to you, then they aren’t small!

  9. Erin
    April 16, 2010 at 3:47 PM

    In elementary school, we had to run ten laps around a big circle (each lap was 1/10 mile). We had 10 minutes to get 10 straws before the whistle. I NEVER got 10 straws in 10 minutes but I did come close once. I usually ended up with 8 straws, and it kinda sucked. The closest I ever got was 9 straws and I was half a lap from getting my 10th when the PE teacher blew the whistle…I was pretty bummed, but I didn’t care enough to get my 10 straws the next time. But NOW I care, and when I pull a 10 minute mile this time around, it will be so schweeeeet! 🙂

    You get a “hell yeah” on this post, for sure!! Go Chad Go!!!

    • April 16, 2010 at 8:31 PM

      I hated stuff like that in school. My elementary school PE wasn’t nearly that hardcore, but middle school is when it started getting a little rougher. I’ll never forget the embarrassment of attempting to jump hurdles in the sixth grade. With my short legs, lack of flexibility, and no speed. I hope PE has become a little more personalized to differing fitness levels since I was a kid!

  10. April 20, 2010 at 1:38 PM

    Great job, Chad! I also avoided PE until I couldn’t avoid it any more. Funny. My mom actually wrote notes to get me out of PE. I know she loved me, but maybe loving me really would have been getting me active, no?

    What an accomplishment!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
