Home > Exercise > My First 5K: Three Days and Counting!

My First 5K: Three Days and Counting!

April 21, 2010

Water for the World Run 2010 from Don Felice on Vimeo.

Yowzahs!!!  My first 5K is just three days away!  It’s still amazing that I’m starting to become, dare I say it, a runner!  That just boggles my mind.  I am by my very nature, sedentary, and I have to force myself to exercise – you know, in the same way you have to force yourself to do your taxes.  I still look at runners and think, what the hell is wrong with you?  But I guess I gotta change that mindset, because I’m joining their “running-for-the-heck-of-it-without-even-having-just-been-mugged” club!  This is really insane.

This week has been busy, and tonight was my first run since Saturday (!) – but I did really well, so I’m still confident that Saturday will come and go with me finishing the race and not checking myself into the hospital across the street from the finish line (good strategy by the race planners, by the way).  This reconstruction thing is really starting to show results, I’ve lost over 8 inches in my waist and nearly 60 pounds (from over 300 pounds to under 250!)  in the past 5.5 months!  I’ve gained confidence and lots of new buddies in the same boat as me, and the 5K is a fitting milestone to throw into the mix right now for lots of reasons. More gratifyingly, I’ve taken this personal goal and added motivation by choosing to run a race where I can help raise money for charities that bring clean water to developing nations. If you’re interested in donating, you can click this link. As I write this, I’ve raised $250 of my $500 goal!  Thank you, thank you, thank you, to all of you who have donated, and to everyone for cheering me on! Both those things are motivating me for Saturday more than you’ll ever know!  I can’t wait to have that sense of accomplishment that will go with finishing!

And on a totally unrelated note, just because it makes me happy, I have to plug a blog I stumbled across today that has nothing to do with health and fitness, but it made me laugh out loud (for a solid 30 seconds or so on a day when I sorely needed it, which certainly merits a shout-out here). It’s called I Has a Hot Dog, and you can find it at http://ihasahotdog.com, or you can click the awesome picture from their site below that totally broke me up today.  The blog has adorable pictures of dogs, with captions of what they’re thinking. I’ve spent more time on this thing than I should have tonight, but it’s so great!

Just Got My Braces Off.....  Whatcha  Think.....
see more dog and puppy pictures

  1. April 21, 2010 at 10:47 PM

    Good luck with the 5k! That dog picture is hilarious.

  2. April 22, 2010 at 12:03 AM

    Love the pic.

    Good luck on the 5k..you’re gonna rock it so much b/c you’re awesome!

  3. April 22, 2010 at 8:40 AM

    I’ve wasted many an hour on that site, I love it!

    Good luck with the 5k, not that you need it, because you’ll rock it.

    If it helps, you could always pretend you’re being mugged…or outrunning an Icelandic ash cloud. 🙂

  4. April 22, 2010 at 10:28 AM

    I know you’ll rock the 5k. What a great program, too!

    Your progress, as well, is just incredible. Keep up the amazing work!

    As for the site. Yeah, I love it. And all of their other sites, like failblog and graphjam. These sites are teh perfect 30 second release during a tough day.

  5. April 22, 2010 at 10:46 AM

    First of all, congrats on the 5K! You’re going to do great, and I can’t wait to hear your time.

    And secondly, icanhascheezburger.com is a similar one for cats. Even better. 🙂

  6. April 22, 2010 at 11:00 AM

    I’m so excited to read how you did! I’ll be cheering you on…remotely, of course. Congrats, Chad. You’ve already one.

    This post is really well-written, too. I like the funny quips!

    • April 22, 2010 at 11:12 AM

      Thanks, Allison! Have fun in NOLA!

  7. Erin
    April 22, 2010 at 11:39 AM

    You will rock the casbah, I mean 5K!!! And I am checking out the dog website now…definitely sounds like something to bookmark for a bad day!

  8. April 22, 2010 at 5:40 PM

    Wait, please tell me you have seen the lolcats I has Cheezburger site?! It’s hilarity.

    Anyway, you ARE a runner. I know it. Watch you get a kick ass PR out of your first 5K. I’ll be sending you an email tomorrow so watch your inbox!

    Keep it up Seth! You’re an inspiration because you’re consistently working hard. It’s amazing.

    • April 22, 2010 at 7:47 PM

      I have seen the Cheezburger site – I’ve just always been a dog person. Nothing against cats at all, there just not my thing!

      Can’t wait for my Jess original via e-mail tomorrow! You’re such a great cheerleader.

  9. April 22, 2010 at 8:29 PM

    Chad, it is pretty exciting to think you are about to run a 5k. I totally understand the comment about “running-for-the-heck-of-it-without-even-having-just-been-mugged”. Right now, I lean more toward needing a really, really big, mean looking guy chasing me to make me run, but I have a goal to run a 5k. In fact, it is about time to get to work on that goal.

  10. April 22, 2010 at 9:52 PM

    just found you through seth’s blog. Looking forward to following your journey! Good luck with your first 5K — soooooo awesome and exciting!! YEAH! You are a runner!

  1. April 23, 2010 at 7:13 PM
Comments are closed.
