Home > Exercise > Staying Accountable with Exercise

Staying Accountable with Exercise

April 29, 2010

Okay – so since my 5K on Saturday, I’ve been slack with my cardio/running.  I don’t know if it was the idea that I’d achieved the goal I’d put before myself, and felt like I was finished, or if it’s just the craziness that is my life of late keeping me busy and not planning well, but either way, I haven’t been up to snuff with running this week.

So why mention it here?  Because I need to get in a run on both Thursday and Friday.  I run my weeks Saturday to Friday, and including my 5K on Saturday, I need to get in at least two more runs to be happy with myself (four a week is what I shoot for, but I’ll settle for three).  So I’m here to ask you all to stay on my case!  Harass me on Twitter and Facebook, leave me annoying “how’s it going?” comments here, go all medieval on a voodoo doll of me to remind me to get out for a run – help keep my lazy @$$ motivated!!!

Maybe it’s time to sign up for another 5K to keep myself on track…  Hmmmmm…..

  1. April 29, 2010 at 2:08 AM

    I read somewhere, maybe it was Runner’s World or something, that a lot of people will complete a big race and then kind of go slack because their goal is accomplished. What they encourage you to do (and what I encourage as well!) is to sign up for another race or keep practicing to best your PR. What it is is that you reached a HUGE goal, you accomplished a big milestone on your journey, so yes, you do deserve a break. BUT, don’t let your rest and recovery turn into relaxation and recreation.

    Keep it up Chad. You CAN do it. Maybe just go out for a nice jog, enjoy the scenery, breath the air, soak in the earth. God, I sound hippie. But I’m serious. Forget about running and just go enjoy your time outside. It won’t be such a chore if you do it like that.

    I’ll tweet you annoying reminders 🙂

  2. April 29, 2010 at 8:15 AM

    GO CHAD….and while you’re at it, please find my cardio mojo too..I’ve lost it.

  3. April 29, 2010 at 9:38 AM

    I’m with jess — fill your race schedule!

  4. Erin
    April 29, 2010 at 11:03 AM

    I have a LIST of goals, because once I accomplish something I need something ELSE to strive for or I trick my brain into thinking I’m done! Maybe make a list of things to keep you on track?

  5. April 29, 2010 at 8:47 PM

    Hey Chad! I will do my best to annoy you constantly on Twitter! 😉

  6. April 30, 2010 at 12:17 PM

    Yeah, I’ll pester you, too! Did you run yesterday??

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
