Home > General > Weekly Weigh-In: Are you Down, Down, Down, Down, Down?

Weekly Weigh-In: Are you Down, Down, Down, Down, Down?

May 1, 2010

First, a video to put a smile on your face and brighten up your weekend. The Pink Glove Dance from the good folks at Providence St. Vincent Medical Center in Portland, Oregon (more below on why I’m sharing this):

This morning was my first weekly weigh-in after my first 5K, and I was a little worried earlier in the week that I may actually post a gain!  I gave myself Saturday (the day of the race) off with my eating plan.  That Saturday started with the free pizza they had after the race, and devolved from there into a Mexican dinner that included queso, chalupas, and cake (it was a party for a charity organization I volunteer with, and I wanted to enjoy it).  I indulged without guilt, but the day after the 5K, my scales were up 4 pounds!!!  I’ve done well with eating since, but since my exercise this week has also been half of what I strive for  (my goal is 4 days cardio / 2 days strength training per week, and this week I only got in 2 days cardio / 1 day strength training), I was afraid I wouldn’t post a net loss this week.  But I did!  Here are the stats:

Starting Weight (10/31/09): 308 pounds

Last Week (4/24/10): 248.5 pounds

This Week (5/1/10): 247.4 pounds

Weekly Loss: 1.1 pounds

Total Loss: 60.6 pounds

When I weighed in, and I was down again this morning, the Jay Sean song Down popped into my head and has been there all morning since.  What can I say? That’s how my stream-of-consciousness INFP brain works.  And when I think of that song, I think of the Pink Glove Dance that I shared above.  I worked for three years at a cancer hospital, and while it’s intense work, there’s also an amazing sense of mission, esprit de corps, and even fun that comes with working in a hospital, and this video always reminds me of that and puts a smile on my face.  Just wanted to share that with you this morning, too.

By the way, today also marks six months of my reconstruction! Stay tuned tomorrow for a special six month post complete with progress photos!

  1. May 1, 2010 at 1:01 PM

    Congrats on the weight loss! and happy six-month-a-versary!

  2. May 1, 2010 at 1:06 PM

    yay! This is great. Isn’t weight-loss confusing? Looking forward to the next progress pictures.

  3. May 1, 2010 at 2:12 PM

    congrats on the loss and the six month mark!! 🙂

  4. May 1, 2010 at 3:51 PM

    Lovely video – my husband’s first wife died of breast cancer. She was treated at the Emory hospitals and he said that he felt the camaraderie amongst the staff that’s in this video. Chad – thanks for sharing!

  5. May 1, 2010 at 4:16 PM

    I love the pink glove dance. It’s brilliant.

    But anyway, HELL YEAH on the loss! High five 🙂 That Jay Sean song is super addicting too. You know, I don’t even want you to call your after race eating an “off” day. It was celebratory awesomeness. You deserved it.

  6. May 2, 2010 at 10:56 AM

    You keep losing more and more. Thanks for the video. I never saw it before. I had heard this song many times in the gym. I finally like this song after watching this video

  7. May 2, 2010 at 11:20 AM

    Weightloss is a funny thing. It comes and goes as it pleases sometimes, despite what we eat, or what we think we ate. Or sometimes Im just totally obsessed and every little violation drives me nuts. But glad it tipped in your favor and good of you to party with the good people. Way to stay at it for 6 months too!!

  8. May 2, 2010 at 11:54 AM

    Congrats on 6 months of healthy living! And I think your loss just goes to prove the point that we don’t have to be perfect at this weight loss thing. We can have the occasional indulgence or even a slip-up, and as long as we get back on the wagon and not let it turn into a regular thing, it’s not going to kill us.

  9. May 3, 2010 at 7:55 PM

    Chad! You’re awesome!!! Can’t wait to see the progress photos….

  1. May 8, 2010 at 7:55 PM
Comments are closed.
