Home > General > Blogging and Balance

Blogging and Balance

May 6, 2010

It’s been a full week.  My dad had knee replacement surgery yesterday, and I spent 13+ hours at the hospital with him (he’s doing great – going home tomorrow), I had my own little medical test Tuesday night (a sleep study – more to come in a future post…), and a lot going on with my career right now, too.  Which has left little time this week for a) exercise (ugh), and b) blogging.  It’s okay – I’ve been focused on the things I needed to be focused on this week, but I’ve definitely missed checking in regularly here on the blog, and checking your blogs, too.  I did make the rounds on Google Reader this afternoon, so I’m getting caught up on my blog reading, so I thought tonight I’d do a little blog writing, too.  My weekend without blogging turned into almost a week, though!

This all reminded me of a time, maybe a month into writing this blog, when I got totally out of balance with blogging, though.  I was spending almost all of my down time working on the blog.  First it was the layout, then it was migrating from WordPress.com to a self-hosted site, then it was getting myself setup with AdSense and as an Amazon affiliate, then it was checking my stats, and checking my stats, and checking my stats.  I was a little obsessed.  I was enjoying it, and I wasn’t sacrificing time with family and friends, but I was sacrificing time to exercise, and I felt like I was running out of material to write about, because my free time was spent, well, blogging.

I realized I had gotten totally out of balance with blogging.  Reconstructingthirty.com had become my focus, to the detriment of actually reconstructing my life at thirty.  So I quite intentionally now focus on my diet and exercise more, and on the management of my blog less, though I certainly still write here (weeks of surgery, sleep tests, and interviews, excepted).  Now I feel that I have the blogging thing pretty well in balance with the rest of my life – though that does sometimes mean I end up having to go a few days without a post, which I don’t love, but is occasionally necessary.  Also, I’m thinking this experience is probably a little more common for bloggers than we might think, so I’m looking forward to your comments on your own experience with keeping blogging in perspective below.

All that said, the community of friends we have in this weight loss/fitness/wellness blogging community is absolutely amazing.  I’m not even going to attempt to list all of you guys out there who are so wonderfully supportive, because I’ll inevitably forget someone I don’t want to forget, but if you’re ever in need of inspiration, check out the links to the right, or click over to the blogs of some of my frequent commenters.  They’re truly awesome human beings!

I am going to do my six month retrospective on Saturday, so stay tuned.  Also coming soon – the lost review from Chad’s Cookbook Review Series – Cook This, Not That!, a fun experiment with my non-cooking, never turned her stove on, friend Jennifer as I teach her how to cook one of Jamie Oliver’s recipes as part of his Food Revolution, and a post on why you’ve got to get to a doctor, no matter how anxious it makes you, if you’re thinking of starting a weight loss program – I did at the beginning of my journey, and I got a couple of surprises that have made a huge difference in how I’ve approached these efforts.

Happy Friday!

  1. May 7, 2010 at 12:05 AM

    You’ve done a great job with the blog design and content. Sounds like you’re assessing what’s most important to you and that’s good. I don’t know how you juggle everything. 🙂

  2. May 7, 2010 at 2:08 AM

    I know how you feel – I’ve gone through the same sort of cycle between being overly obsessed with my blog, and hardly being able to force myself to write a post. Of course the right balance is found somewhere in the middle.

    It’s sort of a funny thing – which do we spend more time doing, blogging about getting fit and losing weight, or actually getting fit and losing weight?

  3. May 7, 2010 at 10:37 AM

    I know what you mean! I remember the time where I became more obsessed with my blog than with my ultimate goal of becoming fit. Sometimes you need to take a step back and re-evaluate your priorities to see what’s really important and what’s not.

  4. May 7, 2010 at 2:46 PM

    My mother said having knee replacement was the best thing she ever did. She went from being almost wheelchair-bound and in pain to walking two miles a day and has lost about forty pounds. Good for your dad for doing it.

    As far as keeping blogging in perspective, I’m right there with you. There were times when I was obsessed with getting my comments higher or my page loads higher or whatever. I finally let that go and ended up having a lot more fun with it. 🙂 Not to say it doesn’t still flare up occasionally.

  5. Erin
    May 7, 2010 at 3:40 PM

    If you don’t blog because life gets in the way, I won’t be mad at you. If you don’t blog because you fall off the wagon, I still won’t be mad at you (but I will hunt you down and yell and scream until you get back up).

    • May 7, 2010 at 3:57 PM

      LOL, Erin! Glad to know you don’t get mad, you just get serious!

  6. May 7, 2010 at 4:25 PM

    I think I do think about blogging a lot but that’s because I mean, I don’t have law school yet. But I think of blogging in terms of it being a nightly journal (it usually wraps up my day). I usually think about my topics while running or sometimes it’ll just randomly come to me, so I write some ideas down in my calorie counting notebook and move on. But I try to get a good balance in. I read other people’s blogs to learn from what they’re doing, to get inspired by them. And I love it. I love this community. It’s amazing finding other people that just get it. They just know what you’re going through because most likely, they’re in the same boat.

    Can’t wait to hear about the Jamie recipe!

  7. May 8, 2010 at 9:07 AM

    I think it’s totally reasonable if you only have time to post a few times a week. In the beginning I used to post all week and even on weekends, but now I don’t post on weekends anymore. It’s just too much, with the housework, the kids being home, and just life in general. At first I felt bad about not blogging on weekends, but now it’s kind of a relief! I was finding that sometimes I only had time to blog late at night, and it was cutting into my very valuable sleep time, which isn’t so good!

  8. May 8, 2010 at 7:32 PM

    Oh…. didn’t know that we were related… EXACTLY how I feel sometimes.

    So much- wife, kids, job, exercise… blogging. Gets too much sometimes.

    Thanks!

    WeighDownSouth.com

  9. May 9, 2010 at 12:49 AM

    I’m also looking forward to your latest repice post–those are totally my favorite!

    I don’t really think that I’ve had too many problems with being obsessed with my blog (I don’t have enought readers to worry!), but I have had problems with reading too many other blogs. I think I’m at like 25 or 30 to read. So really, when you don’t blog, it makes my life easier. Lol!

    Don’t sweat not posting when you’re busy–as long as you’re on track!

  10. Kat
    May 9, 2010 at 2:18 AM

    I can relate to the struggle with balance and blogging. I am self employed and business has been much busier than it was 6 months ago. As a result I am not able to comment as often. I would also like to blog more, but I am committed to daily exercise, not daily blogging…:-) I do what I can, when I can. I think people understand too. I hope you are having a fabulous weekend and glad to hear that your dad is healing well.

  11. May 17, 2010 at 5:54 PM

    It’s really to get caught up in blogging and lose the balance in your life. Blogging can take up way too much time. I know that I struggled with it a tiny bit in the past but then realized the less I obsess over my blog the better it is (or at least the more money I make…oddly enough).

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
