Home > General > Weekly Weigh-In: Going Bananas

Weekly Weigh-In: Going Bananas

May 8, 2010

First, a little fun.  Nearly every morning, I have cereal with either half a banana, dried cherries, or blueberries for breakfast.  This morning when I had my cereal, I couldn’t get the Ba nah-nah-nah song out of my mind.  (Yes – if you read last week’s weigh in post, I apparently go around on Saturday mornings with songs stuck in my head.)  If you haven’t seen it – here’s the YouTube sensation you’ve been missing:

Getting down to more serious business…  I apparently went bananas with my weight loss this week, too.  Well, not quite, but I did post a gain for the first time in a long time.  It’s fairly negligible at .8 pounds, but it’s a gain nonetheless, which is not the right direction for the scales to move.  I had planned to substitute my weekly weigh in post this week with a six month retrospective.  But I thought this gain deserved a post all its own so I could examine why it happened, and not spoil the celebration that will be my six month post.

So why did it happen?  I could say it was fluid retention from a high sodium meal the night before, or just that inexplicable variation that sometimes happens, but I’m pretty sure that’s not it this week.  As I looked back at my food records, I saw the Mexican dinner with my friend last Saturday night that included more chips than I would normally eat, a wickedly good margarita, plus my half of an order of sopapillas that the waiter sent out because it was our first time trying the restaurant.  And I saw the sinfully delicious frozen mocha drink I had at Caribou Coffee later that night.  And I saw the little mini-binge I had Wednesday night, when I came home exhausted after having had a sleep study the night before, and then spent 13 hours at the hospital with my dad after his knee replacement surgery.  Other than those transgressions, my nutrition for the week was pretty good, but I honestly expected those two nights to add up to a little more than a .8 pound gain.

Especially given that I exercised once, yes once, all week long.  My exercise motivation since finishing my 5K has been dismal.  I think it’s a combination of things, including a bit of a mind-game that you play with yourself after accomplishing a goal like a race, and also a few things going on that have made my career and home life kind of bananas lately, but it’s not something I’m happy about.  So today, when I saw the gain on the scale, I pulled the trigger on registering for my next 5K – the Save our Skin (SOS) 5K here in Atlanta benefiting the Skin Cancer Awareness Network on May 29!  Having a race out in front of me really does give me the extra motivation to haul my fat @$$ off the couch and onto the pavement.  And I’m going for a session with my trainer, Anna, on Monday where I fully expect and hope to be totally whipped.

So that’s my story this week, and as much as I wish I didn’t have to, I’m sticking to it…  Here are the stats:

Starting Weight (10/31/09): 308 pounds

Last Week (5/1/10): 247.4 pounds

This Week (5/8/10): 248.2 pounds

Weekly Gain: 0.8 pounds

Total Loss: 59.8 pounds

  1. May 8, 2010 at 9:12 PM

    I think registering for your next race is a great way to go. That way you have a goal there and you have to work towards it. It’s like constantly putting one foot in front of the other instead of like “Oh, milestone reached. Done…”

    I seriously think the 0.8 is negligible and I have gain weeks too. I’m learning how to get over them. Sometimes, it’s just weird things your body is figuring out, especially if you ate out and had more sodium than usual.

    Either way, keep it up Chad! I’m super stoked for your 5K 🙂 You will rock it.

  2. Kat
    May 9, 2010 at 2:13 AM

    Chad – you are doing great overall. Sometimes there are weeks that are more challenging than others. Good luck on your next race – it will be here in no time! I will be doing my first 5k the following week…:-)

  3. May 9, 2010 at 12:08 PM

    Yes, signing up for your next race is a great idea to help keep yourself motivated. But I wouldn’t get too worked up over a .8 lb gain, I mean that’s like NOTHING. Just don’t make a trend out of it, and you’ll be fine 🙂

  4. May 9, 2010 at 1:15 PM

    Man, I know exactly what you mean about the lull following the 5K. I’ve been experiencing the same thing, especially when it comes to running. Having a particular goal in mind is a definite motivator. For me I’m just trying to figure out what the next goal will be. Don’t fret too much about the .8+ on the scale. You can use it as a catalyst to make this week an awesome one! Here’s to a great week to come!

  5. May 9, 2010 at 4:13 PM
  6. May 9, 2010 at 9:37 PM

    Registering for a race is a great way to stay motivated. Looking forward to following your progress.

  7. May 10, 2010 at 11:08 AM

    Great idea, Chad. It’s always dangerous when I reach a milestone and feel like I can take a break. Don’t like that.

    Hope you get your butt whipped today!

  8. May 10, 2010 at 3:45 PM

    Great…now I can’t get that song out of my head! 🙂

    Congrats on signing up for your next 5k. I can’t wait until I’m ready to sign up for my first one. Oh and don’t beat yourself up over a .8 weight gain. I found out last week that it is just not worth it. Also, thanks for the great blog. Always great to see others with the same goals as me.

  9. Erin
    May 10, 2010 at 4:14 PM

    Bananas FTW!!!

    You can beat yourself up over 0.8 or you can give yourself a new goal to achieve. I think you know the best option…

    • May 10, 2010 at 10:53 PM

      Oops… I thought it was apples you hated? Bananas, too?

  10. May 10, 2010 at 5:56 PM

    Hi Chad! I guess a gain is bound to happen eventually! I’m sure you won’t let it get you down though. You’ll probably get right back to kicking butt next week! You’re definitely doing the right thing by registering for another race to ramp that motivation up again.

  1. May 15, 2010 at 7:12 PM
Comments are closed.
