Home > Nutrition > Nutrition Monday: I'm a Chobani Convert

Nutrition Monday: I'm a Chobani Convert

May 10, 2010

No, I haven’t joined an obscure Eastern religion – I’m still a Methodist.  For those of you uninitiated in the Greek yogurt craze that’s sweeping foodies and health nuts across the nation, Chobani is a brand of Greek yogurt, usually with fruit on the bottom.  My nutritionist recommended Chobani to me way back at our very first appointment on my actual 30th birthday last October.  I’ve never been much of a yogurt person, thinking even Breyer’s or Yoplait tasted like flavored bad breath until I was well into my twenties, so this Greek yogurt thing scared me a little bit.  Greek yogurt is more pungent than regular yogurt, and I blogged months back on how I just couldn’t do Greek yogurt, or a Scandinavian (maybe it was Icelandic, I can’t rememeber) yogurt called Skyr that I tried.  You can read the details here, but long story short, I thought they tasted like @$$.

The last time I tried Chobani was literally the day after I first met with my nutritionist in October.  That was enough for me at the time.  Truly.  My nutritionist is amazing, so I thought we just happened to have different taste preferences when it came to this stuff.  Nutritionally, Greek yogurt has a much higher protein content than regular yogurt, so it fills you up more effectively (at least this is my layman’s understanding of the concept), but I had decided I didn’t like Greek yogurt, and that was that.  (I can be quite decisive with food when I want to be).  Then a series of seemingly innocuous conversations and readings of tweets got me to reconsider.  A couple of weeks ago I was having dinner with friends, and the conversation turned to healthy eating as a number of us around the table have been making some changes.  Somehow Chobani came up, followed by the raves about how good it was.  I weighed in with how vile I thought the stuff was, and one of my friends asked what flavor I had tried.  When I said my one and only Chobani experience had been blueberry, she said it was pretty tart, and I should definitely try the peach.

A few days ago, Josie (aka Yum Yucky) tweeted something along the lines of how refreshing her Chobani peach yogurt was.  And a couple of other people tweeted nice things about Chobani in response.  So with my friend’s comment about peach Chobani, and Yum Yucky’s tweet about peach Chobani in mind, I decided to buy some – you guessed it – peach Chobani!  I opened the container apprehensively.  Fully expecting that I was still going to be the odd one out in this Greek yogurt craze, I held my nose and peeled back the foil.  Yep – the pungency was still there, but I stirred in the peaches from the bottom of the container and gave it a whirl.  Not bad!  I was surprised to admit that it was palatable!  And the more I ate, it wasn’t just palatable, it was really good!  I added a little high fiber cereal to make it a balanced protein/carbohydrate snack, and this stuff kept me totally satiated for five hours!!!!!

I had it for breakfast again this morning, with the cereal again, and I didn’t even get the least bit hungry until four hours later!  That’s a shift for me since I’m usually gnawing at the inside of my cheek just a couple of hours after breakfast.  So I guess you can call me a convert.  I don’t know that I’ll be eating plain Greek yogurt anytime soon anymore than I’ll be trying the bikram yoga that B.J.’s been blogging about over at Journey to Sanctification – but Chobani now gets two thumbs up from this reluctant yogurt eater!

  1. May 11, 2010 at 5:29 AM

    I found a Chobani variety pack at my local Sams Club and I really liked it. I have not tried any other brand/kind of Greek Yogurt BECAUSE I had heard some other reviewers negativity towards the taste.

    Chobani is pretty delicious – all thanks to the fruit on the bottom I assume. I actually use mine and add in more fresh fruit in the blender for smoothies.

    I LOVE any product that gives me more protein!

    🙂

    Julia
    http://jewliagoulia.blogspot.com

  2. May 11, 2010 at 5:34 AM

    WOHOO! I’m glad you enjoyed it. Strawberry was my first flavor and peach was my second and I like both. The blueberry row at the store was completely full while the other two were more depleted, so I went with the other two. I’ll have to try the blueberry though, just for kicks. I wonder if Chobani would taste good semi-frozen. Like fro-yo? Maybe we should give it a try haha.

    It’s great that you’re re-trying things you didn’t like at first! HUGE step. Good job Chad!

  3. May 11, 2010 at 10:05 AM

    I’ve never tried it. I don’t think I’ve seen it in a store near here either. I’m going to have to look around. I’m a yogurt fan so I’m sure I’ll like it.

    Great story.

  4. May 11, 2010 at 10:27 AM

    Hey, Chad, thanks for the shout-out! Funny you should mention it, too, but I have some plain Chobani in my lunch bag today. Hilarious!

    Isn’t it funny how our taste buds change as we go furhter down this path to healthy eating?

    Glad you’re still a Methodist. Lol!

    • May 11, 2010 at 11:28 AM

      That’s too funny. All I can say is you are truly hardcore with your hot yoga and plain Greek yogurt! LOL!

  5. May 11, 2010 at 10:51 AM

    taste buds can change, thats a good thing

  6. May 11, 2010 at 11:32 AM

    I like the Chobani frut on the bottom but the plain is absolute death, even with fruit cut up in it. Once I tried Fage I was a total convert and Chobani is like Starbucks, I’ll drink it if I have to but otherwise I’ll goto the Italian coffee shop.

    • May 11, 2010 at 12:23 PM

      The only Fage I’ve tried is the plain 2%, used to mix in with my Yoplait light to up the protein in it (not too bad), along with the Fage with honey which I couldn’t do. Maybe I should give some of their fruit flavors a shot.

  7. May 11, 2010 at 12:16 PM

    I love greek yogurt, although I eat the plain Fage brand. yum!

  8. Erin
    May 11, 2010 at 3:00 PM

    Out of all the dairy products I miss – Greek yogurt is #1 on the list. I loved my Fage, though. Sooo good.

  9. May 11, 2010 at 6:55 PM

    I’ve been hearing so much about this yogurt too – so I’ve looked for it twice this week at two different grocery stores and I can’t find it! There’s a greek grocery store near my gym, so I will try there tomorrow.

  10. May 12, 2010 at 12:31 AM

    Good review. I’ll have to try the stuff. The peach one. 🙂

  11. May 12, 2010 at 12:53 AM

    I’m a big yogurt eater, I have that stuff pretty much every morning for breakfast. Maybe I should give this one a try. I’ll let you know how it went…

    • May 14, 2010 at 3:07 PM

      K, there is no Chobani at Walmart so I bought Stonyfield Greek yogurt instead. Tried the vanilla, tastes good. I’m liking it!

      • May 15, 2010 at 1:52 AM

        Glad you like it, Greg!

  12. JC
    May 12, 2010 at 5:33 PM

    I eat quite a bit of yogurt (well, one or two yoplait lights a day) I’m going to give this Chobani a shot. Protein = good!

  13. May 13, 2010 at 7:09 PM

    I got here by way of bouncing around on some other links and just wanted to say thanks for the review.

    I hadn’t tried Chobani yet but am a fan of greek yogurt. Just yesterday I was at the store and I remembered your post.

    I picked up some raspberry Chobani..

    DELISH!

  14. Julia
    May 26, 2010 at 3:59 PM

    Anyone can make their own flavors. Add fresh, frozen or canned (rinse first) fruit to plain Greek-style yoghurt. If it isn’t sweet enough and you aren’t adverse to artifical sweeteners you can add that along with a dash of vanilla extract. I love it!

    I also use Plain Greek Style Yoghurt (Fat Free) when I make smoothies. The variety is endless!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
