Home > General > Weekly Weigh-In: Everything's Bigger in Texas?

Weekly Weigh-In: Everything's Bigger in Texas?

May 15, 2010

Well – I’ve taken Reconstructing 30 on the road this weekend.  I’m in my adopted hometown of Houston!  I lived here for a little over three years, and I really did love it.  Houston isn’t for everyone, and it’s very much a car-based city, but it really has some amazing assets, including the Texas Medical Center (the world’s largest!), some really beautiful neighborhoods with fantastic parks and museums, and wonderfully friendly people.  If you’ve never visited Houston, here’s a taste of it – convention and visitors’ bureau style:

So I’m here to take care of a bit of business (if you know of anyone who wants to buy a beautiful 2BR/2BA condo near the Texas Medical Center and Rice University, send them my way!), but the nice side benefit is getting to see my wonderful friends here in Houston.  Which includes visiting some of Houston’s amazing restaurants…  Am I making perfect choices that would lead to consistent weight loss if I ate these things on a daily basis?  No.  Am I making mainly healthy choices, controlling portions, and eating better than I would have if I were here six months ago?  Absolutely.

And that starts to sum up the lessons of the past week for me, which are really the lessons that are the culmination of an experience that’s been going on for three or four weeks now.  Since my first 5K, I’ve been in an exercise funk.  I felt as if I had achieved something, and subconsciously, I was done.  Goal finished.  Check the box.  Move on.  Add to that three or four major life events – career, financial, family, etc., and I was quickly losing my focus.  I was still eating healthily, but I was giving myself more and more leeway with food.  And exercise was dismal.  I’d do a strength training routine once a week and play the Wii for cardio just so I didn’t feel like a total louse.

I wasn’t gaining weight, and I was still losing (until last week), so what I had really done was to slip into maintenance without really intending to.  Last week, though, I did post a weekly gain – my first in a very long time – and that got my attention.  I made appointments with my trainer and my nutritionist, and I was determined to get back on track.

I went in to see my trainer wanting to get my @$$ kicked, and instead, she went all compassionate Jillian on me.  Instead of exercise, she pulled and pulled to get me to figure out and tell her why I had given exercise less priority.  After lots of “I dunno’s” and, Her: “What’s going through your head when you decide not to exercise?”, Me: “Nothing,” I finally did start to figure things out as I realized that my focus had changed.  When I started this reconstruction, it was literally to save my life.  I was morbidly obese at 308 pounds and only 30 years old.  My BMI was well into the forties, I was pre-diabetic/insulin resistant, I’d had my gallbladder removed just months earlier for gallstones, my cholesterol was much too high and totally out of whack, as were my triglycerides, I had the beginnings of restrictive airway disease, and I had just been diagnosed with moderate sleep apnea.  I was convinced that I would have a heart attack, if not die, by the time I was 35 or 40.  And that’s what got me motivated.  Weight loss wasn’t about vanity then, it was about saving myself.

As the pounds came off, and many of my health problems improved or resolved, I started to feel great.  The crisis was averted, and I was no longer in imminent danger.  It was then, somewhere after breaking through the 250 pound mark, that my focus began to shift.  Instead of saving my life, I began to focus once again on my appearance.  I’d catch a glimpse of myself in the mirror, and I’d get discouraged.  Here I’d lost this amazing amount of weight, I was working my tail off, and I’d made this transformation in my mind – I felt like a thin guy, and the mirror just reminded me, I was still a fat guy!  Crap.  So that started to feed my discouragement, too.

What I finally realized, after this few weeks of a funk, is that while I’ve averted the crisis, I am still a fat guy.  Obese, to be precise.  Not morbidly obese anymore, thank God, but still obese.  And in the 240’s now, while I’ve definitely averted near certain disaster with my health, I haven’t eradicated the risk completely.  At best, I’ve just put off all the potential cardiac problems, diabetes, etc., by 15-20 years.  That’s fantastic, but I don’t want to die in my late 40’s or 50’s either.

So it clicked with me this week that I’ve still got work to do!!!  I’m so much better off than I was, but I’m not where I need to be.  And it’s not an eating plan, or an exercise plan, that’s going to get me to my ultimate goal, it’s a changed lifestyle.  Daily choices that are healthy more often than not – that’s what will get me to a normal weight.  Days or meals that are “on plan” or “off plan” are a thing of the past.  As my nutritionist said yesterday, this has to be just how Chad lives his life!  I love that.  And that’s what I’m doing.  This past week my nutrition has been great again, and my exercise is ramping back up.  So is everything bigger in Texas this weekend?

No way!!!  I don’t have scales here, so I weighed in yesterday morning at home before jetting, and I was at 246.0 pounds even!!!  That’s a 2.2 pound loss from last week, and it brings my total loss to 62 pounds!

So I’ve been meaning to do a six month update post, and I’ve been putting it off mainly because I’ve been in this little funk.  In all honesty, this post feels like it.  I don’t think I’m going to put a big period or exclamation mark at the end of six months of my reconstruction by doing a special post.  Because I’m not finished.  So think of this post as a comma, or as one big metaphorical set of ellipsis.  I don’t have the set up here on my netbook in the hotel to do a grouping of updated photos of my progress, but I’ll get them up when I get home to Atlanta.  I hope you’ll continue to join me for the rest of this journey.

To be continued…

  1. May 16, 2010 at 2:29 PM

    I think what you were experiencing is very common after losing a good amount of weight. I call it the complacency crisis! I did the same thing – I had lost some weight and then felt so much better that I got complacent and just maintained for a while. Once I realized, like you did, that I wasn’t “done” yet I got serious again.

    I wanted to tell you that I think you’ve done an amazing job! Have a good time in Houston!

  2. Dawn
    May 16, 2010 at 10:21 PM

    I’m 32, was forced to change my life at 30, working on losing 80 pounds, running my first 5K on June 5, and live in Houston.

    I just stumbled on your blog while trying to undo the nervese that are already building and it’s still 2 weeks to the run!

    Anyway, just wanted to say what a fantastic job you’re doing!

    • May 16, 2010 at 11:26 PM

      I’m glad you’re here, Dawn! Good luck with your first 5K!!! It’s an exhilarating feeling; you’ll feel very proud of yourself when you’re done! Houston has lots of great places to run – I only wished I had taken advantage of them when I lived there. Best of luck, thanks for the comment, and let me know how you do with the 5K!

  3. May 17, 2010 at 3:36 PM

    I’ve been in a similar funk lately. I’ve lost a good amount of weight, I’m looking and feeling much better than I have in years, and that’s actually causing me to have a more difficult time finding motivation. I look at myself in the mirror, and am much happier with what I see – but I still see someone who could stand to lose another 20-30 pounds.

    I still have work to do too, and I just have to keep reminding myself that even though I’m looking and feeling much better than before, I’m not there yet. There’s still a long journey ahead of me, because even once I finish losing the rest of the weight that I set out to lose, I still have the rest of my life to live a healthy, happy life.

    Let’s get ‘er done!

  4. May 17, 2010 at 6:01 PM

    I don’t think there needs to be any big 6 months post or anything. You are in this for life, right? It’s all good. You’ve still got work to do so go do it. 🙂

  5. May 18, 2010 at 3:31 PM

    “Days or meals that are “on plan” or “off plan” are a thing of the past.”

    I like this Chad!!! This is what I am working towards also.

  6. May 19, 2010 at 4:55 AM

    You know, I totally had a revelation about the word “maintenance” today. Post coming soon, but it has a lot to do with it being similar to “how Chad lives his life”.

    I don’t ever use the phrase “on” and “off” plan. It’s simply Jess’ choice. It’s a life choice, which is why I stress guilt-free eating because you can’t feel guilty for living your life. Shit happens, things happen, people happen. And not every day will be PERFECT because you don’t live in a bubble, and that’s ok!

    I’m glad your trainer pushed you to figure out what was going on up there in the membrane. Mental games are rough, and it takes some probing to find out what’s going on. And I’m glad you did it. You really didn’t have to, but because you did, you came to a realization 🙂 And I’m proud of you for that.

    Keep working towards the guy you know you can be.

  7. Jay
    May 20, 2010 at 2:15 AM

    I was in Houston the other day, it’s seemed like a nice place to live. I was only there for a couple days. 🙂

  8. Kat
    May 22, 2010 at 8:18 AM

    Enjoy Houston. It is a great city. Good for you for getting yourself motivated to lose again. You are doing great!

  1. May 23, 2010 at 7:08 PM
Comments are closed.
