Home > General > Weekly Weigh-In: An Amazing Weekend!

Weekly Weigh-In: An Amazing Weekend!

May 23, 2010

This has been an amazing weekend on the Reconstructing 30 front!  And I’ve been enjoying it too much to take time out to blog until now.  First of all, the weather is spectacular here in the Atlanta area this weekend.  It’s hot (90+ degrees today), but it’s not yet humid, so it’s been an amazing weekend to have lunches on patios (check), and then get some work and blogging done in a glass coffee shop with views of the skyline (check).

My weekend started with my weigh in.  I was at 243.6, a 2.4 pound loss from last week (even with my trip to Houston last weekend!) and a 64.4 pound loss total now from my highest weight of 308 pounds.   My Saturday morning routine is typically to weigh, have breakfast, and then e-mail my nutritionist my food records from the last week to stay accountable and to get her feedback.  I’ve done that every Saturday for the past 6+ months now.  This week (culminating in the weekend), I decided to just eat according to the healthy guidelines I know I should follow, without recording every bite that went in my mouth.  I did pretty well, but if I find myself straying from a healthy diet or posting gains or very small losses, I’ll pick the journaling back up in a heartbeat.  I’m just trying to figure out what will work for me as I accept this continuing weight loss as a lifestyle as opposed to a plan I’m following.  So that was a minor victory, and we’ll see how it plays out over the next few weeks.

Then came the fun part – going shopping for clothes.  For me to say shopping for clothes was fun is kind of out of character for me.  I’ve never hated it like some guys do, but it’s never been something I’d particularly look forward to spending a Saturday morning doing, either.  But yesterday was literally  fun!!!  The fun began when I realized I could shop in regular stores and wear regular sizes again!  I had been wearing some of my old, smaller clothes as I’ve been losing weight, but even they were getting kind of big on me, so I ventured into places I hadn’t really shopped with much success since high school and college – the Gap and Banana Republic, the latter of which I have always found to be notoriously slim fitting for guys like me, who will be broad shouldered and big-boned even at our ideal weights.

I quickly found that my shirt size has dropped from a 3X (certainly not even a size available at either of these stores, but relegated to the humiliating “Big ‘n Tall” stores in suburban strip malls) to an XL, and my pant size has gone down four sizes from a 46 to a 38!!!  So I was actually able to buy stylish clothes again instead of just wearing the glorified human tents that the big and tall shops sell.  This is a huge step in the psychological journey from fat to thin that accompanies the physical reconstruction taking place.  All the sudden, you start to view yourself as normal again – it’s fantastic!

So I was already riding a high from my clothes shopping when I jumped on the treadmill last night.  As I’ve written, I’ve been in a serious exercise funk since my 5K last month.   But this week, I’ve been getting back on the ball in a serious way.  I haven’t been perfect, but when today’s over I will have gotten in 3 of my 4 goal days for cardio and 1 of my 2 goal days for strength training.  And hopefully next week will have me back up to full speed ahead reaching both those goals.  The best part, though, isn’t just getting back on the wagon, but posting two consecutive personal bests for stretches of running without stopping to walk.  I’ve been interval training for a couple of months now, and I’ve gotten much better at how far I can run, but it’s still a little dismal at times.  So Tuesday, I went for a run in the park, and I ran over half a mile before I had to stop and walk.  I know that doesn’t sound like much, but it was a personal best for me at the time, so I was stoked!  Then last night I jumped on the treadmill, and I was determined to do at least half a mile running before walking for a bit.  And I did.  And I kept going.  And going.  And going!!!  Before I knew it, I had run a mile and half without stopping to walk!!!  The runner’s high kicked in a huge way!  I felt totally accomplished, and I think it helped me find my overall motivation to get back with exercise.  I can’t wait to jump on the treadmill again tonight.

So that’s my story for this weekend, and I’m sticking to it.  How was your weekend?

  1. May 24, 2010 at 12:03 PM

    That’s awesome about going from a 3XL to XL! I definitely need to do some shopping like that as well. Most of my old shirts are either XL or 2XL, and they’re all getting pretty big at this point. I haven’t tried yet, but I’m pretty sure I could fit into a L at this point. My pants, too, are getting nice and baggy. The waists on my pants now are either 38 or 40, and I had to punch a new hole in my belt a couple weeks back!

    If having to buy new clothes is the biggest drawback to losing weight and getting in shape, I think I can live with that 🙂

  2. Erin
    May 24, 2010 at 1:28 PM

    What a transformation in the clothing department! Exciting!

  3. May 24, 2010 at 9:09 PM

    Glad you has an amazing weekend!

    Congrats on going down a clothes size. That’s always super exciting. 🙂

  4. May 25, 2010 at 9:56 AM

    I know exactly what your feeling it rocks! When I go in store clerks now come up to help since I am a possible sale.

  5. May 25, 2010 at 10:59 AM

    Great job with the loss!

    Dang! You are dropping sizes like crazy. keep it up Chad!

  6. fitfan
    May 25, 2010 at 3:12 PM

    Congratulations on the new sizes! I remember when I went from a 40+ pant size to a 38–what a huge mental hurdle to overcome! I’m down to a 33 that’s way too big on me, but I’m trying to hold off on buying new jeans for another month or so. You’ll get here, too!

    Incidentally, I went through the same letdown after my first 5k. Unfortunately, after I finished the race, I didn’t run again for about 8 months! I do not recommend this, as almost all of the hard work I’d done to train to be ready for the 5k was wasted. 😦 I don’t know if you followed a program for your 5k training, but I followed the Couch to 5k program using the Robert Ullrey podcasts. After the 8 months, I started back up again in week 5 of 9 (I think–it might’ve been week 4) and it really helped me get back into it. It’s also a convenient 3 times per week cardio program!

  7. May 25, 2010 at 6:13 PM

    Hey Chad! Your progress is totally inspiring. Good job with the loss this week, and of course with the smaller clothes size! That is just the best thing ever, when your clothes start to get loose, and then so loose that you need to purchase new ones. Way to go with the running as well. You are doing so great!

  8. May 25, 2010 at 7:30 PM

    YOU EXPERIENCED RUNNER’S HIGH! Did you love it? Awesome 🙂 So proud of you! Keep it up!

    I’m glad you’re working on the lifestyle change instead of it being just a “diet plan” because this thing is serious business. We’re in this for LIFE.

    By the way, I’m glad you’re liking shopping. I’m hoping I’ll get back to that stage again. I used to avoid shopping because I hated being plus-sized. Now I avoid shopping because I go through my clothes pretty quickly and don’t have the dough. Gotta find a good medium.

    Nice job on the loss! The vacation served you well 🙂 You needed and deserved it!

  9. May 26, 2010 at 10:46 AM

    Wow Chad, that’s awesome! I’m glad you were able to shop in “normal” stores again. How fun is that? And cheaper, too (unless you go all high-brow on us)!

    Runner’s high? I’ve never had one–you’re lucky! And amazing. That’s so great.

    Oh, and the loss? Awesome!

  10. May 30, 2010 at 3:29 PM

    Congrats on the awesome weekend and your clothing transformation! I still haven’t achieved that runners’ high feeling, but I keep plodding away hoping for it to find me!

  11. June 3, 2010 at 5:05 PM

    Wow! Chad, 64 lbs is like losing a small person. You should be DAMN proud of yourself. I know I am!!! Keep it up! I’m cheering for you-

  12. Kat
    June 8, 2010 at 6:16 AM

    Awesome. You are doing so well.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
