Home > Exercise, General > Weekly Weigh-In #44: Live Life Today!

Weekly Weigh-In #44: Live Life Today!

August 28, 2010

Okay, so this post is going to seem a bit all over the place, but it really all comes down to the same premise, so I’ll do my best to tie it all together.  First of all, today was my 44th weekly weigh in, and I came in at 235.2 pounds!!!  That’s a 2.9 pound loss from last week, and I’ve now lost 72.8 pounds total from my starting weight of 308 pounds on October 30th of last year.  Yay.  Woo-hoo.  Go me.  Now down to business.

Not that I’m minimizing my loss this week, but here’s the deal: I know how to lose weight.  I’ve been doing it consistently for nearly a year now.  This journey is about weight loss.  But it’s also about getting healthy and fit.  And exercise is a big part of that; it’s not all about nutrition.  While I was studying for the bar exam, I also ended up experiencing a layoff.  That’s something I haven’t yet talked about on this blog, but there you have it.  It’s pretty common, unfortunately, in this economy, and between that and trying to get on track for the bar exam, I completely lost my exercise mojo.  I’d get in a stray run every now and then – maybe once a week at most – but nothing consistent.  My awesome trainer and nutritionist started encouraging me after the bar to just get back into it, and it brought back the old Nike slogan, “Just Do It!,” which I love for all kinds of reasons.  In fact, I remembered this Nike commercial this past week as I was trying to get back into gear with exercise:

Don’t you love that?!?  Seriously, what was I waiting for?  I lost this weight for a reason – to be able to do things I couldn’t before, to be healthier, to be more confident, to enjoy my life more, to enjoy my family and friends more, to be the person I always knew I could be if I only had the confidence to move forward.  And by putting exercise on hold because of these other circumstances that had me stressed out, I’d done the new me (that had always been there, just waiting to get out) a disservice.

So yesterday, I began Week 1, Day 1 of the Couch to 5K program (C25K).  The C25K program is a set program of interval training to take someone of a moderate fitness level and get you in shape for a 5K.  (I, personally, think if you were truly going from the “couch” with no other exercise you’d find this really hard, so check with your doctor first).  I’d seen other bloggers do C25K before, and having my little independent, I won’t follow the crowd streak that I do, I thought – “Nope, not for me.”  But…  My friend Michelle and I are registered for a 5K here in Atlanta on my 31st birthday – October 30, 2010, and I’m none to eager to make a fool of myself at the race!  It will mark one year of Reconstructing Thirty for me, and I’m determined to run the whole thing.  It will also mark Michelle’s first 5K, which is exciting all on its own.  So Michelle had downloaded a C25K podcast, suggested it to me, and I finally gave it a shot yesterday.  It was AWESOME.  If you’re not familiar with these podcasts by Robert Ullrey, get your butt over to his website by clicking here!  They’re free, and they’re awesome.

So…I’m getting back on track with exercise, and I’m going to OWN that 5K to mark my full year of Reconstructing Thirty!!!!!  But, as I was thinking about the whole, “Just Do It!” concept, I started thinking, too, about why I lost weight in the first place, and why I continue to journey towards an even healthier weight.  I mentioned some of those reasons above, and I realized that I’m lucky enough now to be able to do so many of those things.  And if I’m able, I’m going to do them now, and enjoy them!  A friend posted a link to this article on facebook today, and it’s worth a look.  It talks about the top five regrets of the dying, from the perspective of a long time palliative care nurse.  I have a bit of experience with this myself as I worked with patients and families in a cancer hospital for over three years, most often at the end of life.  I don’t want to get to that point, and wish I’d lived my life differently.

Life is short.  Those of us who have allowed our bodies to become unhealthy through poor diet and lack of exercise , and have then taken the reigns and regained control of our health and fitness owe it to ourselves to do two things, and to do them TODAY!  First, continue the healthy habits that have gotten you to where you are.  Without them, a relapse of our unhealthy selves will lurk around the corner.  Second, LIVE YOUR LIFE, TODAY!!!  DO the things you GOT HEALTHY TO DO!!!!!  If you wanted to be able to play with your children, DO IT.  If you wanted to be able to run a race, DO IT.  If you wanted to find love, DO IT.  If you wanted to go skydiving, DO IT.  (I don’t understand that last one, but to each his own).  A few have observed that since my return to blogging, I don’t post here quite as often.  That’s because I’m out there doing the things I wanted to get healthy to do!  I love blogging, and I look forward to my Saturday posts here, but I love lots of other things, too, and I’m enjoying life now more than ever.  I just have to remember that healthy diet and exercise got me here, and they’re what will keep me here as a I continue to lose those last 40 or so pounds to bring me down to a healthy weight for me.

Why did you lose weight, or why do you want to lose weight?  What do you need to just DO???  What are you waiting for?????

  1. August 28, 2010 at 7:12 PM

    I love that commercial, and have no problem admitting that I have pulled it up on Youtube a few times in the past looking for some motivation.

    And I love the facebook article (stole, I mean “shared” the link on my wall too) 😛

    I once said that I wanted to lose weight to get my life back. I’ve created my own prison for myself by letting myself get this big, and I extended the stay by gaining alot of weight back. I want to be healthier, happier and I don’t want to let my weight get in the way.

  2. August 28, 2010 at 10:00 PM

    Whooo hoooooo!!! Great loss and great attitude. I hope to have my comeback post next week and rejoin the pack!!!
    You’re gonna do great on the 5K. I can feel it in me bones!

  3. August 29, 2010 at 10:22 AM

    Awesome progress Chad – both the weight loss and your positive attitude!

  4. August 29, 2010 at 6:22 PM

    Yes, yes, yes! I loved C25K and I’m convinced you’ll become a runner!

  5. August 30, 2010 at 10:11 PM

    I LOVE THIS POST.
    We are both nearing our one year mark…it’s exciting isn’t it??? I know you’ll rock the 5k. I can tell you that C25K played such a huge role in helping me create my running base. I hope it does the same for you!

    Why do I want to lose weight? To be the athlete I’ve always wanted to be but never thought I could be.

    • August 31, 2010 at 12:27 AM

      Thanks, Josie! It is exciting to be nearing our one year marks!!! I’m enjoying C25K; the thing that irritates me with myself is that I had worked up to being what I considered being a runner, and now I’m back to basics…..argh….but I’m doing what I have to do!

  6. August 31, 2010 at 10:31 AM

    I like this post. It’s one of those defining points in one’s journey, and you totally nailed it on the head–just do it. Whatever you wanted to lose the weight for, make sure you’re doing that while and when you’ve lost the weight. Awesome, Chad!!

  7. August 31, 2010 at 11:23 AM

    You inspire me. Congrat’s on another great loss!! Good luck on your 5K. Since you’re practicing, doesn’t that make you a runner already?? Yes. I want to loose weight so that I “feel” better, emotionaly and physically. I’m tired. And I so want to not be tired, embarassed, ashamed and uncomfortable any more. Keep up the great attitude!!

  8. August 31, 2010 at 3:53 PM

    Great loss this week Chad! I LOVE that Nike commercial, it’s great! Things like that make me want to get off my butt and go run around! 🙂

  9. September 13, 2010 at 1:22 AM

    It’s been awhile let us know how it’s going. I am doing a mini-blog for the next 8 weeks, hope you can show me some support.

  10. GR
    September 24, 2010 at 3:48 PM

    Chad, been a month, hope all still is well

  11. September 30, 2010 at 10:28 PM

    Hope you’re doing well Chad, just stopping by to say hi! Are you still doing C25K?

  12. October 22, 2010 at 3:11 PM

    Hey hope you having a good healthy Fall, keep us informed!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
