Home > Exercise > I've been high – I've been low – I've been yes, and I've been oh, hell no!

I've been high – I've been low – I've been yes, and I've been oh, hell no!

June 5, 2011

Alright friends…it’s on! This running beast is back. No more highs, lows, yeses and nos – just flat out good nutrition and training to conquer this marathon! This afternoon I took my first long run in a long time. Forty-five minutes through my neighborhood. I waited until the heat of the Atlanta summer had broken – and I didn’t go out until about 7:30, but it was still hot. Music gets me through running better than anything else, and today was a mix of The Killers, Rihanna, and Train’s cover of “Save Me San Francisco,” that I strangely connected with on my up and down journey of weight and fitness. Love the video, too!

Ahh…such a fun video! Meanwhile, back in Atlanta, I was planning on a relatively easy jog/walk, but I ended up challenging myself with a few sprints, too. The first was self-imposed. The second and third came for other reasons. With the second, I had planned to stop one run at a telephone pole, but I came up on a woman running with her dog, and I wanted to look all bad-ass, so I kicked it into high gear, and ran till I passed her. (Not that I’m competitive or anything…) The third was similarly inspired, by my seeing a couple coming towards me, and not wanting to slow down right before I got to them, so I picked it up, and ran, get this, UPHILL.

And I only got one side-stitch through the whole thing. Not too shabby. Not too shabby at all. I’m gonna do this thing! What about you, do you set goals for yourself while running? Like, “I’m gonna sprint to that mailbox/speed bump/telephone pole?” Do your goals get pushed along by wanting to showboat for passersby? 😉 Take care y’all – talk to you later this week. My goal? To get in at least three more runs between now and next Saturday.

  1. Taryn
    June 6, 2011 at 9:36 AM

    Good for you Chad! I have such respect for long distance runners. Myself, I am “training” to run (read: jog/walk) the Peachtree in a few weeks. I’ve been doing the Couch to 5K program. Since the Peachtree is a 10K, I’m probably screwed.

    • June 6, 2011 at 11:13 AM

      Thanks, Taryn! And I have huge respect for Peachtree runners….10K on a hilly course in the Atlanta summer heat with a hundred thousand or so people crowding the course….it takes fortitude!

  2. September 1, 2011 at 9:56 AM

    Hey Chad! I’ve been enjoying reading your blog, you follow the same pattern so many people have when they start exercising and eating healthy, your blog is truthful and realistic. By the sounds of it you’re doing well with your goals thus far so, congratulations, keep it up!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
