Home > Exercise > Another week – need to step it up…

Another week – need to step it up…

June 19, 2011

So I’ve made it through another week, and I’m doing well.  I had lost another pound as of last Monday, my weigh in day, and I got in three runs this week.  Overall, I’m back on track with my nutrition and exercise after a few months of pretty much ignoring it while I acclimated myself to my new job.

But…I’m a little worried about the intensity of my training for the marathon.  I’ve created new habits of early morning runs, and I’m proud of that.  But those runs now need to pick up in length and intensity, with longer periods of running and less walking, and farther to go.  I have a calendar that my trainer put together for me a couple of months ago, and I haven’t really been following that just yet.  The goal for this week is to be a little more intentional about that, as well as to get in a strength routine on at least a couple of days.

Are any of you training for long-distance races?  Any advice for amateur casual runners like me who love 5K’s, but have never done anything more?

Happy Father’s Day to all the dads out there, and enjoy your week!

  1. June 24, 2011 at 12:40 PM

    Im retraining myself to be able to do 5ks, but I did run a half marathon last year. The only advice I can really offer is to not worry so much about your pace, and don’t sweat it if you have to walk some. I know that’s not a big help for ya, so hopefully someone with more experience can chime in 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
