Home > General > My Top 5 New Favorite Health and Fitness Things

My Top 5 New Favorite Health and Fitness Things

July 7, 2011

As I’ve recommitted myself to healthy living and weight loss, I have a few new favorite things that I thought I’d share with you this week.  First, a quick update: at my last weigh-in, this past Tuesday (the day after July 4th – and hot dogs, potato chips, and ice cream), I was up .9 pounds to 257.3 pounds.  This week, I’ve been lax with exercise, but I’m getting back in the swing.  I’m doing some strength training tonight, and I’m planning a run in the morning.  Also, I had to make the difficult decision to withdraw from the Marine Corps Marathon…  I hated to do it, but I’ve been assigned to a case at work that includes routinely working 60 hour weeks, and that will only get worse as we near a deadline in the fall.  Training for a marathon just isn’t in the cards for me right now.  So be it.  I’m still in this to win it!

So, what are some of my new favorite things?  Here’s a list of the top five:

1)  MORNING RUNS – Trust me when I say no one is more shocked by this than me.  I hate getting up early.  But with my aforementioned crazy work schedule of late, I’ve found this is the only way I’ll fit running into my schedule.  I leave home typically between 6:45 and 7:00.  It’s really a very spiritual time of day, with dawn still fresh, many still inside in the bed, and you, alone with the sounds and smells of the new day.  I’m a convert!

2)  LEMON CHOBANI – I’ve liked Chobani greek yogurt in little spurts in the past.  I’d get a peach Chobani that would taste okay, then another that would be sour.  Lemon, which has little pieces of lemon pulp in it, is expectedly sour, and I think is therefore more palatable to me.  With the extra protein, Greek yogurt is a filling breakfast choice, and with this flavor, I’ve finally been able to make it a part of my daily routine.  I add fresh blueberries and a bit of granola.  Yum.

3) JIF-TO-GO – These are little portion controlled cups of creamy Jif peanut butter, my life-long brand of choice since childhood.  (Thank my choosy mom for choosing Jif!)  As one who has a serious love affair with peanut butter, who can cozy up with little more than a jar of Jif and a spoon, this is a great way to keep me in check while still enjoying one of my favorite foods.  Plus, it’s portable, and makes a great complement to a piece of fruit as an afternoon snack at work.

4)  BLUE BUNNY FROZEN YOGURT BARS – I have to admit, as an adopted Texan (I lived in Houston for three and a half years) who used to take out-of-town guests on a day trip to Brenham to visit the Blue Bell Creameries, I always have considered Blue Bunny a cheap knock-off of Blue Bell, which I still consider to be the gold standard of ice cream in America.  However…I sampled these frozen yogurt bars at Costco a few weeks ago, and they are amazing!  For $7, you get a case of 24, 12 chocolate/vanilla swirl, and 12 strawberry/vanilla swirl.  They only have 110 calories each, and make a great, low-calorie treat.  I have one each night.

5)  TUNA-HUMMUS DIP – I was watching my favorite television chef, Ina Garten, the Barefoot Contessa, a couple of weeks ago, and she was making a tuna spread with tuna and something akin to an olive tepanade.  I don’t like mayo, and I’ve always made my tuna salad with mustard and lemon juice instead, but even I have to admit, it’s not all that good.  Well, the Barefoot Contessa inspired me, and I went to my fridge.  I had no tepanade, but I did have hummus.  A couple of spoonfuls of hummus mixed with tuna made for a mayo-less, high protein dip far superior to anything I’d made before!

What are some of your favorite health and fitness things?

  1. July 8, 2011 at 1:57 AM

    Morning runs and tuna! 2 things I’d like to start.

    Here are the staples of my simple diet. I’m not a cook. I just do quick stuff. 🙂

    – beef jerky
    – monster milk
    – oatmeal
    – chicken breast
    – bananas

    • July 8, 2011 at 11:22 AM

      What is monster milk?

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
