Home > General > The Summer of 1969? I’ll take 2010 (and now 2012), thanks…

The Summer of 1969? I’ll take 2010 (and now 2012), thanks…

July 8, 2012

Okay…  Well… Where do I start.  I’m sitting here as we speak at my absolute favorite coffee shop in all of the world.  And for the first time in a year, almost exactly, I’m blogging.  In a really amazingly awesome way, I feel like I’ve time warped back to the summer of 2010.  Some people look back on the summer of ’69 as extraordinary and transformative.  Well, not to rub it in to the baby boomers, but I wasn’t born then.  I was ten years away from being even a glimmer in my parents’ eyes.  For me, the summer of 2010 was, and will always be, the summer that changed everything.  It was my Woodstock, my moon landing, and yes, my Stonewall riots, all rolled into one.

It all started a few months prior to the summer of 2010 I guess.  My upcoming 30th birthday in October of 2009 got me thinking about getting healthier, losing weight, and, well, as the title of the blog implies, “Reconstructing 30.”  It was time.  I was having health problems, had to have gallbladder surgery earlier that year, and basically just realized I was on my way to an early death.  I needed to make more of my life than that.  Yeah – just a little light existential stuff for my 30th year.  So on my birthday proper, I took the day off work, and I went for a consult with a nutritionist.

The following months were life-changing, in so many ways.  The nutritionist helped me learn how to eat, and gave me someone to be accountable to as I tried to implement these changes in my life.  Not too long after that, I started seeing a personal trainer, and exercise became a part of my life, as well.  I began this blog as a creative outlet, and I ended up finding that it also provided accountability, as well as a huge support system of people from around the world whom I never expected to connect with and treasure to this day.  As I lost weight (at my lightest, 235, I’d estimate I lost around 80 pounds), I gained confidence, and I felt comfortable with my body for the first time in my life.

Then the summer of 2010 hit.  It was amazing.  And it was terrifying.  But mostly it was awesome.  Let’s kick it off with May 2010.  I was laid off in a round of budget cuts at my employer.  Financially, it sucked.  Big time.  The stress levels were high, I moved back in with my parents to save money, and in general, it was pretty damn terrifying.  BUT…  And this is a big but…  It was as liberating as all hell.  It gave me a chance to reboot.  It was a time to focus not on making someone else’s program successful, or realizing someone else’s goals for an organization, but a time to focus on…ME.

It sounds selfish, but it was much needed.  My new found confidence and comfort with my body led to my coming out as a gay man, which was honestly the most amazing part of this reconstruction so far.  I took the time to study for, take, and pass, the Georgia bar exam.  And ultimately, I began a new career blissfully outside of the world of academia (it’s not all barefoot on the quad people) in the world of private law firms.  But during that summer of 2010, I was mainly spending my days as I am today.  At the best coffee shop in the world, on my laptop (then studying for the bar, now blogging), trying to keep cool in the Georgia summer heat, and enjoying life, even though I was at an in between place.

Overall, the summer of 2010 brought on amazing changes.  Changes that I needed desperately.  However the stress of coming out to my family, dating for the first time in my life, living with my parents again as an adult, and studying for the bar exam, led to reduced focus on healthy eating and exercise, and my weight slowly started to creep up.  Add in a new job a few months down the road, with all the pressures of practicing law for a large firm, and my healthy routines were shot.  I had no time to blog anymore, and lots of old habits were creeping back in.  I tried to make a return to my habits and this blog last summer, but it was a losing battle.  I was disappointed in myself.

Fast forward another year to the present, and I’ve just moved to another big law firm, working in firm administration instead of as a practicing attorney, and all of a sudden, I have a life outside of the office again!  Not all my bad habits are back, and I’ve maintained a weight basically somewhere in the 255 – 265 range for the past year.  A far cry from what I’d estimate to be my highest weight around 315, but not where I want to be by any stretch.  So instead of the half-hearted efforts of the past year or two, I’m finally at a place where I really want to do this thing.  Finish it up.  Make this weight loss journey my b!+@#.

So…here we are…  In the best coffee shop in the world, once again, recapturing that excitement I had about a new life in the summer of 2010.  An appointment with the nutritionist on the calendar again this Thursday, a pantry cleaned out of junk, and a head that’s back in the game.  It’s time.  At 32, it really just is time to finish up this reconstruction.  Let’s do it.

  1. July 8, 2012 at 3:53 PM

    Chad, I’m so proud of you for be courageous enough to share your story. You never know who may be reading your blog and how it will change them …

    • July 8, 2012 at 9:16 PM

      Thanks, Jef. That means a lot to me.

  1. July 14, 2012 at 3:06 PM
Comments are closed.
