Home > Nutrition > Back to the Nutritionist, Food Truck Temptations, and Low Cal Treats

Back to the Nutritionist, Food Truck Temptations, and Low Cal Treats

July 14, 2012

Today I went for a long walk in Piedmont Park, Atlanta’s answer to Central Park (it was even designed by the same guy).  Little did I know when I rolled in looking to get my healthy on, that today, Piedmont Park was hosting the Atlanta Food Truck Festival!  The smells of all the amazing ethnic, and not so ethnic, treats, reminded me that a) I was making the right choice by being there to walk, and b) temptations are truly everywhere, so I’d better put my nose down and do this thing regardless!  How’s that for a start to a healthy weekend?

Last weekend, I returned to my absolute favorite coffee shop in all the world that was really a home base for me during the reconstruction of my life that began in the summer of 2010, and I recommitted to recapturing that energy and enthusiasm from the summer of 2010, as I get back on track to reclaim a healthier lifestyle, and while I’ve maintained most of my weight loss, to continue my quest of approaching what would be a more healthy everyday weight for me.  This past Thursday, I took another step towards reclaiming that energy and enthusiasm by returning to my absolute favorite nutritionist in all the world, and getting a fresh plan for my nutrition and system for accountability.

As I walked into her office, I was struck by how little had changed there, yet how different everything was.  I remember sitting in the lobby when I first visited her on my thirtieth birthday almost three years ago.  I was embarrassed by my weight, by my inability to control this part of my life, and I generally felt uncomfortable in my own skin sitting waiting to meet her.  This time around, I was not nervous, embarrassed or uncomfortable.  I was mainly just excited to rededicate myself to this amazing journey that I began when I turned thirty!

The consult was great.  It reminded me of the habits I need to reincorporate, gave both me and the nutritionist a chance to look at what I had been doing and pinpoint where I had to redouble my efforts, and it gave me a basic framework once again for how to approach healthy eating if I want to continue losing weight.  When I started this journey, the highest I weighed on a scale, after a few weeks of watching what I ate, was about 307 or 308.  My best estimate is that my true highest weight was closer to 315.  The lowest weight I hit, in the summer of 2010, was 235.  On Thursday, before I went in for my nutrition consult, I weighed in at 258.6 pounds, up almost 25 pounds from my lowest, but still down 50+ pounds from my highest weight.  I feel okay at this weight, but I felt great at 235, and I bet I’d feel fan-freaking-tastic if I could get down to about 200.

It’s only been a few days, but so far so good.  I’m doing well with my eating plan, and I definitely feel reinvigorated!  I’m going to start weighing in on Fridays, and likely blogging on Saturdays, so I’m looking forward to the first weigh in next week!  One thing about my eating plan from before, that’s part of it again now, is a 150 calorie or less nightly treat.  It can be anything I want, so long as it’s 150 calories or less.  This actually really helps me stick to my plan, by not feeling that I’m depriving myself of anything.  Right now my two favorites are one Mayfield ice cream sandwich (exactly 150 calories) or three miniature York peppermint patties (50 calories each).  What’s your favorite 150 calorie treat?

